1989 Chevrolet Silverado C 1500 Ext. Cab Long Bed 5.7 liter from North America

Summary:

A great truck

Faults:

Replaced transmission at 295,012 miles.

Replaced seats at 208,670 miles.

Replaced body bolts at 300,009 miles. (body bolts hold truck to frame)

Replaced all gaskets around 400,000 miles.

Replaced driver and passenger side window motors.

Replaced all windows at 215,421 miles.

Replaced rear axle at 208,468 miles.

General Comments:

All in all this truck has been a great one. Everything I replaced Had diteriorated from being used so much and being so untaken care of by the previous owner.

This truck however is powerful, fast, and quick. And I wouldn't trade it for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2003

14th Oct 2003, 16:16

I have the same truck, I have 385,000 KM's on it and feel the same way as this guy about his. I would not trade this truck for anything.

I buy a new car every 2 years for my wife, but have had my truck now for 9 years.

I have done a good chunk of work to it, but being as old as it is, and all the KM's on it, I am fine with my investment.

1st Nov 2010, 16:59

I have had three trucks of this body style. I have always been a Chevy guy and this truck is the reason why. My current truck is also the oldest being 90. It has 140k on it and runs like it was new. It even outperforms my father in law's newer GMC Sierra. It's fast, has more power than I would ever need, and runs great, even though it's 2 decades old. It's been well maintained and I've had no mechanical problems at all. I will keep this truck until there's nothing left of it, and it'll probably be my son's first vehicle.

11th Dec 2013, 14:34

I have owned my 1989 ext cab long bed for 22 years.

Second owner. Now has 403,000 miles.

AMAZING TRUCK. I work this truck every week, drive it every single day as a contractor. Reach through the driver's window, turn the key and it fires right up, every time. Gonna see 500,000 miles soon and it will still be priceless to me.

1989 Chevrolet Silverado Ext. Cab 5.7 liter from North America

Summary:

An ox of a truck

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This truck is seriously fast on the quarter mile it does 10.89. It has a 5.7 liter engine that equals 350 cubic inches.

I live on a ranch so I need a truck that will pull a fully loaded 37 foot horse trailer, six wheel tractor, or a trailer load of hay.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

27th Aug 2003, 22:21

Unless that is one hell of a modified 350, there is no way you do a quarter mile in 10.89. I have a 98 Chevy with a Vortec 350 running approx. 325HP and 410 foot pounds of torque due to some mods. I'm lucky to break into the 14's.

1989 Chevrolet Silverado C1500 5.7 liter from North America

Summary:

A gas friendly hot rod

Faults:

Driver side door strap broke.

Replaced the rear bumper.

Replaced the air cleaner.

General Comments:

This truck is fast, strong, and really good on gas. It gets twenty miles to the gallon city and twenty-one miles to the gallon highway. Compared to my 1998 Ford F-150 this is a big improvement.

When going off road it rides as smooth as it dose on the road. With few vibrations and less engine strain than my 1998 Ford F-150.Now I know what your thinking "Oh of course, but what size engine did your Ford have if your Chevrolet had a 5.7 liter". Well My Ford had a 5.6 liter Triton, and that my friend is a heavy duty Ford engine.

Comfort wise the Chevy is is a huge improvement over my 1998 Ford F-150. The Ford, s Interior I could classify as two cotton covered rocks. My Chevy on the other hand is as comfortable as your bed when your dead tired.

When I said this truck was fast I mean it. 5.7 liter when broken down is 350 cubic inches. My Chevrolet does 11.99 in the quarter mile.

I also said this truck was strong, well I mean it. This truck pulls my 34 foot Cabin Boat with ease. That pretty much speaks for its self.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2003

11th Oct 2003, 18:03

The strength of this year's top engine isn't in question, neither is the durability of the truck.

However the comfort you speak if is a load of crap... What'd you do? Take out that horrible angle ridged bench seat and replace it with Lexus buckets???

What about the bumps? Why do you have Monroe Sensa-tracs in a work truck? We all know it's a big truck, there-hence-forth you feel every bump in the road...

1989 Chevrolet Silverado LX 4.3L V6 from North America

Summary:

An expensive investment

Faults:

When I got my truck, it was in very bad shape. The body was rusted through, and the engine's piston rings and seals were completely shot. I was on my way to a complete rebuild.

I have put an all new 1996 3/4 ton frame underneath, sandblasted and undercoated of course, as well as having the engine professionally rebuilt, painted and chrome plated to have it look good under the hood. The previous owner had the clutch, transmission and transfer case replaced at 258 000 kms (I have the receipt) and they work great. I recently had it painted and put a tonneau cover, and a chrome package on the truck and it looks great. I installed a $3000 stereo system as well and customized the interior.

So I guess the only thing that has gone wrong with it since I did all this work was normal wear parts like front end parts, tires, alternator, starter, fuel pump, and a distributor.

General Comments:

The truck works great. 4 wheel drive works good, it handles good on the highway as well as in the snow and mud.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2002