1987 Chevrolet Sprint Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1987 Chevrolet Sprint Turbo 1.0 turbo MFI from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 turbo MFI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 miles
Most recent distance258000 miles

Summary:

I love this car, it's my favorite car!

Faults:

Seats were not original when I got it, I found another turbo sprint at a local junk yard that had original seats and had them cleaned.

Cracked cylinder head at 210,000 cost $100 to fix.

Needed a catalytic to pass smog check at 220,000 so I bought a new exhaust system, cost $300.

Passenger side door lock switch broke, had to replace the whole door.

General Comments:

I have had little trouble with this car.

With 258,000 miles on it, it has tons of power. I usually drive 100mph+ on the freeway everyday and it still gets about 35 mpg.

The only complaint I have is it's so hard to find parts for it. If anything gos wrong I have to find a junk yard with one there and that's not so easy either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2005

18th Apr 2005, 15:40

Hey these are great cars you know they later became the Geo Metro-

6th Mar 2006, 13:12

Maybe he is Canadian where 100+ is in kmph and that should equal out to about 80Mph.

3rd Jan 2007, 17:19

Iv'e got 474,000 miles on my 88 sprint, it just won't die.

1987 Chevrolet Sprint Turbo 1.0 turbo gas from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 turbo gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Sprint

Summary:

Best car for the money I have ever owned

Faults:

Replaced muffler 5 times.

Replaced clutch at 50,000 miles.

Replaced under-engine wire harness at 160,000 miles (fell off).

Replaced windshield 5 times.

Center spark plug has blown out twice.

Replaced water pump at 180,000 miles.

Replaced ignition key assembly at 190,000 miles (key was broken in lock).

Front seats are worn. (Back seats still like new.)

Interior plastic trim crumbling from sun exposure.

General Comments:

This is the least expensive, most dependable, most fun car I have ever owned. Even after 16 years, it can still blow away the competition. It's not real quick from a dead stop, but out on the open road it's downright scary. I used to call it "Whistling Death". If you floor it at about 55 mph, within seconds you are doing 70, 80, or more. When it was newer, I used to easily get it up over 100 mph. (The speedometer only goes up to 90, so I had to extrapolate from the tachometer.) The next logical step up for anyone owning one of these rice rockets is a BMW Mini Cooper (turbo, preferably).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2004

16th Nov 2004, 08:13

I am in the process of purchasing an 88' Chevy Sprint Turbo, and was interested in even more engine specifications and pro's and con's of the cars over-all performance.

25th Feb 2005, 22:55

I own a 1987 Chevy Sprint Turbo and It has got to be one of the best cars especially for a 16 year old guy like me. You get speed and real good fuel economy! I just wonder if you can get a blow off valve for it or a new more powerful turbo for it???

1st Mar 2005, 15:20

I have heard you can with a fish tank pump actually, for under a buck and have a blow off valve! I have an 87 Turbo. LOVE IT!!! 187k miles, and still is awesome. email me to talk Sprint kheggem3@aol.com.

30th Jun 2008, 22:27

The worst mistake of my life was selling my Red 1988 Chevy Sprint Turbo and buying a 1988 Mazda RX-7...

1987 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 kilometres
Most recent distance285000 kilometres
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

Cheap, fun and fast, but definitely not cool

Faults:

Muffler worn out at 125,311km, replaced.

Turbo Heat Shield fell off at 140,000km.

Muffler worn out again at 154,690km, replaced.

Muffler worn again at 154,775, replaced.

Transmission often pops out of 1st gear starting at 180,000km.

Clutch Failure at 190,000km, replaced.

Transmission Destroyed at 195,000km. Used Transmission installed.

Transmission gears grind and pops out of 3rd and 4th gears starting at 265,000km.

General Comments:

Turbo engine with 5-speed combined with this car's light weight makes for some serious fun.

Burnouts in 1st gear can be done at will, tires will spin at the top of 2nd gear, and tires squawk at top of 3rd gear.

Suzuki under-rated this engine at 70hp. Mine has been tested and makes 82hp at the front wheels!

0-60 - 8.17 sec.

1/4 - 16.22 sec @ 85.7 mph.

Top Speed - over 160 kph.

Long trips are exhausting because seats lack support, ride is extremely harsh, and cabin lets in all outside noise.

A lot of power for such a small car. Anything larger than a bicycle could kill you in a collision. This car gives you that "edge of death" feeling, all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

4th Jun 2004, 11:49

I agree with all you said in relation to road noise, rough ride, and poor sound insulation. It has had the muffler replaced twice as well. One time by the previous owner at 80k, and again (under the same warranty:) recently at 178k. I love this car though. Quick, fuel efficient, reliable and it gives me the rush like a go cart. (Just stay close to home).

Kenny.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 15 reviews