2002 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V6 from North America


For a lease return it was in emaculate condition


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

It handles well with adequate power and it is smooth and quite at highway speed,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2005

2nd Jan 2006, 02:06

Just wait you have not had the car long enough to find out the flaws. I had a 2002 Malibu LS and nothing, but problems with the brakes. Chev had a problem with brakes in the Malibu and grand am models. I have been told it is the ABS that is causing this concern. Premature brake wear of the front pads and warped rotors. Average time between problem occuring was 15000 kilometres to 20000 kilometres.

Best of luck with the car though.I got rid of mine and will never buy a Chev product again. Since manufacture would not stand behind their product and repair concern. They told me they were aware of problems with brake, but it was my problem.

27th Mar 2006, 20:04

I have three Malibu's 1997, 2002 and 2004. They have 48,000 80,000 and 140,00 km on them. I have never had the brake or other problems listed and get approx 20 mpg in city and 38 on the hwy. Perhaps the best cars I have ever owned.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu from North America


I would never buy another one due to poor quality, and dealership unwilling to accept the defects


Brakes - have had to replace them 2 times along with the Rotors.

The car started to overheat at 15,000 miles.

The car will skid on wet payment or dirt roads even with with new brakes.

Front tires wear down extremely fast.

General Comments:

The car has serious brake issues. I have had brakes replaced twice and pads. The car has a problem with the brakes not catching on wet payment and dirt roads I do not feel safe.

I have replaced the tires twice in 4 years with Good year. the has been checked and it is not out of alignment.

You cannot sit in traffic in the summer time for more than 5 min or the engine will start to over heat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2005

26th Apr 2006, 17:55

If your car skids on wet pavement or dirt roads you need to find new tires. Simple road tires without good traction are not going to hold up on those kinds of terrain. These things have absolutely nothing to do with the workings of the brakes or of the car itself, it is your tires.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu from North America


Good family car


I love my car. However, had brake pads changed twice already. My key less entry system quit working, doors would not unlock, gas gauge quit working. Day lights would not work. Three separate mechanics said it was something wrong with fuel tank. One morning my car was dead. It took forever to get it jumped and charged. This was two months ago. Everything returned to normal. Now my key less entry is not working again. What is causing this? spark plugs and fuses are fine. Any suggestions?

General Comments:

The car is reliable. I feel it is comfortable, however with children I just need to get from point A to point B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2005

2002 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V6 from North America


Would not recommend this vehicle



Right front power door lock solenoid had to be replaced and

Right front power window was hesitating on the downward motion. Dealer lubricated channel around 4,500 miles.

A recall to replace the left front head light assembly, did this around 4,500 miles.

Had to replace number 1 & 2 fuel injectors and oil sending unit around 19,000 miles.

Had to also replace front brake pads at 19,000 at my expense since this was not warranted.

Had to replace number 2 & 3 fuel injectors around 24,000 and the right front brake caliper.

Had to replace number 1 & 2 fuel injectors again around 28,000 miles.

The dealership claimed that fuel injectors were going out because of the gas I was using. They also mentioned that the fuel system in the Malibu was designed a certain way which some vehicles had problems. Also, the vehicle consumed plenty of gas for a 3.1 litre engine. I did mostly city driving in Chicago, the gas mileage would only be about 14 to 15 per gallon using the specified 87 octane. All the other seasons the mileage would be about 17 per gallon using 87 octane. Again, the dealership claimed that the gas manufacturers put additives in the winter which cause poor fuel economy.

I had to replace the front brake pads again around 30,000 miles. I asked the dealership what was going on. They claimed it was because I wasn't applying my parking brake every time I parked. This would cause the rear brakes to reset, assisting the front brakes upon stopping. This was done at my expense.

The left front brake caliper had to be replaced around 32,000 miles. Also, all the upper head and timing chain gaskets had to be replaced. This stopped the coolant leaks. Also, the right front strut assembly and bearing plate had to be replaced.

I had many other problems too many to want to type here. I complained enough to GM in Detroit that they extended my warranty for 36/36 at their expense.

I was extremely dis-satisfied with this vehicle. The comfort of the ride changed drastically as well as the seats.

I used synthetic oil and really maintained the vehicle. Basically, I traded the vehicle towards the end of April 2005 and I only had 38,995 miles. The Blue book value was only $6500 and I paid $20,000 brand new in February of 2002.

General Comments:

The vehicle had decent pick up.

The cabin and trunk were roomy.

The styling of the vehicle was good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2005

4th May 2005, 11:15

I must be a lucky Malibu Owner, The only thing I agree with is the poor fuel economy. Other than that, I have a 2001 malibu with 80k miles, only thing I had to do is replace pads and rotors on front and replace a cam sensor.

12th Nov 2005, 23:39

True about poor fuel economy. I'd noticed my 1998 LS model had been averaging a mere 12-13 mpg in town when it should've been 18-20. Highway was always very good, though (25-28) ; not only that, but it even averaged 30 once since I bought it last year. The transmission had been slipping and shifting erratically at times so I think this explains its poor mileage. The 3.1L V6 had to work harder than usual to make the gears move. Was told that the transaxle seal on passenger side was leaking fluid so I had it replaced and since then it's been shifting better.