2004 Chevrolet Optra Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2004 Chevrolet Optra 2.0L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

The only things I've serviced so far are the air filter and engine oil.

General Comments:

I've got this car 6 months ago, and so far nothing went wrong with it. It is a pre-owned 2004 Chevy Optra 2.0L with 74.000 km at the time of purchase.

It is not a fast car, but for daily duties is good enough.

I've paid 5700 CAD (before tax) for it and it is worth it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2009

6th May 2010, 07:40

Just wait, soon enough you will be experiencing a lot of issues... and I am speaking from experience. I own a 2004 Optra; this car is a lemon.

2004 Chevrolet Optra 5 dr from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired99 kilometres
Most recent distance74462 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Tempest

Summary:

Lesson learned. Never buy a first model, first year!

Faults:

Brakes squealing - system repair in 05.

Cigarette lighter dead in 08 again in 09.

SSPS light on and off for about 2 years now.

Car stays on without any keys in it and dashboard lights all on and alarm goes off in middle of night - had ignition change cause (?) also back window washer changed cause (?) and also drivers door dropped cause (?)

Headlights seam to be misaligned.

Headlamps burn out at least once a year.

Fan motor replaced in 07.

New clock in 07.

Replaced gasket in 07.

Replaced CAM sensor 07.

Emergency brake cable replaced in 06.

Condensation in headlamp almost always.

General Comments:

Not worth the money. By the end of my lease I will have paid a $30,000.00 car worth only $10,000.00. Thanks for the Lemon!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2009

19th Feb 2010, 12:13

I have had an Optra now for a year. No problems but the recall thing.

19th Feb 2010, 17:50

Have had the Optra 5 2004 for 1 year, and bought from a dealership... I paid around 8000.00 for it, and in a year have already put over 4000.00 into it, because the dealership (GM) won't fix it... I hate this car.

2004 Chevrolet Optra Base DOHC from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 kilometres
Most recent distance104300 kilometres

Summary:

Don't buy any car that was a Daewoo re-branded for any other company

Faults:

Head gasket cracked at around 80000km.

Rear door on drivers side lock fell into the space between the door and the panel.

The hood release cable was stretched, so I couldn't get the hood opened after about a week of having it.

The engine block had to be replaced due to a hole the size of my fist at approximately 95000kms.

The brakes feel like sometimes they don't want to work, almost causing an accident. Then the next day they stop on a dime no problem.

The engine shakes really bad while idling at a red light.

The automatic transmission seems like it's having problems shifting in wet weather (rain or snow), and it accelerates poorly due to this.

The headlights (low-beams) don't seem to last very long at all.

Also the lights seem to have a problem now where the right one will work one day and not the next, and I checked the bulb and it is fine, it was changed only two months ago. The left one burnt out and it was changed, and then the right one stopped working. It was dark out so I decided to check the next day. When I got out to the car, and started the car and turned the lights on, the right one was working. It worked for one day and then stopped working again.

The key hole on the drivers door comes undone inside, and falls into the door, and you have to take apart the whole door to reattach it.

Also the windows fog up so bad in the winter, that I have to either let the car run with the defrost on for like an hour before I can drive, wasting a lot of gas, or I have to scrape them inside and leave the heat off with the front windows all the way open, or they just refreeze. I can have the defrost on, bringing air from outside with the heat all the way hot and the refreezing slows down, but as soon as I try to just recirculate the inside air, they freeze in like five seconds.

The heated mirrors are junk, and don't make it any better when they are on.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable to drive, but if one day I am wearing jeans and a sweater, and the next day I'm wearing shorts and a t-shirt, I have to adjust all the mirrors or adjust the seat every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2009

2nd Sep 2009, 20:29

I have a 2005 Chevy Optra. What a piece of work - front struts seized up, multiple rotor issues warping, engine problems (alternator, timing belt, tension pulleys), transmission lines leak, headlight problems burnt plug, DRL problems, alarm arming and disarming itself, airbag light problems, check engine light problems, and I've only had the car a year. What a piece of crap.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 22 reviews