1999 Chevrolet Suburban 1500 from North America


Blinker sound will not turn off

Interior light come on randomly and drain battery.

General Comments:

I am the first owner of my 1999 Chevy Suburban.

We really enjoy the car.

Recently the blinker sound will not turn off unless the brake pedal is pressed.

Interior lights turn on randomly and drain the battery. They will not turn off unless main fuse for all lights is removed from fuse panel which means I can't drive at night.

Does anyone know what causes these problems?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2006

4th Oct 2006, 19:40

How many miles do you have?

31st Dec 2008, 09:30

I have a 1999 Suburban and the intermittent interior lights may be caused by the rear door electrical connections. The lights were flickering in our car when hitting big bumps in the road. I put double stick tape on the top of the back door so the top electrical connector depresses enough to stop the flicker. I think the top one is the sensor for when the door opens. If this switch becomes weak the interior lights will go on. Hot to cold or cold to hot temperature changes are enough to cause the switch to activate when switch gets older and worn.

15th May 2009, 23:22

I have owned two Suburbans, loved them both, but came to the conclusion that all Suburbans are shipped to England and wired by Lucas... I have many joys with signal lights, wipers, cigarette lighters.. Oh yeah! But the '89 especially was still a wonderful safe vehicle.

14th Feb 2016, 10:53

In my case it was the hazard light connector. Disassemble the steering wheel covers, remove the connection, clean it well, put it all back together, problem solved.

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LT 5.7 Vortec from North America


Overall this is a great vehicle


The brake light switch had to be replaced but was covered under warranty. Also the fuel pump was replaced, but also covered in warranty.

General Comments:

I think this vehicle is a winner. It was bought used with 87774 miles, but runs like brand new.

It is very responsive to controls and has great power and comfort compared to other SUV's in it's class.

The braking system could be improved, but really no other complaints.

I love going out on the open road and cutting loose. Also off-road driving is pleasurable with exception of slight suspension woes, bouncing.

I would recommend a Suburban to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LT 5.7 V8 from North America


This is the ultimate SUV


The only problems that we have experienced are that it is really hard on brakes and we suffered a perpetual transfer case third member leak for a year or two. We finally found a mechanic that was able to repair the transfer case seals as well as install a good set of aftermarket heavy duty brakes to the vehicle (performance friction brand). Other than that, this baby is the perfect SUV.

General Comments:

This thing is the last of a dying breed! IT IS king of the highway and can tow just about anything. ALL other SUV's feel like toys after you have driven this thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LT 5.7 from North America


This is by far one of the best vehicles I have ever bought


After owning the vehicle for 1,000 miles or at 80,000 miles, the fuel pump went bad. I did some quick calculation at 16 M.P.G and found it had pumped 5,000 gallons of fuel. That's a lot of fuel for a small little pump. I replaced it myself and it wasn't that hard to do. Total cost under $300.00.

The engine light went on intermittently and I stopped using ethanol fuel and it stopped coming on.

General Comments:

The brakes are not very good.

I found that if you manually adjust the brakes in the rear every oil change, they work great.

The rear doors squeak.

I now know that if you keep the seals clean and keep a polymer on them, that they won't squeak anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LS 7.4 from North America


Estimates of $5,000.00 to repair a car selling at $15,500 used, I will look to Honda next time


Starting with the original starter I am now on the third one.

The front and rear breaks never worked properly, i.e. pulling, extreme vibration, extreme front pad wear, only 15% wear on original rear shoes after 84,000. (dealer says this is OK!)

Air-conditioning leaking under dash.

Automatic door locks fail when wet (rain, or car-wash).

Catalytic converters need replacing after 84K miles. (Manufacturer Warranty void after 80K miles)

General Comments:

This is a roomy solid ride.

The towing package that comes with is performing well.

Passes everything except the gas station, but knew that before I bought.

The 454 cubic inch engine has enough power towing 27', 7,000lbs travel trailer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

15th Nov 2003, 19:59

You problem is the 454. Next Chevy, go with the bread and butter of Chevy- 350 5.7. Brother, mine has over 150,000 miles and is as powerful and quiet as any new car (it powers a k1500 Suburban).

16th Jan 2013, 23:33

Who the hell would need a 454 cid 7.4 L V8 engine in a Suburban? To tow a house? A Chevy 350 cid V8 engine in good working order can tow a 7,000 lb trailer decently too, and get you infinitely better gas mileage. I'm sorry, but I really don't see GM's logic to keep the 454 and the later 496 cid V8 engines around in the 1990s and 2000s, with more powerful and efficient diesels around.