2001 Chevrolet Tahoe Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe LT V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Reliable comfy car, but costs a ton in gas

Faults:

So far only minor things. The push lock on the driver's side door broke off so now it has to be locked from the passenger side door, the piece of plastic under the front bumper (I think it's a scrape guard or something) started to come off and drag under the car so we had to pull that completely off, and the leather on the driver side is falling apart, but besides that nothing.

General Comments:

This car sucks gas like no other.

It's kind of noisy and jerky, doesn't drive too smoothly but that might also be because I was in a wreck, which messed up my alignment but I already had that fixed.

Very roomy, has plenty of space for passengers and luggage.

Very comfortable for taking trips.

Very reliable, haven't had any major problems yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2008

8th Mar 2010, 11:47

You know I always get a chuckle out of SUV drivers who complain about their gas mileage. What did you expect when you bought this monster? 25/30 mpg??? Next time when you want to complain about your gas mileage, be realistic with regards to the type of vehicle you are driving!

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 5.3L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

The best SUV out there

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is my car number 16 and is the best.

I've owned many cars and SUVs, but this one is hands down the best. For the year of the truck it has held up extremely good. It is very comfortable and is great for vacations. I got 17.5 mpg (usually get 15 mpg) on a trip I just took to Williamsburg, VA. It also seems to be the perfect size for everything I can throw at it. It also handles as good as some cars and does feel as big as it actually is. Mine has the autoride option which is nice. The 5.3L engine has plenty of power and the 4x4 system works great. I plan to keep this truck until the wheels fall off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2007

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe Z71 5.3L V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3L V8 Automatic

Summary:

A solid dependable vehicle that presents well

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

Great SUV, plenty of room inside for the family to sit comfortably.

With 4 wheel disc brakes it has great stopping power for towing, and the 5.3L motor seems to have more than enough power to tow whatever you could possibly want. I overloaded the factory receiver hitch with a forklift that weighs 14,000# and an equipment trailer that weighs a couple thousand, and this SUV drug it down the road in stellar fashion.

Does great in the snow, as well as on the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2007

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe LS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance28900 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Something is always seems to be broken

Faults:

Front seat belts have both been replaced twice for locking up for no reason.

Radio has been replaced.

Lt and Rt front window regulators have been replaced.

Top dash cover had to be replaced.

Locks are not working at this time-all doors have to be manually unlocked.

Battery and tray had to be replaced because of leaking battery.

Washer bottle had to be replaced due to leaking battery.

General Comments:

For a top end SUV I have been seriously disappointed. It seems as though every time I turn around something else is going wrong. It wasn't so bad while under warranty, but now that we have to pay out of pocket...

I am afraid that the locks not functioning are a sign of electrical problems to come.

We have the third row seats, but to be honest we don't use them because you have to fold down the middle seat to get to them.

We are going to trade in on a minivan, hopefully for better gas mileage which in the Tahoe is horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2004

7th Jul 2004, 20:09

Check the battery that replaced the old, what size is it?

Check fuses, wires and how was the installation of certain auto-lock remote start alarm...etc. items? can impact other electrical items.

6th Oct 2004, 08:14

You mention gas mileage being awful. Yep it is! That is because SUVs are geared low for serious towing, and off roading. These things were never intended to be family haulers or grocery getters.

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe LS V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Best vehicle that Chevrolet has made, to date

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This is the most comfortable vehicle that I have ever driven. Handles smoothly with great turning radius. I have never felt safer on the road with all of the additional safety features!

V8power is unsurpassed as is the towing package (we have a 25ft. boat and haul two horses).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2003

30th Jul 2006, 15:00

I have one of these also, and so far so good.

This thing can turn on a dime and rides so smoothly.

I put a after-market K&N intake system on, along with some headers, dual exhaust, and different fuel lines, and now my gas mileage is a lot better. At first this truck drank gas and had never seen a gas station it didn't like. Now just driving around the city, the needle really doesn't move.

I recommend if you get any of Chevrolet's massive suv's i.e. Avalanche, Tahoe, Suburban, Yukon, etc. Get some headers and an after-market intake system. It will help immensely. Otherwise, prepare to drop close to 80-100 bucks in it a week.

Nothing is broken and the 5.3 runs strong. At times there is hesitation, but it's my fault for using 89 octane from a cheap station. So for now all is well... we will see how it is in a year or so.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews