2002 Chevrolet Malibu - V6 from North America


Lemon / junk


More problems with my Malibu... Rust around the gas intake area. Told by Maaco that it is a design fault. I see rust around this area on tons of Malibu's now. It will cost me $800 to get it fixed.

Also just spent $800 getting a new ignition switch.

In total will have spent $8200 in repairs.

A lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2008

19th May 2008, 00:47

$8200 in repairs? Shop around next time, you're getting ripped off big time!

2002 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 from North America


Engineered junk!!!


#1 Head and intake gasket problem due to anti-freeze eating out the gaskets and filling the crankcase too overflow, anti-freeze maker/auto maker situation, wow!!! Maybe it's a mad cow!! PLEASE READ BELOW FOR A NICE WAY TO SPEND YOUR DAY.

#2 Ignition Tumbler, stopped at destination, motioned for the key, not there, check pockets?? cars still running, wait, keys on floor??? Shut car off, windows down/nice day, riders do their intended business and return, can't start car, starts to rain, OOPS!!! Windows down, no power, call locksmith 4 hr wait, remove door panel, strip required wires and connect window motor to battery, get window up, car and I are soaked, all on first day at new job, should have missed the coffee stop!

Locksmith too lengthy to mention, blood pressure critical, COST $300.00 with only 3 pins or whatever in the tumbler now, car thief's dream, but wait who would steal it??? THANK YOU OVER!!

General Comments:

Body designed to pick up road debris, sand, salt, water, the amazing mixture or rust and rot, especially around the gas tank inlet, oops!!! Safety issue here??? Where is Ralph???...

Now the body suits the engine and driveway, flowing with a grayish brown oil slick/streak with the consistency of baby poop!!! Oops.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th April, 2008

7th Apr 2008, 11:47

Welcome to the club!! My 2000 Malibu was a piece of crap too. Had the famous intake leak!! Coolant gelled up!! Had to replace radiator because it was clogged with the crap coolant! Transmission failure! Replace both front wheel bearings TWICE in 3 months!! Brakes warp if you look at them wrong. Door panels falling apart! Tie rod ends falling apart. I only had mine for 7 months too!! Waste of money.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu Sedan V6 from North America


This car sucks


I own a 2002 Malibu. I bought the car in 2004. I am having problems with the hazard switch. The horn blows on it's own; and now I hear beeps coming from the radio and drivers door speaker when the radio is off.

Oh, and by the way, the CD player stopped working. When I called the dealer everyone was acting surprised to hear about a recall on the hazard switch. They informed me that it wasn't a recall, so I looked further into it and found that a recall was given; even though the dealer suggested to bring my car in and leave it so that they could give me an estimate on how much it would cost me to fix. The part itself cost $60, but the dealer was going to charge me $650 to fix the problem.

General Comments:

Nothing but problems. This car is a lemon...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2008

2002 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 V6 from North America


Bang for your buck!


Replaced front struts at 88000 miles.

Replaced intake manifold gasket at 92000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is pretty sweet! Never left me stranded whether I was 5 miles or 500 miles away from home.

Got lots of power; gets up and goes.

Excellent car for me being a college student.

Was irritated when intake gasket cracked, but that stuff does happen in life. GM flaw were not all perfect.

Would like to run this car as long as she will go, and would buy another one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2008

2002 Chevrolet Malibu 6 cylinder from North America


I could do without the headache


I own a 2002 Chevy Malibu, I have experienced at one point my A/C blowing only hot air then out of no where about an hour later it started working again. I never thought anything of the situation until I read the reviews listed on this site. Just recently I've became fed up with this vehicle. On Friday (today is Thursday) When I got off work my car would not start and the Anti Theft light was blinking. My car would not start for days I had it towed to the dealer on Monday in which it still wouldn't start. The dealer charged $60.00 for the tow and after missing 3 days of work I get my car back with a total charge of $150.00 for a radiator cap and coolant overflow bucket which has nothing to do with the car not starting. But if those items were not repaired I would have voided my warranty. Long story short. Nothing was detected in the exam of the car. The only they could say is that the Body Control Module within the Anti Theft System could be the case in which they have no equipment to assist with the possible problem. I am then told to not be surprised if I go to the store and my car not start when I come out. I HATE THIS CAR.

General Comments:

This car runs really nice, but the process of up keeping it sucks.

I would rather have something else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2008

3rd Apr 2008, 14:46

This car is definately a piece of junk. I own a 2001 Malibu and it is terrible. Constant overflow issue and no one seems to know how to fix it. Got a new radiator cap, new thermostat, and lots of other new things. I just want this car to go away! I'm thinking of donating it to charity as they take ALL cars working or not. No more Chevys in my house EVER AGAIN!

6th Feb 2009, 16:05

Bought mine brand new. Only problem I've had with it - the water pump went out at 110k.

33 mpg hwy.

I've been very happy with it.