2000 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 9 of 10

2000 Chevrolet S-10 ZR2 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Good for the price

Faults:

Pitman arm is wore out due to improper service. Never greased at sevice times.

General Comments:

Govoner shuts down engin at 95 miles a hour.

ZR2 package is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

10th Jun 2004, 17:00

I have a 2000 Chevrolet S-10 with the ZR2 package. I love the look of the truck, but with the ZR2 package the governor shuts off at 92 MPH. It also seems that the truck is a little underpowered even with the 4.3 liter V6. Gas mileage is also pretty bad. I get less than 20MPG and most of that is on the highway. I have had problems on both seats with the seat reclining handle breaking along with the 3rd door handle breaking.

2000 Chevrolet S-10 Extreme LX 4.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

This is one fast, good-looking truck!

Faults:

The driver's seat has started to wear from getting in and out so much.

The bed became unaligned shortly after we bought it. It is slightly more towards the driver's side now.

Other than that, we haven't had any problems.

General Comments:

This truck is fast! I have a slight problem with wanting to race people when a stoplight turns green :) but the truck is so fast to take off that I've never been beaten! It can also take curves like you wouldn't believe. It just seems to hug the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

12th Aug 2003, 12:10

I have a extreme. I also think they are very fast. I have done several modifications to my truck though. My s-10 can and has beat a dodge dakota r/t which has a 5.9 liter. I have a 4.3. They do hug the road well. You can take curves at 60 mph and and feel no slipping. There bad little Trucks.

2000 Chevrolet S-10 ZR2 Vortec V6 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Vortec V6 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance37518 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

4x4 of the year

Faults:

I've had only a few minor scratches from the rocks my tires have thrown up, but besides the average oil change I have put no money into my truck.

General Comments:

This is the best 4x4 truck I have ever drove.

I'm getting about 20mpg which is very close to the v6 mustang I had before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

2000 Chevrolet S-10 Xtreme 4.3 Vortev V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortev V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Vitara

Summary:

The Nickey of all trucks!!!

Faults:

The AC needed recharger.

The carpet seems to wear out from my heel on the carpet.

Other than that, no problems!!!

General Comments:

The ZQ8 suspension handles like it is on rails.

The truck's handling makes the best use of the 4.3's available power which is Xtreme.

The looks of the Xtreme are as Xtreme as its performance.

I have no problems with the truck under Xtreme abuse, and would reccommend it to anyone interested in buying one.

The Xtreme can out corner any other sport truck...Period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2002

2000 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2 Wheel Drive Extended Cab 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance48800 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

The worst vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

Things that have gone with this truck. Well, I purchased this truck new June 10, 2001. I left the truck at the dealership to have a few after market products installed (10 disc CD changer, spray-in Rhino bed liner, alarm system with keyless entry and remote start, tinted rear sliding window). When I picked up the truck, I immediately noticed the tailgate was not aligned properly with the truck bed. I then realized the truck bed was out of alignment. The bed sits approximately a quarter inch higher on the passenger side behind the cab compared to the driver side. The tailgate lines up the rear of the bed on the passenger side, but is indented approximately a quarter inch on the driver's side.

For the first 20,000 miles or so, the air vents whistled when the fan was turned up to full speed.

Within the first year of ownership, I put 45,000 miles on my truck. I think I had just about every possible problem.

The rubber window moldings at the bottom of the windows on the doors came loose and soon fell off of both doors.

The rotors quickly warped on the front brakes and have been replaced three times.

The transmission failed at 39,000 miles. It was rebuilt and failed again at 42,000 miles (defective GM parts again).

The factory tires wore out very quickly (not that I'm surprised).

The paint on the grille wore off in two spots in the first 6 months (I hand wash on my vehicles at home so this is not the result of harsh automatic car washes).

The fuel gauge often will not register full even after filling the tank.

The anti-lock brakes engage over small bumps in the road which often creates a panic sensation when driving in poor weather.

The steering wheel does not adjust to a comfortable position without blocking the speedometer.

The third door handle has broke twice and is often difficult to use.

General Comments:

I own two 2001 Chevrolet S10s. Both have had identical problems with the exception of the transmission failure. One truck has the four cylinder while the other has the V6. I would strongly encourage anyone thinking of buying a new S10 to thoroughly research the reliability of these trucks first. The four cylinder is nearly worthless on anything other than flat ground although it does average 23 mpg in the mountains of Northern California. However, I'll take the trade off for lower gas mileage of theV6 (20 mpg) simply because it's so much easier to drive with all that power. I've had several S10s before these two, however, I will not be buying another S10 or GM product in the future. They just don't make a quality product any more in my opinion. And their customer service levels at dealership is far from acceptable. Today I spoke with a general manager at Chevrolet customer service regarding warranty work to fix the faulty tailgates on my trucks. He basically told me GM had no intention of fixing this problem because he felt I had damaged the trucks myself. The truth of the matter is, this problem is identical on both trucks and has been documented from day one. When I asked if this was the type of customer service provided to GM customers, he laughed, and told me neither he or GM really cared what I thought. I think that's bad business. I'm sure that me not buying any more GM products will not have any impact on his job, but maybe I can prevent other consumers from being trapped in the GM hell I've experienced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2002

16th Jun 2003, 21:29

There is a fix, but Chevy/GM is screwed up and lazy. There was a service bulletin that went out in March of '03... Subject: Inaccurate or Erratic Fuel Gauge Readings at 1/4 Tank or Lower (Replace Fuel Level Sensor and Reprogram PCM)

I have this same problem in my 01 S-10, among many serious others that have actually caused deaths. An improperly calibrated fuel gauge might cause the problem, or the float arm geometry being too short. Either way it sucks and it can be fixed. So go take a look at the service bulletin and throw it in Chevy's face.

17th Sep 2008, 20:28

Third Door fix. Drill a hole straight through even with latch and nipple on back. File it down 1/2 inch, to insure that bolt goes through just right.. Use lock washers on both ends then make a mini handle about 1 inch. The Handle will sit at a downward angle<in lower corner>. Then the handle will sit at an angle. But it works like a champ. I don't know why it was not made like this before. One finger release.

1st Sep 2010, 19:08

2005 Blazer, 55,000km, 2 DR.

Full gauge shows full and drifts downward over my commute.

Acting erratic.

A loud clunking noise on a tight right hand turn into my parking spot.

Also, lots of air noise through driver's side door.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 35 reviews