1995 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews

1995 Chevrolet Silverado 5.7 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

Undecided

Faults:

Alternator replaced at 110000 miles.

Most of the interior lights replaced at 115000 miles.

Half of the cargo lights quit working 115000 miles.

Half of the stereo features quit working at 110000 miles.

Burns a quart of oil between oil changes 110000 miles.

Heater vents quit working at 120000 miles.

Four wheel drive doesn't always engage when you need it.

Doesn't handle washboards without going out of control.

16 MPG average with easy 55 mph highway driving.

Power mirrors quit at 110000 miles.

General Comments:

We bought this pickup because we needed a full size vehicle for use on the farm, and the family was growing and needed more leg room.

The extra cab interior and seats are top notch, and the vehicle rides and drives like a luxury car. The suspension is too soft however for any off road driving (maybe should have gotten a Z71?)

There has been a lot of nickel and dime stuff going wrong with the vehicle in the short time we've owned it, but we are hoping that once it is fixed it will stay that way for awhile. We did not have as many little things go wrong with the Nissan pickup that we sold with the same age and use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2008

14th Nov 2009, 16:51

Original reviewer here: We've had this truck for a year now and it has 125,000 miles. I'm happy to report that after fixing all of the little things wrong with it a year ago that it has been mostly trouble free. This truck is a pleasure to drive, very comfortable to seat four, and it has adequate power for hard work around the farm. The gas mileage has remained about 16mpg highway and it still uses 1 quart of oil between oil changes (3000 miles).

15th Nov 2009, 13:57

I have a 1992 GMC Sierra, it is pretty much the same truck.

It's a keeper :)

1995 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 5.7 liter V8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired166000 miles
Most recent distance266678 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

The best truck I've ever drove

Faults:

Let's see, there ain't nothing that's really happened to the truck that's been bad.

General Comments:

This truck is the best truck in the world to me. I've had it for three years now, and I'll tell you, it puts the Fords and Dodges that I've drove in the dirt.

It's the most reliable truck that I have owned, because I've been hit in it 4 times, and 3 times all it has done is maybe put a scratch on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2007

1995 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 5.7 litre from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.7 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A tough and sporty bullet proof vest

Faults:

Seat control fixed at 75,000 miles.

Rear end was replaced at 90,000 miles.

Power steering house replaced at 100,000.

Door handle was fixed at 134,000 miles.

Hot/Cold switch for the heater and A/C was replaced at 134,000.

Water pump was replaced at 137,000 miles.

General Comments:

The truck looks really good for being 12 years old.

The motor is smooth, strong, and quite at 145,000 miles.

The black Z71 seams tough and sporty.

This truck tows our boat very nicely.

The exterior is bullet proof and the interior is proudly plush.

The tires are expensive and fuel is a bit of a drain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2007

1995 Chevrolet Silverado 5.7 V8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carChevrolet ford f-150

Summary:

It does the job perfectly and I love it!

Faults:

The windshield wiper-pump has been replaced, but still works - not a big deal for me.

Replaced waterpump, radiator.

Passenger side door handle broken.

General Comments:

I have been in love with this truck since I first noticed it. Despite a few hundred dollars on parts and the gas costs, it has been great, I love it way more than my old ford. It hauls all of my landscaping and lawn care supplies plus trailer no problem. It roars out of the dual exhaust. It also has its original paint job that has only a few scratches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2006

1995 Chevrolet Silverado 5.7L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Sierra

Summary:

This has been an extraordinary reliable vehicle

Faults:

Passenger seat unlocking mechanism broke three times, but was repair at no cost by dealer.

Had to replace the turn signal switch pack at 85,000 miles.

Replaced the windshield wiper control unit at 100,00 miles.

Had to replace the muffler and tailpipe at ~ 110,000 miles.

Had to replace the alternator at 140,000 miles.

Had to replace the water pump at 145,000 miles.

Had to replace the catalytic converter at ~ 150,000 miles.

Had to replace the transfer case at 160,000 miles.

Replaced the windshield wiper control unit again at 160,00 miles.

Rebuilt the front end (less ball joints) at 180,000 miles.

Replaced ball joints at 208,000 miles.

Replaced the radiator at 208,000 miles.

Had to replace the turn signal switch pack again at 210,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have owned this truck ever since it was new. It still has the original paint, upholstry, and mechnical components.

The gas mileage is not great, but overall it has been a very reliable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews