2000 Chevrolet Tracker Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2000 Chevrolet Tracker 2 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance123000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Summary:

Stay away!! this vehicle is trouble waiting to happen

Faults:

Transmission failed just after warranty ran out,$2000.

Many gasket leaks, some minor, some major.

Noise from rear end, not sure of source. got rid of it before I had to find out the hard way.

Heater fan stopped working, but started again.

Replaced link bolts.

Plus the usual stuff, brakes, exhaust. etc.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle used, but it was like new and never abused by us. I bought it because as far as I know it is made by Suzuki for GM and heard they are suppose to be pretty reaiable. shame on whoever made it, it is a piece of crap, it self destructed around the 5 year mark and the warranty on it is poor 3yrs/60,000 and that's for everything. Maybe I just got a lemon, but I won't be finding out the hard way again, i will never own a GM or Suzuki again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th September, 2005

8th Jan 2009, 17:21

I bought my 99 Tracker 2X4 as a repo in 2004 for $3800.00. I replaced a rear main seal 1 year later, otherwise no repairs just great service.

I often pull a utility trailer with wood and misc cargo. The 4 cyl gets 25 hwy, 20 city.

On the strength of this vehicle, I bought a 2003 Suzuki Grand Vitara V6 loaded for $12,500.00. 25 hwy, 15 city. Nice to have all toys, but not any better a vehicle.

I love my little 99 4 banger. Not a power house or a cad, but a great dependable utility vehicle.

2000 Chevrolet Tracker 2.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

I well buy a new one when this one is gone

Faults:

Replaced belts due to noise.

General Comments:

The car is good for a small family well made and depandable. the only thing is the seats you cannot be in them for a long time. the are bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2005

2000 Chevrolet Tracker 2.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

I really love my little MUV (mini utility vehicle)

Faults:

I have had an intermittent leaky radiator hose this usually would surface in the winter.

The air conditioner went out at 40k miles.

Broken catalytic converter at 50k miles.

The convertible top started to come unraveled at 38k miles.

General Comments:

All of the problems except the top coming apart where issues that came about due to the way I drive this little tank. I live back in the woods on top of a mountain and do a considerable amount of off road driving. I commute to work every day a round trip distance of 120 miles 2 of witch are dirt road. I use this little truck for every things like towing a small trailer loaded with building supplies, pulling logs up the side of the mountain and major snow driving. If you get a good set of tires and chains on this little beast you can go any where. Look folks lets get real it's an off road vehicle and designed with this purpose in mind. If you want sporty handling, quick acceleration and to entertain important members of state. This truck is not for you. This is a practical off road 4x4. The one suggestion I would have for some one interested in this truck would be to get a small trailer for making large hauls. Because it was well designed for of off road, to keep the wheel base short storage space was sacrificed. And because it is a 4x4 you can expect to pay more for basic maintenance on things like differentials, tires and transfer cases.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2005

16th Feb 2005, 11:09

I am having problems with my 2000 Chevy Tracker air conditioning also. Did you find out what was wrong with it?

1st Jul 2005, 21:27

The problem is with the sealing washers on the A/C lines.

A seal kit available from General Motors will fix the problem.

25th Apr 2007, 19:08

My 2000 had a leak in the A/C seal as well at about 50K miles, however, I bought a coolant refill kit at Auto Wise (this is not a commercial) and a can of the new refregerant and refilled it myself for about $25! That was last year. I gave it another squirt just last month. I figure can keep doing this for several years and not have the expense of a repair bill at the local Chevy dealer. I used the refrigerant/lubricant mix because the compressor needs lubricated too if the refrigerant is slowly leaking out. I'd never refilled an A/C unit before, but it was easy! I just read and followed the instructions on the package. The refill kit is reusable as well. I just go out and purchase another can of refrigerant every year.

20th Oct 2009, 09:35

Most of the reviewers that say negative things about this vehicle complain about all the things that go wrong with this car, then go on to say about how much fun it was to rag on it. People need to realize that IF YOU RAG ON A CAR, IT WILL BREAK!!! So thank you for not being an idiot.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews