1998 Chevrolet Metro Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1998 Chevrolet Metro LSi 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Complete Garbage

Faults:

Drivers side window won't roll up.

All other windows tight and have to be fought with to roll up or down.

Blower motor only works on high.

General Comments:

The car has absolutely no power.

You must run the car full throttle to get on the highway.

At 65mph, the engine is turning around 4,000 RPM's, much too high.

The car only gets about 30 miles per gallon, not 50 like everyone says.

All four doors appear to be buckling in the middle, the car has never been in any kind of accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2004

3rd Nov 2007, 22:41

I hope you realize that the LSI has a 4 cyl engine. Combining this with an automatic loses a lot of mpg.

The folks that get 50 mpg are the base model with a 3 cyl engine.

11th Jan 2008, 23:14

That's right; 993 cc 3 cylinder with 5 speed manual transmission. I think Chevy quit using the 3 cylinder in 1998, and some 1997 models still had the 3 cylinder. Everyone wanted more power, but not me. You got it, and now mpg has decreased.

1998 Chevrolet Metro LSi 1.3 Engine from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Engine Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

A tax write off

Faults:

I think it was the dealer, but the car had serious exhaust problems and battery problems.

My exhaust system is rusted completely, the pipe that holds the manifold and converter was slipping and eventually slipped. I have to do most of the fixing, which he should have took care of before he sold it.

General Comments:

I wouldn't put this car on anyone. Not the way it was put on me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

1998 Chevrolet Metro LSi (3 door coupe) from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40800 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I could've paid twice as much and still be just as happy.

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, as I have only had it for four days, but I'm absolutely in love with the model.

General Comments:

The car handles so nicely, the assisted steering takes a little getting used to, but wow can this baby pick up speed. The manufacturer stereo in this car is also pretty nice. Only complaint is it's a little on the small side. However, the fuel economy for this car is amazing. You can go forever without stopping for fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

1998 Chevrolet Metro Hatchback 1.0 L3 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 L3 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Crap!

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 6000 miles.

The brake lights stopped working at 6500 miles.

The car stalled during the winter 3 times.

Brakes had to be replaced.

Rack and Pinion steering needed to be replaced with Worm and Sector Manual steering.

General Comments:

This car is very slow. It only has 55 Horsepower. The ride is very bumpy. I am planning to get rid of it next year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2002

14th May 2003, 17:10

This review is fake anyone who reads it do not believe any of this I work at a Chevy dealer and these cars are bullet proof when it comes to reliability.

13th Dec 2003, 09:47

They are not bullet proof. I just took it for a bullet test and it fired right through the car and through the seats and across the car.

It was left by with twisted metal.

9th Jul 2004, 07:12

It's a cheap car, what were you expecting, leather and wood trim?

And the Echo is a very stupid-looking car, especially the two door!

30th Oct 2006, 19:21

The Metro was the best VALUE in a small, economical car that has ever been built. It was purely basic transportation with no frills and no thrills, but it WAS reliable and boy, did it go a LONNNNNNG way on a gallon of gas. Nothing made in the 90's could touch it for low cost transportation.

1998 Chevrolet Metro from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance3 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

It is just a great choice!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I have had this car for approximately 4 years now.

I am a single parent and not one time at all has it ever failed me.

The car has started every morning, cold, hot or whatever.

As a single parent, dependability means a lot to me because I have to work and I have to be at work. My Metro in the past as well as this Metro have been and would be a great consideration for any single parent or family choice for a reliable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 19 reviews