1999 Chevrolet S-10 LS-Ext. Cab 4.3 Vortec V6 from North America


In November 2002 I bought a 1999 Chevrolet S-10 Extended Cab with the 4.3 liter V6 engine.

When I bought it, both seat handles were still attached to the seats. Within 4 to 6 months they both broke off. They probably had been replaced one or more times before I bought it.

There was a sound of rushing water behind my dash, as if there was tank full of water just sitting in my dash, swishing around when I accelerate or stop. For some reason that sound has stopped.

My heater stopped working when I checked it one night. I'm supposing it has something to do with the swishing sound. For some mysterious reason my heaters started working again.

The one complaint I am not reading about in the reviews so far, is the humming noise from the gas pump. It is loud, especially when the fuel is low. It is annoying to hear it humming so loudly. Has anyone had the same problem and tried to get rid of the noise?

Had replaced the old pump with a new pump, and the new is just as loud and maybe louder. The only difference is that it is now humming at a higher pitch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2006

4th Oct 2007, 19:40

That very same humming noise that you are refering too is apparent in my truck also, a '99 ZR2 V6. It is beyond annoying, I know that!! So no, you're not the only one who has noticed it.

6th Aug 2008, 03:46

I am having the same problem in my 99' s10 ls-extended cab v6 vortec. I just bought it about 4 days ago and I am already annoyed to no end and back.

1999 Chevrolet S-10 ZR2 non-LS 4.3 liter Vortec V6 from North America


Nice looking beater/winter-rat/work truck


Door hinge pin bushings, bad from dealer

Hub bearing assembly, left side, 77K

Hub bearing assembly, right side 78K

Alternator and battery, 109K

Hub bearing assembly, right side, 111K

Cat converter, 125K

Lower intake gasket, 125K

Water Pump, 133K

Left side CV shaft, 140K

Hub bearing assemblies, both sides, 141K

Axle seals, left side, 143K.

General Comments:

This truck gets used and abused. Don't let it's faults fool you: anyone who knows anything about trucks and/or what I put them through will understand that all of this stuff is to be expected. Aside from that, I have no major complaints about the truck at all. Yes, it eats hub bearing assemblies alive, and the door hinge pin bushings are kind of a pain in the neck. But I doubt you'll ever put an S-10 through as much work as me.

The ZR2 package gives it 31" tires and 2" of lift, along with fender flares to make the wide-stance tires road legal. But this is not an LS, and so it has no rear locker or limited slip. It also has no power windows or door locks, and originally it didn't have a CD player. Basic, reliable, and fairly comfortable.

The nice thing is that the engine is basically a Chevy 350 with two cylinders lopped off one end, so many of the parts (like the pumps, alternator, and transmission) are common to a full-size truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2006

1999 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2.2 4 cly SFI from North America


Better than Toyota? HA! Better than Ford, Dodge... definitely!


Drivers side seat recline adjustment handle broke off.

Drivers door is sagging slightly because of bad door pins. Also must be slammed to close the door properly.

Oil leak and a nasty oil film are building up on the engine because of a faulty valve cover. The baffles inside the valve cover have sealant around them, and after a while, the sealant deteriorates and oil is pulled from the crankcase through the PCV system. You have to replace the valve cover to correct this concern, there's a bulletin available at GM dealerships, which explains more in depth. This concern happens on 2.2 engines mostly.

E-brake cable keeps coming off of release handle assembly. If this happens to you, just reach way under the dash behind the E-brake pedal, and you can manually release the E-brake.

Faulty passenger side wiper blade dug into windshield and left a permanent wiper outline.

Blower motor resistor went bad, which caused the fan to only work on HI.

Bed is sagging, caused by bad or worn out leaf springs (if you look, you'll notice a lot of 2WD S-10s with the same problem).

Check engine light came on - crankshaft position sensor had to be calibrated. You need the tech 2 scan tool to perform the recalibration.

General Comments:


The trucks seats are comfortable, but for a man of 6'3, you really need more leg room. Nice of GM to include a drivers seat lumbar support, not often seen on pickups.

The controls are really laid out well, and everything is right where you'd expect it to be. The interior design is really modern looking and attractive. Plenty of power outlets to use (3 if you include cig. lighter in ashtray).

Convienient center armrest with a fold up lid to keep pens and other small items, and 2 cupholders along with another storage bin on the floor. Also cupholders and map pockets in the doors too.

The center seat is really only suited for children, wayyy too small for an adult except in an emergency.


Chevrolet did a good job designing this truck. If you're going for looks, get the regular cab, but if comfort is what you need, go for the extended cab. Really nice lines this truck has, along with bulged fender flares and an attractive front end. My truck has the upgraded wheels package, which look awesome, much better than the work truck steel wheels they come with as standard equipment.


The 2.2 4 cylinder is economical and quiet, but lacks pep for city driving and highway passing. The spicer built manual gearbox is best suited to the underpowered engine, with short throws and a solid 'click' feel when changing gears. One complaint of mine is that at 70mph, in 5th gear the truck runs at 3,000 rpms which makes the truck sound louder and burns more gas. Anything faster than 70 and you can really hear the motor working hard at those high rpms.

I always liked having a standard, so I could pop start it if I killed the battery, but I found out the hard way that the truck's security system will keep you from doing this. Not a huge problem though because these trucks have battery run down protection as standard equipment. Unless you regularly haul heavy loads or tow, stay away from the gas guzzling underpowered 4.3 V6! The 2.2 is much more reliable and requires less maintenance. (ie, oil cooler lines)

Aftermarket parts:

Plenty of manufacturers offer a wide veriety of parts, from cold air intakes and computer chips, to clear euro lenses and air bag suspension. Be careful when choosing after-market parts, because many a time I have been burned by parts that don't fit correctly, or have been poorly manufactured.

I strongly recommend upgrading the truck's factory speakers with a good quality set. The GM factory CD player stereo is sufficient unless you plan on powering huge speaker boxes and amps. These trucks can be a lot of fun to upgrade if you do the work properly.

Common S-10 problems:

Here is a list of typical design flaws and problems with the S-10 2WD 4cyl.

- 3rd door handle commonly breaks off

- Drivers and passengers seat recline adjustment handles break off

- Head gasket leaks

- Idler arm.

- Windshield wipers inoperable or stuck (bad wiring)

- Leaf springs have tendency to sag

- Fuel pump

- Secondary AIR pump concerns

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

15th Aug 2008, 11:51

Hello just an update on how the truck is doing after 120,000 miles. Well I have not had ANY problems with this truck. I was even rear ended by a GMC 2500 and the truck was totaled by the insurance company. But guess what? I'm still driving it! The frame isn't bent at all and the truck drives in a straight line. You really can't even tell it was in an accident by driving it!

And as far as reliability, the truck has yet to break down. The only thing that broke off was the passenger side seat recline handle. I was wondering when it was finally gonna go. I wish I could change the title of this review to "best small pickup available for the price". Why buy a Toyota and pay more up front when you can buy a S-10 for much less?


Do yourself a favor and BUY ONE!