2000 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 10 of 10

2000 Chevrolet S-10 ZR2 Vortec V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Vortec V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A tough off road vehicle

Faults:

The lower ball joints are wore at 40,000 miles.

The pitman arm and idler arm are also wore at only 40,000 miles.

These problems of course caused extreme tire wear.

Seat adjustment arms have broken on both sides and have been replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

The truck is a very well built truck besides the suspension problems in the front end.

Rides very well for a four wheel drive truck with an off road suspension.

The cabin of the truck is roomy and everything is within hands reach.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2002

2000 Chevrolet S-10 LS Extreme 2.2 soon to be a 350 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.2 soon to be a 350 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Great

Faults:

The security light came on and I took it to the dealer and found out that it was the ignition core. It was replaced under warranty.

At 500 miles the front tires wore down pretty bad. Found out that the alignment was way off. Alignment fixed and the tires were replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

This has been an awesome truck so far. It has had a few problems yeah, but every new vehicle has to be broke in and WILL have defects because now-days they're built by machines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

16th Dec 2001, 15:41

You are SO right! This is the kind if thinking that most people, young and old, should be; Optimistic! My S-10 may not seem like much (2.2 manual) But with a few after-market parts, I have people thinking I have a V6! But really, I scared the hell out of them!

2000 Chevrolet S-10 LS Extreme 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired170 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Typical GM lemon

Faults:

Thumping noise when coming to a stop. Dealer tried twice to fix it, and it's still there. (I suspect its U-joints, but I'll just wait until they break and kill me).

Left me stranded on the side of the road, dealer said they found a "pinched sender fitting" that was causing the problem. Two days later after being stranded a second time, turned out that the fuel pump was bad (11k miles).

There's a noise coming from the transmission whenever the clutch is out. It's been getting progressively worse (I think it's just the throwout bearing)... but at 12k miles? Come on.

General Comments:

Factory ride is VERY harsh (typical of cars that are lowered improperly, ie. shorter stiffer springs instead of coilovers or drop spindles).

The 2.2 is so underpowered for this truck it's not even funny. I have trouble getting onto the highway with nothing in the truck but me (I'm not heavy at all).

The gas mileage is FAR less then the advertised amount, due to the fact that you have to be into the truck so much just to drive with traffic.

The transmission often times just doesn't like to go into gear if shifted quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

30th Apr 2001, 20:53

I think you'd be much happier with a real engine, try the 4.3.

29th May 2001, 17:49

Ashes to ashes dust to dust if it wasn't for chevy's our tools would rust.

Go buy a FORD!

31st Jul 2001, 08:38

I have a 2000 Xtreme 4.3 I have a thud noise when I corner, at first it was only on hard cornering... now it is whenever it wants to... same boat as you... not to happy with my 18000 investment... dealer can't find the problem, said I am racing it... I hate when people lie about me.

2000 Chevrolet S-10 LS Ext Cab 2WD 4.3 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.3 Liter V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance5600 miles

Summary:

A lot of truck in a small package

Faults:

Nothing has gone out.

General Comments:

If you want a small truck with power, the S-10 with the 4.3L V6 is the way to go. Unlike the 4 cylinder, the V6 is an actual truck engine design. The 2.2L I4 is a modified version of the Cavalier Engine. The V6 is basically the tried and true Chevy 350, that has been used for years, with two less cylinders. This engine pulls from idle which is good for hauling/towing.

The extended cab is another nice option. I also have the third door and find the extra room convenient. Although there are seats in the back, they are not good for long rides.

I also got mine with a limited slip rear differential. This feature has saved me from getting stuck several times already.

The S-10 feels solid and well made. The V6 is a much better engine than the 4 cylinder though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2000

17th Oct 2001, 21:00

I have a 2001 S-10 LS 2WD and I love it. I have had a ton of compliments on it and everybody that sees it or rides in it, loves it. I want to work on doing a lot of modifications, but I take it as it is on cruise nights, and I get a lot of recognition. I love my truck!

29th Jul 2002, 13:27

I have a 2000 LS extended cab with third door 4x4. Great truck. The ride is just what I expected. The 4.3L engine is plenty powerful too. Chevrolet got it right with these trucks. Hope they don't change a thing!

9th Sep 2002, 16:02

I too have a 2000 S-10m 4x4 with the extended cab and a 4x4. It is a great pickup! The 4.3L V-6 is very quick to respond to every need. I also have the heavy duty suspension package. It is a tremendous step up from the 1992 GMC Sonoma 5-speed I had. The Sonoma was a good truck, but this S-10 is fantastic. Lots of power.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 35 reviews