2002 Chevrolet Malibu from North America


Very bad quality for the price, should have bought a Toyota!


My turn signals began not working all of the time at 32,000 miles. I had the Chevy dealer check it at this time and they of course worked while I was at the dealership. Then about 36,000 miles the turn signals only worked 25% of the time. I have checked the fuse and changed the flasher. Does anyone know what can repair this prblem? The dealership told me electrical work can cost 500-1000 dollars depending what the problem is. I have heard this a common problem for Malibu's. Now I need a new inspection sticker, and the turn signals and hazards won't work. I bought this car new and have only had working turn signals 25% of this past year! I won't, but another one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

4th Jan 2005, 20:16

I believe your turn signal is problem, actually a recall, happened on my 2001 Grand Am. Brought the car in and dealer fixed free of charge, I don't know what it is however, maybe try to read GrandAM reviews years 99-2002 and see. Hopefully your problem gets fixed Before it gets worse. Take Care.


2002 Chevrolet Malibu 3.8 V6 from North America


I loved my Malibu until this started


The car keeps reprogramming the door locks. There is no point in resetting them because they continually change.

Now the key reprograms itself and I cannot start the car.

General Comments:

I don't mind the door lock problem, but I cannot stand not being able to start my car in the mornings. I had it towed the first time and the mechanic told me what the problem was and how to fix it. However, I have been following his instructions this morning and still cannot start the car to get it to the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

16th Nov 2004, 16:50

The key cannot "reprogram itself", all it has in it is a resistor.

Your problem is with the car and your incompetent mechanic.

16th Dec 2004, 08:19

Actually, if it is a remote entry system, it can reprogram itself. There is a procedure where the car learns to recognize the unique signal from an individual door lock remote. This is how you are able to buy a random new replacement remote and have it work. Same thing with your garage door opener, etc.

16th Dec 2004, 11:01

When you buy a replacement remote, you have to reprogram the system in the car to recognize the signal from the new remote. It doesn't happen by itself.

And anyway, the review writer was referring to the key itself, not the remote transmitter.

24th Oct 2007, 14:59

I have a 2002 Chevy Malibu and I have the same problem with the door locks. It suppose to lock when you put the car in drive and unlock when you put the car in park. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't work. Also my car will not crank sometimes, but a mechanic told me if I turn the ignition to ON position for 15 minutes turn the car off, turn the ignition as if I was going to crank it, but don't crank the car. Turn the car to OFF, and then crank. Every time I've tried this it works. My turning signals work sometimes and sometimes they don't work. I had the rear light panels replaced July 2006. It worked fine for about a year and the same thing happen again.

9th Apr 2009, 22:29

If you read the owners manual you will see that you can reset the security system by simply leaving the key in the on position with the engine off for 10 minutes. Make sure you turn off the blower, air and other accessories so you don't run down the battery. Reading my owner's manual could of saved me the cost of 2 separate tows and a fuel pump.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu V6 from North America


B+ Overall as a sedan, Lemon on brakes, etc


The brakes are an absolute disaster on this car! I usually get 40,000 miles out of brakes on a vehicle, and with the Malibu I had brake issues at 18,000 miles. Got a whole lot of BS from the dealership that it must be the way I drive. Later I find out it's a known issue.

My car has started to idle funny and now I'm told by mechanics (GM says nothing is wrong) I may need the plugs changed which is pricey.

The electrical system started going on the fritz and my radio blew and it took out the instrumentation lights. GM (car is still under warranty) tried to say it's probably squirrel damage. After quite an argument with the dealership, they replaced the radio/CD player under warranty. It took 3 days. All of a sudden my instrumentation lights went back on, so they gave me the car back. A week later the instrumentation lights flickered, but did not go out permanently.

Car is a gas pig. The V6, although small only gets me 17mpg around town. All my former Camry's had equivalent or more pep with a 4 cylinder engine and much better gas mileage.

Guess what? I've had it. Before this "under warranty" car (which GM and dealership tries not to cover under warranty) costs me one more penny or loss of use issue I decided to take a $5,000 negative equity hit (the car will never be worth close to what one pays) and traded it in yesterday on a Toyota Matrix. Taking delivery today. I'm so happy to get out of this car I could scream.

General Comments:

Overall the car had good room, good heating system, good pickup and was a fine "average" sedan, although prone to a lot of road noise.

It's all GM's quality issues with the car and which they try not to acknowledge, plus the fact that this car has such heavy depreciation that made me feel compelled to "cut my losses" now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th November, 2004

12th Aug 2005, 14:19

Good luck with the Matrix. It's also a GM product. The Pontiac Vibe and Toyota Matrix are a joint venture between the two companies called NUMMI.

As for your problems with the Malibu, I must be a lucky man - for I've had ZERO problems with mine.

13th Feb 2006, 14:26

I agree It is a very bad car, break is a big issue...NO GM any more.

16th Feb 2006, 16:13

I have just bought my 2002 as of 3 days a go! I have always bought GM vehicles and have never had any problems with them. I must agree that the gas mileage is horrible. My Buick Regal was way better. The ride is smooth and is a very cute car! I let you know what I think in 6 months!

1st Mar 2006, 17:40

I've just bought one too in a Car Auction. All these reviews make me regretting spending money on this. Hopefully it will last me a couple years, as its my first car and I'm hoping it's a good experience.