1987 Chevrolet Sprint Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1987 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

It has been a great bargain for me

Faults:

My Sprint now uses about 1 litre of oil every 3 weeks as opposed to 1 litre every six months when I first got it.

I have had to replace the muffler, a new drivers side floor and few odds and ends, but nothing major.

General Comments:

I find it to be extremely reliable and cost efficient to run. During the summer I have achieved 54 miles per gallon which drops to about 36 miles per gallon in the winter. I track the mileage at every fill-up so I have a running record.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

1987 Chevrolet Sprint 4 dr Sedan 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Well-built, dependable and a hoot to drive

Faults:

I have had to replace the gas tank.

I had to replace the front brake pads.

I had to replace the manual transmission. However this was my fault, not that of the car. I allowed the fluid level to become low and it overheated.

The interior is cheap and the seats are uncomfortable.

Body rust is a problem with my 87 Sprint.

I've had some electrical problems, especially with the interior lights.

General Comments:

This little car is a hoot to drive.

Car handles easily and parks like a dream.

Wonderful mileage and adequate pep.

Dependable, well built car that starts easily in cold weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

1987 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0L 3 cylinder gas from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0L 3 cylinder gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired175895 kilometres
Most recent distance200798 kilometres

Summary:

A superb daily driver, long hauler

Faults:

Replaced the front wheel bearings in November of 2000.

Have had to replace the intermediate pipe as well as the muffler. Most recently the catalytic converter had to be replaced. Seeing as the converter had to be replaced, I replaced the cat, with a Stainless Hi-Flow Cat, and 2" full exhaust system.

Minor rust on the body, which is being worked on daily as I have time.

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle, very reliable and has never let me down in any situation.

The seats could be more comfortable, that's a work in progress as is the rest of the car.

Superb handling, excellent cornering and acceleration, with a few simple modifications that are very cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2001

13th Dec 2009, 09:30

I live in Germany and have a Suzuki Swift (same model different name) and I love this little car. What suspension mods did you make? Car is 23y old and still reliable.

Stephen.

1987 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance186558 miles

Summary:

Best gas saver of them all!

Faults:

Engine started using oil @ about 140,000 miles so I replaced it with a salvage engine. I think the carb might be about to die..

General Comments:

This car is something else. I mean you would never expect a car like this to last this long. It just keeps going and going I hate to get rid of it considering that it's never let me down once, but I got to say I'm getting kinda scared to drive it with all those gas hog Suv's out there. I pulled up beside one the other day and I swear you could have put three or four Sprints in that thing. I can just imagine if one of those things would hit it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2000

10th Aug 2001, 04:01

An SUV did hit the rear end of my 1986 Sprint Plus. $3700+ damage, but my precious little car is still sprinting up hills and down on the freeway at 75-85 mph, and doing it at the rate of 50+ mpg.

1987 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance136895 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Faults:

Alternator went out, starter is starting to go.

General Comments:

Good little car, it's starting to burn oil. There is a little trail of blue smoke following me around everywhere. I suspect it will need a clutch soon also. It has served me well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2000

1987 Chevrolet Sprint 61ci. 3-cyl. 2bbl. (48hp) from North America

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 61ci. 3-cyl. 2bbl. (48hp)
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

I know of three people who have one besides me, they never last much past 80,000 miles. Burns 1 quart of oil every 300 miles (obviously a cheap engine).

General Comments:

Most popular color is blue. Has a Suzuki engine (they just need to stick to making motorcycles). If you must get one, get the Turbo model (you will thank me later). Cheap little car. Not safe. Don't waste your time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

25th Nov 2000, 23:56

I have an 87 Turbo Sprint with 279,000 miles on it and I drive it about 170 miles a day. This car still gets on the average 40 mpg with the turbo providing little boost now.

I have not had any problems with this car except I had the head redone for burnt valves. I run synthetic oil in it and keep excellent maintenance on it, if you did the same thing yours would have lasted too.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 15 reviews