2000 Chevrolet Tracker Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2000 Chevrolet Tracker LT 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32853 miles
Most recent distance33001 miles
Previous carMazda B3000

Summary:

Excellent bang for the buck. Too bad Chevy is discontinuing this model

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Overall, very impressive for a used vehicle.

Drives well.

Brakes well.

Interior aging well at 4 years old.

Excellent fit and finish.

Seats comfortable.

Good view of the road.

Dials and knobs ergonomically correct.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Tracker from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Fun to drive, but poor quality investment

Faults:

Belt squeals when the car has sat outside in the rain.

Interior plastic scratches easily.

General Comments:

Driving even at moderate speeds into sharp turns feels like car is going to roll over.

Non-standard stock radio/tape player makes it virtually impossible to replace with an aftermarket quality radio/player.

Speakers rattle interior trim even with bass set at negative number.

Seats are uncomforatable for long trips.

Road noise can be very high, especially with snow tires on dry pavement.

I've been rear-ended twice at very high speeds. Both collisions resulted in low cost damage and no personal injury.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

20th Oct 2009, 09:29

Just for your information, the radio can be replaced with an aftermarket receiver. There are converters that make it possible to fill in the space that is left when the aftermarket receiver is put in. (I am assuming that the reason you couldn't get an aftermarket CD player is because the Tracker has the taller radio). Those "converters" are available online or at any car audio specialist.

2000 Chevrolet Tracker 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Don't buy, trust me, this car is the worst car I have ever owned

Faults:

Driver side door panel came off, and had to order 2 screws at $13 a screw!

2 major oil leaks from oil pan.

Front passenger power window switch broke.

Power outlet doesn't work.

Horn malfunctioned due to electrical problems.

General Comments:

A cheap car. You get what you buy, and obviously this car is a cheap car, and not only the price is cheap.

Had plenty of fun with the 4-wheel drive capability.

This car is a trooper, it can take a beating, but then I take a beating in my wallet when I have to take it in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

21st Apr 2007, 12:26

Excuse me, but my Tracker was not cheap it sounds like the reason you have had such bad luck is the constant abuse you give it, you had a ragged out S-10 and you are calling the Tracker cheap get over it if you wanted a Lexus you should have gotten one so shut your mouth complaining about everything. Oh I guess though you couldnt afford anything else either that or this isn't even your car and you are leaving a fake review like so many others on this website-

20th Oct 2009, 09:20

I'm gonna agree. Sounds like your constant beating on the car probably caused all of your body damage, as well as the oil leaks and electrical problems.

2000 Chevrolet Tracker LX 4 Door 2.0 I-4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carFord 1995 Ford Escort

Summary:

Very reliable, fun vehicle

Faults:

Exhaust manifold bracket broke causing the exhaust manifold to crack at 37,000 miles, just out of warranty. Dealer called it in to customer service and Chevrolet agreed to cover parts and labor for the repair.

Interior door latches are weak. I broke two so far.

Interior plastic scratches easily.

Four wheel drive low not geared low enough.

Squeaky belt (?) under the hood if the vehicle sits out all night in the rain. It takes at least 11 miles of driving to dry things out.

Vehicle is loaded with options which increases weight, causing the 4 cylinder to struggles at times.

Cruise control will downshift to third at 75 miles per hour in an attempt to maintain highway speed!

General Comments:

Stock tires lasted 43,00 miles and wore perfectly, even without ever having an alignment.

Replaced front brakes at 35,000 miles and they where the easiest disk brake shoes I ever replaced.

Car is exciting in the turns even at slow speeds. Feels like I'm riding "on the edge"! and probably am!

Goes great in the snow!

Anti-lock brakes add a sense of security.

Stock stereo vibrates interior panels, people think I have a huge sub woofer inside!

Tight turning radius makes parking a easy.

Rear door swings out like a regular door. This makes it very convenient.

I tow this vehicle with four wheels down behind a motor home with no problems.

Feels like your going fast, when in reality your going slow. (cheap thrills and no tickets!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

27th Sep 2004, 13:44

Not to be too much off the deep end here, But why would you want to drive 75 mph in such a short wheelbase, somewhat unstable vehicle... with a small engine...

Isn't the speed limit max 65 anyhow...

I have a 2002 4dr with the V6. it's not happy at 75 so I know a 4cyl definitely is not...

2000 Chevrolet Tracker 4x4 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A good purchase for the money

Faults:

The driver's window is broken off the track and has to me coached up 70% of the time. It broke right after the warranty ran out. I feel the warranty is weak 36 months 36,000. It should be at least 6/60. Then a pulley went that controled the belt and had to be replaced, that happened during the first 20,000 miles and the dealership fixed it free of charge.

General Comments:

I feel that for the money the Chevy Tracker is a good purchase. The only thing I wish is that it has just a little more cargo space. The head room is good, but if your planning to carry anything it becomes a 2 seater and then you have to choose between cargo and people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

28th Dec 2003, 12:31

Window bolts securing the raising mechanism are probably loose, requiring the removal of the side door panel, electrical connections in the window corner, window connections in the arm rest. Window must be secured with pressure away from the front window guide. Lubrication on the front window guide probably a good idea. Dry graphite may help prevent sticking/loosening, too. Suggest the library for a good repair manual to prevent plastic pieces from breaking behind the door handle, which the side panel "spins" around. Thin, flat bar helps remove push-in fasteners. Only do this when you are not in a hurry, and you are mechanically savvy.

16th Dec 2005, 20:18

We have owned a 2000 tracker for a short while now, and it has been nothing, but a noisy-undependable-uncomfortable-expensive to repair piece of junk from the GM line. We will never-ever own another tracker!!!

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews