1987 Chevrolet Nova Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Chevrolet Nova 4-Cylinder 1.3 litre from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4-Cylinder 1.3 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres

Summary:

Worth far more than what I paid for it

Faults:

One of the rear seat belts doesn't work.

Only three of the rear window defogger coils work.

When I bought it, the front brake lines and both rear wheel cylinders were shot, had to replace those.

New master cylinder after about 3 months.

Tie rods are damaged.

Some exhaust problems, had the muffler replaced and now need to replace the exhaust pipe coming from the engine.

Warped front driver's side brake rotor... my own fault because I let the pad wear right down and it warped the rotor.

Some rust problems around the wheel wells.

Leaks oil.

General Comments:

This is my first car, and it has been absolutely amazing. I bought it for $300 with 220,000 km on it in March 2005, and have since brought it up to 265,000 km, with very little repairs... other than basic maintenance (fluid changes, air filter, fuel filter, etc) I've only had to put about $600 into it... not bad at all.

It's a definite plus that this car is made by Toyota, both the body and engine (it's basically an 87 Toyota Corolla), but that also means it's prone to the wheel well rust that seems common on Toyota's, but even that isn't very bad.

I'd definitely recommend this as a first car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2006

22nd Sep 2013, 11:23

Hi there. I just read your article. Yes, the 1987 Chevy Nova is a good car compared with the other models made in America in the 80's.

1987 Chevrolet Nova AE82 4A-LC from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4A-LC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Previous carPlymouth Reliant K

Summary:

A surprisingly pleasant small car

Faults:

The brakes needed to be replaced when purchased.

General Comments:

This car has sprightly acceleration, despite baseline 4A-LC engine and 3-speed auto.

The interior is worn, but the seats are still supportive and well-bolstered.

Could use a 5-speed stick.

Have installed after-market C.D. player, exhaust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2005

1987 Chevrolet Nova LC 1.6 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired262 miles
Most recent distance170394 miles

Summary:

Reliable low-cost transportation

Faults:

Speedometer cable has been replaced twice.

Rear window defogger stopped working around 80K miles; contact pulled away from window. Local mechanic unable to re-cement successfully.

General Comments:

Timing chain replaced at 100K miles.

Clutch replaced once.

Air conditioner *still* working - no service needed.

Replaced headliner at 90K miles.

Recovered seats at 130K miles.

Normal maintenance has been about the only real cost for the car.

Everything except the rear window defroster still working.

Would like more acceleration - noticeably reduced around 140K - but still does the job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2003

17th Mar 2004, 09:44

Try replacing the AAP Diaphragm connected to the carburetor. This part is a common replacement in these engines when they get about that many miles on them. Toyota used to only offer replacing the entire carburetor ($900) to cure this issue, but now sells the part individually :) Since all "our" Nova's have 1.6-liter 4alc Toyota engines....call your local Toyota dealer, they will know what your referring to. Part costs about $50...quite pricey for a real small part but it's well worth it. Don't know how much to install though. I replaced mine myself. Good luck!

1987 Chevrolet Nova sedan 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Novas are good cars. But please stay on top of your maintenance

Faults:

Carberators had to be replaced.

Car occasionally stalls when at a stop light.

Alternator screw came loose.

Odometer has been rolled back a full 100,000 miles by making the first digit in the odometer a zero.

Thermostat had to be replaced due to lack of maintenance.

Oil Gasket had to be replaced.

A/C Belt had to be replaced.

General Comments:

When my father bought this car, the windshield wiper assembly needed replacing.

The car at first seemed quicker that my original Nova.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

5th Mar 2004, 19:03

You do know that this "nova" was made by toyota and is an 80s Toyota Corrolla with the bowtie and "nova" on it. FWD and a 4 banger, it disgraces the name Nova:- (

14th Oct 2005, 18:53

Yes, anyone who has owned one of these diamonds in the rough are well aware of its "red headed step child" relation to the Novas of the 60-70's. Funny though. You don't see them much around... these will be on the road for years to come.

My "Hoopty's"

87 Nova 4 dr (now roaming the roads in Panama)

88 Nova Hatchback.

17th Feb 2006, 20:28

"FWD and a 4 banger, it disgraces the name Nova:- ("

What are you talking about, the Nova was just an ordinary compact car for the 60s and 70s, and it was still so for the 80s.

27th Apr 2008, 00:09

I haven't seen that many front drive Novas around. Mine is the only one in town, the rest rusted into the ground like 5 years ago.

22nd Sep 2013, 11:48

So what. Japanese Novas were still good cars. I will take that blessing anytime!

1987 Chevrolet Nova 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres

Summary:

Good value

Faults:

Timing belt at 120, 220 Kk. ( thousand kilometeres )

Inlet pipe corrosion at 222.

Body rust, and some frame rust (new paint)

Exhaust repairs.

General Comments:

I always thought of it as a new car, but she is showing her age.

The last time I drove to the U.S.A. I got 44 miles per gallon!!!

I just pulled out the engine to fix the inlet pipe, and decided to rip the entire engine apart to see how it all looks.

The engine is in very good condition, all I could see was a bit of damage on the intake valves.

I lapped the valves, de-glazed the cylinder, new head gasket, and voila.

VERY, VERY, easy to repair.

I'm going to look around for a five speed version, that I can

"run into the ground"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews