1997 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1997 Chevrolet S-10 LX vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission vortec Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

My transmission blew at 61,000 miles.

The computer blew at 63,000 miles.

No one can seem to find a computer for it.

General Comments:

I love the truck "when" it is running. but it is hard to rely on a vehicle when it is in the shop more than being driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

1997 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3 Vortec from Puerto Rico

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance102399 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

Good investment

Faults:

Paint was chipping after 3 months. Dealer repainted under warranty.

Alternator went out at 56000 miles.

Starter went out after 85000 miles.

Universal Joints and Drive Shaft out at a 102000 miles.

General Comments:

Other than those problems mentioned before, this vehicle has been more reliable than my previous vehicle. I have made some modifications to the vehicle ie. Hypertech programer, intake and a Cat back system which have improved performance and mileage on it. It's been a great little truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2004

1997 Chevrolet S-10 ZR2 4.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

An excellent truck for the price

Faults:

Wiper controller.

General Comments:

Truck is very solid feeling, and very good off road. It is easy to work on, I have always had Japanese trucks, and I always buy used. This truck was less than half price of a comparable Toyota or Nissan, and its better looking. I am quite happy with this truck so far. I seems to be built more substantially, i.e. it appears more robust, its more comfortable, quieter, and the parts all feel sturdier. But I think you have to know how to work on them a little.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2004

1997 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Dependable vehicle with good performance for price

Faults:

Replaced 205/75/R15 stock tire with 235/75/R15.

Replaced clutch slave at 65000.

Replaced water pump at 70000.

Replaced head/head gasket at 88000.

General Comments:

Stock tire too small for light weight rear end, much better traction with larger tire.

Cooling system went into vapor lock when pressure cap on radiator went bad. The thermostat couldn't open and the truck overheated, caused head damage and blew head gasket. My own fault for not replacing pressure cap.

Minus my own neglect, this has been by far the best vehicle I have ever owned.

Great acceleration for a 2.2.

All repairs except for the head I did myself and overall this is a very easy truck to work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2003

1997 Chevrolet S-10 LS V6 vortec 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 vortec 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

This vehicle should be taken off the market

Faults:

While under warranty the battery cracked and leaked battery acid inside of the fender well. The battery acid leaked on wires eating away at the wire coating. The dealership would not replace the battery said it was not covered under warranty. However when my vehicle was delivered to me. The dealership said everything on the vehicle was covered "INCLUDING THE BATTERY"

The original equipment tires squeal when turning, even at slow speeds.

Air conditioning system leaks refrigerant and I have to periodically charge the air conditioning system with R134a . Have had the air conditioning system checked and a dye put in the system to locate the leak. It is the compressor it is now green from the dye placed in the system.

The alternator has been replaced once at 80,000 miles.

Battery has been replaced 3 times.

The gas gage does not work. I have to use the trip meter to determine when I need to fill up the gas tank.

At 92,000 the transmission has gone out on this truck. I noticed that other owners complained that the transmission fluid turns a brown/rust color. My truck does the same thing.

At 40,000 miles a transmission leak occurred. The cooling line on the transmission had to be replaced costing several hundred dollars in labor to drop the transmission. Replace the faulty line and put the transmission back in vehicle.

The straps on the visors sag and are rendered useless.

Recall on wiper switch. Soldering cracked causing a short in the switch. The wipers would short out and stop working while driving in the rain.

The truck has a bad ride. The worst riding vehicle I have ever owned.

The cassette player does not work. Will not play tapes. The auto reverse component gets stuck and tape just clicks back and forth from each side of the tape.

I am the original owner of this vehicle it stays garaged at my house and at work. It looks brand new. I have changed the oil consistently every 3000 miles. This truck has not been abused in anyway.

There is no reason for this vehicle to have had all these problems.

Horrible experience with this vehicle.

Chevrolet should reimburse those who have transmission problems. I base this fact on reading other complains by owners of this vehicle with brown/rust color transmission fluid. My vehicle is doing the exact same thing. There must be something wrong with the transmission in these vehicles.

General Comments:

The truck has a nice exterior look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2003

5th Mar 2004, 21:17

I have a 97 s-10. I'm the original owner... and I too had the same problem with the windshield wiper... I replaced it my self and the dealer reinburst me when I received the recall in the mail. had a problem with the A/C leaking through the seal behind the clutch. at 60,000 miles. I went through 2 batteries with my truck at 16,000 and 30,000 miles. I ended up buying a cheap battery from k-mart and the battery is still there at 120,000 miles. Other than those small problems, everything is fine. A great vehicle.

10th Oct 2007, 15:57

I have the brown transmission thing too, cheap metals it seems like also my truck shifts different when the A/C is on.

6th Jun 2010, 11:46

Brown trans fluid means it needs to be changed, especially at 100,000. Come on guys, imports recommend every 30k. Nobody makes cars that can go 300,000 miles with nothing but oil changes anymore. Cars are like bic lighters, they're disposable.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 28 reviews