1998 Chevrolet Metro Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1998 Chevrolet Metro Std 2dr Hatchback from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Metro

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Air Conditioner leak since car was new covered recharge of system each season. Out of warranty I was paying for recharge when dealer could not find leak. Got tired of $150 leak test and recharge so took it to car air expert who has now put in the 3rd new original part compressor that has each blown the main seal. He is frustrated, I'm constantly without air - in Florida not good. He is thinking a rebuilt compressor next. If can't get it fixed, I will have to buy another car.

Other than the air, the car has had a tie rod go out, master cylinder replaced, leaking seal on drivers door hard to fix (door not fit tight), heat fan switch on dash replaced three time. Cheap car overall to operate.

General Comments:

Cheap price, great gas mileage, great commuter car. Horrible on freeway and trip more than 1 hour - noisy, rough ride, no pick up -what do you want for a 3cyl 5speed that cost under $10,000 new. Fit my tight budget. Don't get in an accident - car easily totaled and I was seriously injured - little protection in this small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2007

1998 Chevrolet Metro Base Hatchback 1.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Good basic transportation for the budget conscious

Faults:

EGR valve at 80000.

Dome light quit working back in 2001.

Speakers are now beginning to crackle.

General Comments:

This car is slow, noisy and has a rough ride. It is a good city car, but a lousy freeway cruiser.

The seats are hard and not very comfortable.

Gas mileage is incredible, never less than 40 mpg and usually closer to 46.

This car has its faults, but when you consider it was less than seven grand brand new, it was a great buy.

This is a surprisingly tough little car, basic transportation at its best. Too bad they quit making them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2007

1998 Chevrolet Metro 1.0L, 3 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0L, 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Metro

Summary:

Gift from heaven!

Faults:

Fuel Gauge.

General Comments:

I wish they still built these. I will want a new one in about 5 or 10 years. Had I known they were going to stop production I would have purchased 2 new cars. 1 for driving and 1 for storage so I could use it when the first one finally dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

1998 Chevrolet Metro Lsi 1.3 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

This is a highly reliable very fuel efficient vehicle

Faults:

Air conditioner compressor failed after 150,000.

Automatic Door Locks failed at 75,000.

Broken bottom side plastic cover around passenger front seat.

General Comments:

This car has been an EXCELLENT vehicle. I get 41-43MPG when not running the a/c in highway driving. I will get about 38-39 with a/c in mostly highway driving. The manual transmission provides enough power and response, but the automatics should be avoided. The automatics are horribly underpowed on the 3 cylinder 2 door model and the 4 cylinder 4 door model. My car is a four door.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

11th Jan 2008, 23:03

Chevy was making Metros in 1985, they where called Sprints till 1988, the Sprint Metro; same 993 cc 3 cylinder. 1997 is when Chevy screwed up the formula and made big 4 cylinder automatics.

1998 Chevrolet Metro LSi from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

If air conditioning is a must, i.e. Houston, Texas, don't buy a Metro

Faults:

Cheap on gas and oil. Very, very expensive on air conditioning repairs. Had freon problems from the very first. Chevy should have recalled this car. Two compressors did not solve the problem. If air conditioning is a must, do not buy a Metro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th June, 2005

21st Jun 2005, 20:33

Hmm strange I've had two Metro's and a Prizm and none of them have had any airconditioning problems at all, also got a friend with a tracker with very high mileage and it still blows ice cold.. you must have gotten a lemon, don't comdemn an entire line of cars because of your jacked up crap.. and man in 1998 it was a Chevrolet how about reading the title if you got it paid for yet-

1998 Chevrolet Metro LSi 1.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

Nice and practical, but not flashy

Faults:

Needed full brake job at 80000 miles.

Needed new tires when purchased (3rd set)

General Comments:

I'm a high school student and this is my first car. It was very cheap and I think its cute.

It drives well, but could be faster. It is not as slow as you would think though. It is faster than my friend's dodge neon and a lot cheaper.

Interior is kinda cheap and plain. Kinda a small interior for me...I'm a big girl so this may not apply to you.

Has had brake problems... needed new disks and shoes. Tires for it are cheap as dirt. AC could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2004

26th Jan 2005, 09:23

Don't slam on the brakes and when driving down the road except for stopping keep foot off the brake.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 19 reviews