1995 Chevrolet Silverado from North America

Faults:

The automatic transmission went out at 98000 thousand miles, I had it rebuilt and I haven't had a problem since.

I've had to replace the water pump twice.

Windshield wiper motor went out at about 160,000 miles.

I replaced head gaskets at 220,000 miles because the water level kept going down and couldn't find the leak.

The new problem I now have is the brakes, I've taken it to 3 mechanics and haven't found the problem.

General Comments:

Over all my Z-71 truck has been an excellent workhorse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Silverado C1500 5.7 Liter from North America

Summary:

A Rock

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this truck. Only regular maintenance has been done, this includes, plugs, plug wires, K&N air filter, brake-pads, and wind-shield wiper blades.

General Comments:

I love this truck! I have only owned it for a short amount of time, but I love it. The engine power is respectable for a two wheel drive truck. The reliable 5.7 liter, 350 engine, has great low-end torque. This 2WD truck handles and rides like a car. A "Texas Cadillac". I have recently added a Flow-master Performance Muffler and it sounds great!!!

The only thing I dislike is the gas mileage. 17 miles per gallon is the average.

The truck is a workhorse. I own a 24' travel trailer and have no trouble towing it. You forget it is even back there. I pass many Fords and Dodges going up hills, even with a 4000 pound trailer.

The interior is great for a 1995 model. Roomy and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

26th May 2014, 18:00

We have the same truck. The transmission was just rebuilt, but we think the transmission pump needs to be replaced. Any suggestions on where to find one? Looks like it's no longer made.

1995 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 V8 from North America

Summary:

Feel the power under you butt

Faults:

The alternator went about 6 or 7 months after we bought the truck.

General Comments:

The truck can go anywhere.

Awesome in the winter.

Pain in the, but to wash the roof (Short person)

Drinks gas, especially bad gas!

Insurance is not bad.

Can tow, push, and pull almost anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th November, 2002

1995 Chevrolet Silverado Z-71 350 V8 from North America

Summary:

Very nice and dependable, but a costly luxury item

Faults:

I had to replace the alternator 3 times in the last 4 years. The first time cost $180, but the replacement was an A.C. Delco with lifetime warranty. The parts house had the purchase on record, so the only thing it's cost is time since then.

I've replaced one water pump.

I've replaced one battery.

I have valve stem seals that leak, resulting in oil being burned (no smoke from exhaust) and spark plugs in 3 cylinders fouling once every 6000 miles or so.

The passenger air conditioning vent got stuck. When a passenger tried to open it, it broke. Haven't replaced it yet.

General Comments:

Mechanical parts have held together.

Power everything (locks, doors, seats) still work with no problems.

Tires have even wear.

Problem is the truck only gets 12 City and 15 Highway, max best case.

If I still had a well-paying job, I'd keep it. But I am going to trade it in on something more economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

1995 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 Extended Cab V8 350 from North America

Summary:

Great!!!

Faults:

Alternator went out at 215,000 miles.

Water pump at 180,000.

3 batteries in 226,000

The transmission went out at 167,000 miles and it was our fault - we put the truck in a bind turning around in a small hollow and tore reverse out. We drove it with reverse out for 2 months and even hauled a load of furniture in the horse trailer 350 miles one way. We just had to make sure we didn't have to back up. How many people can say they have a truck like that?

I would love for Chevrolet to know about this truck. I would love to test drive their vehicles.

General Comments:

I couldn't ask for a better truck, we have pulled a 16 ft. horse trailer for 5 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2001

10th Jul 2003, 11:15

What rear end was in this truck? 3/4 or 1/2 ton? thanks would appreciate your feedback.

My email is dgeary@aol.com.

18th Mar 2010, 13:01

I also have a 95 K-1500 x-cab Chevy Z-71. It has 180,000. I do regular maintenance. It's always hooked up to a trailer, always pulling/towing. It's the same trans and motor! I love this truck! I don't even look at any other truck. The service that I'm getting out of it is amazing! There's just something about a Chevy.

24th Aug 2010, 11:33

My 95 x-cab K-1500 Z71 has 279,xxx K on it. Never let me down, transmission never rebuilt or replaced, no motor problems, always towing something. Owned it since 1996. Honestly the best truck ever made. Would never get rid of it.