1999 Chevrolet S-10 LS Extended Cab 4.3 liter V6 from North America


Good truck for fun, games, hauling


This truck needs alignments very frequently. The truck also shakes, rattles, and rolls a lot.

General Comments:

I love this truck for it's reliability and performance although the governor is at 95 mph, and with a light truck with 200 horsepower, I hit the governor once a week. It handles horribly and sways a bunch in turns. The seats feel nice and plush along with the whole interior feeling. The engine is significantly slower with the air conditioning on, but it blows like the North Pole.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2003

1999 Chevrolet S-10 Extreme from North America


If I was able to walk again, I would buy another


Rod bolt shot out the side of the truck after a 200 shot of nitrous oxide having me to replace the entire engine.

General Comments:

The LT1 kit that you can order for the car is great.

If I was still capable of driving I would get another S-10 Extreme.

The side crash tests are horrible on the car.

If that semi truck would have seen me on the road after I lowered my black S-10 I would still be able to walk. Now I am without a truck or capable of using my legs.

Thanks to Chevy, I will never be able to walk again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

4th Sep 2002, 09:36

It would seem it it not General Motor's fault you cannot walk. You modified the vehicle by your own free will, thus altering the design. You should accept responsibility for your actions.

9th Mar 2003, 09:01

OK, first of all, Chevy didn't make the truck like that. That disgusts me that you could blame it on Chevy. When you are the one to blame because you modified your vehicle.

27th May 2003, 17:52

The s-10 you were driving was probably really nice. and the 18 wheeler would have destroyed any car/truck on the road. I feel it is wrong of you to blame Chevrolet when in fact it is 110% your fault. Chevrolet manufactures Vehicles for specific road use.. your choice was to abuse it thus your to blame. Apologize to GM man!

2nd Nov 2004, 00:19

How can you blame Chevrolet for something that you went out and did yourself. Chevy's are damn good trucks. You were the one who modified your truck into something smaller, therefore harder to see on the road, especially if you are driving a semi. Did Chevrolet make a lowered truck? Hmm, NO, looks like you did it yourself. Therefore, accept responsibility and consequences for your actions. I mean I'm sorry that you'll never be able to walk again, but that doesn't give you the right to blame Chevrolet, who has been producing great vehicles for a very long time.

2nd Nov 2004, 06:05

Uh, right. Lost use of your legs, blames Chevy. Sure.

This review is total BS. Seemed to fool quite a few people though.

15th Oct 2005, 12:00

Think for just a moment. Do any of you who left comments really think that just because a vehicle is lowered a few inches it is, for some reason, going to become less visible? If that is the case, then I suppose it would be justified to run over Mazda Miatas, Mini Coopers and like vehicles. Besides, the reviewer mentions the side impact ratings on tested (not lowered) pickups.

1999 Chevrolet S-10 LS ZR2 4.6 gasoline from North America


An off-road ready, out of the box package


This truck came with a full service history. No repairs or problems before I purchased it.

General Comments:

This is the third S-10 I have owned.

The first, a 1996, 2.2 four cylinder, blew a head gasket at 10,000 miles.

The second, a 1999 LS V6 Extended cab.

No problems with this truck. I liked it so well, that when the lease was up, I purchased a 1999 ZR2.

The 4.3l is a very strong engine.

The wide stance frame makes the ride and handling excellent for a 4WD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2002

1999 Chevrolet S-10 LS Extended Cab 4.3L V6 from North America


An excellent all-around truck


The heater blower expired early and was replaced under warranty.

The seat adjustment handle broke off, and was also replaced. This seems to be a common problem with S10s and Blazers.

The automatic transmission shifted hard between 1st and 2nd for a short period, but seemed to correct itself. I had the fluid replaced a few months later. The condition has not returned.

General Comments:

The 4.3L V6 and automatic is a great power-train. Lots of power and torque, very smooth. Cruises very nicely at speed.

I recommend the sport handling/suspension package and the wider tires. The handling is precise and the ride is firm (which I prefer) with this option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2002