1997 Chevrolet S-10 LT 5.3 from North America


Looks great


Had to replace oil lines. I'm pretty sure you all know how much fun that was. Had to disconnect the engine mount and raise the engine up to pull the line.

The clutch fan went out.

Need brakes.

Need shocks. Still factory ones in it.

Replaced wiper motor for the front.

Replaced cruise control module.

General Comments:

Well as you all know of the situation with the oil lines. I just wish they would have thought of an easier way of replacing them.

But otherwise, this Blazer has just as much repairs as any other truck or car I have ever owned. And I mean I have owned about every American and oversea's car. And I have to say that if it has 4 wheels and an engine, it is a piece of junk.

So motor on and enjoy the great coffee and the lovely folks you meet in your local repair shop lounge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2007

1997 Chevrolet S-10 V6 Vortec from North America


A great truck that I will keep as long as I can


The fuel pump went out at 185,000 miles.

Water pump went out at 190,000 miles.

Manual controls on seats are made of plastic and break very easily.

Third door latch broke off, around $50 for the latch itself.

Heater core went out at 165,000 miles.

These are the only problems I have had with my S-10 Pickup. The parts have been through a lot of miles and after 150,000 is when replacements are having to be fixed.

General Comments:

The V6 Vortex hasn't lost any power.

General Maintenance keeps the truck running smoothly.

Great on gas.

Plenty of leg room.

Parts are very affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2006

1997 Chevrolet S-10 LX 4.3 from North America


Not worth what I paid for it


I have replace the following on my S-10 with only 71000 miles. Water pump, windshield wiper motor, power window motor, upper and lower ball joints, idler arm, manifold gaskets, oil lines, alternator, battery, gas gauge sensor, all four shocks and usual tune up parts. No more Chevy's for me.

General Comments:

Toyota or Honda from now until I die.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2006

21st May 2006, 21:13

Toyota or honda until you die?

Dude, it's a car, get it? 3000 lbs of metal and rubber. Do your homework and find a more reliable model.

1997 Chevrolet S-10 2.0 fi from North America


Remarkably reliable, efficient package


Am still waiting for minor/major problems!

General Comments:

Accelerates moderately quick, geared for hauling.

Reliability beyond belief!

Comfortable cloth seats.

Good visibility.

Light; rear end will slide if turns taken too fast. Can be minimized with weight behind cab.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2005

1997 Chevrolet S-10 ZR2 LS 4.3L V6 from North America


Wonderful to drive when it's actually running.


I had to have the windshield wiper motor replaced the week I bought it; it was a recall so the dealer replaced it free of charge.

The rear universal joint was replaced at 110k - it was about to fall out.

The brakes were replaced at 105k, 118k, 120k, 125k, and just replaced again at 127k.

The engine has been having a random multiple cylinder misfire since February of 2002, and nobody can seem to fix it.

Radiator rusts badly and has to be flushed every 3,000 miles.

Catalytic had to be replaced at 120k.

General Comments:

The 4.3L V6 is a very nice powerful engine, when it's running.

I've replaced the spark plugs, rotor button, distributor cap, and coil all at one time, and the engine continues to miss all the time.

The front calipers are not wanting to release, and nobody can find the reason why. I've been through 5 sets of pads and 3 sets of rotors in the 2 years I've had it.

The truck's looks are flawless; GM definitely knew what they were doing when they designed the exterior of the vehicle.

The transmission runs smoothly and I have no complaints with the drive train or the ride of the truck.

It rides like a 4WD truck should both on and off the road. I've not had any problems with muddy hills off road, even when at one point it was almost up the axles. The truck is an absolute dream to go off-road with.

On the road in torrential rains, I've not had any problems keeping control. Driving in snow was an absolute blast - I wouldn't have known the roads were snow-covered if I hadn't been looking at them. It's not top-heavy at all, either. I feel secure rolling down the Interstate at 70mph in winds over 40mph. I've done it before and I didn't lose control once.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2005

30th Sep 2005, 17:28

The random multi-cylinder miss-fire you mentioned may be due to faulty injectors. I have the same truck (and engine) and have experienced the same problem. After several miss-diagnosis by several different reputable mechanics, the dealership was able to pinpoint the problem (injectors). I had all of the injectors replaced (1000 bucks), and the engine hasn’t run better. As for your break problem, why would you continue to replace rotors and pads when you know it’s the calipers? New calipers are expensive, but they are cheaper than three sets of rotors and five sets of pads.

30th Sep 2005, 23:30

Had the random multiple missfires on mine too. Had the injectors cleaned - no problems since. Only cost $126, much better than $1000 to replace them.