2003 Chevrolet Tracker Reviews

2003 Chevrolet Tracker 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, fun to drive, economical, cheap to maintain

Faults:

Very little has been done to this car in terms of major repairs.

New engine mounts at 110,000 miles ($400).

Brakes, belts, tires, normal stuff.

Air intake serviced at 115,000 miles ($100).

That's basically it, this car has been extremely reliable.

General Comments:

We bought this car brand new in 2003. We have almost all the features with the exception of the 4X4, since we live in an area of no snow or even rain.

No major repairs have been done, everything has worked fine throughout the years (knock on wood).

The A/C does need to be serviced, but it's never been serviced in the 9 years we owned it, and we live in 100 degree weather.

The seats are not as bad as everyone makes them sound. The rear seats are a bit uncomfortable, but I found that reclining them forward a bit made them much more comfortable.

Power is lacking, especially when the A/C is on, but for a school/going out car, it's absolutely fine.

The funny thing is one friend has a 2005 Ford F150 and another has a 2011 Nissan Maxima ($43,000 car), and they will normally choose my car over theirs when we need to go in one car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2012

2003 Chevrolet Tracker LT 2.5L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

One of the best cars we've ever owned

Faults:

No problems with this car whatsoever. Only standard maintenance such as oil, filters, brakes and tires.

General Comments:

We purchased this car in 2003 for my wife. She wanted a 4WD vehicle for the snowy winters, and we needed something to pull our little pop-up camper. It was a little smaller than some of the others we were looking at, but for the price and option package, it was the best deal overall, and even though it was small, it had enough power to pull our 1,200 lb camper.

With the V6 engine, it is pretty peppy, and in the snow, it will take you anywhere you need to go. About 4 years ago I purchased a Snowbear plow for it, and have been using it on my 200' driveway every winter. It works perfectly.

My daughter is driving it now, and after 100,000 miles, all I've done to it is normal maintenance. We have had zero problems with this vehicle in the 8 years we've owned it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2011

2003 Chevrolet Tracker LT 4x4 2.5L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Good car for what it is

Faults:

Not a thing.

General Comments:

I bought this car new for my mother-in-law, as it sits up high (easy to get in/out), is easy to see out of and isn't too big. All these things were positives due to her age at the time (78). She's now 86 and no longer driving, so I have the car back. There's not a thing wrong with it. Granted, it has been driven by a little old lady, but still...

You'd think the gas mileage would be good, but it's not. It handles like a truck and you feel every bump. However, the 4x4 means it'll go thru anything. This would be the perfect little SUV to go hunting in.

The seats could be a bit bigger - there's not too much support for the thighs, and you can forget about getting four adults in it. Two grown-ups and two kids is doable, though. I also like the fact the rear door opens left to right, rather than up and down. This makes it very easy to open and close, since you don't have to reach up high to grab the door. Cargo storage space is pretty good, and it was smart to move the spare tire to the outside of the car, so there'd be as much room as possible to store stuff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2011

2003 Chevrolet Tracker LT 2.0L gas from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carGeo Tracker

Summary:

Great, solid, reliable little SUV

Faults:

Right rear bearing seal has had to be replaced twice.

General Comments:

I really like the car. Very reliable, runs well, and very quiet compared to my Isuzu Rodeo or the Tracker that I owned before it.

Handles very well in snow with snow tires and 4WD engaged.

Good AC. Mileage averages 27 mixed city and highway. The highest was about 28.5 mpg. Tows a small trailer reasonably well.

I find it to be quite comfortable on long trips (upstate NY to Raleigh, NC twice). I do a lot of driving in this car - 72 thousand miles in 3 years. I like it well enough that I am considering another one to replace my Isuzu.

I especially like the fact that this model has a timing CHAIN, not a timing belt!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2009

6th Mar 2011, 17:07

I didn't have a preference for timing belt or timing chain, not until recently. The timing belt on our '99 Tracker (2.0L 4wd) broke. It was the "upper chain". Keep in mind this engine is INTERFERENCE. The preference comes because - if a belt snaps you replace it, maybe the tensioner and water pump. If a chain snaps, you have all the metal parts banging around, metal shavings to clog the oil pump, messy oil to work with. If you run low on oil, that affects the chain ultimately. Listen folks, get a vehicle with a timing belt and NON-INTERFERENCE if you can. Some that come to mind are -- Most Toyotas, Ford Ranger 2.3L + Mustang, I think Geo Metros 3 cyl.

8th Mar 2011, 12:20

Belts snapping can cause a lot of damage on certain engines. I have never heard of anyone snapping a timing chain. I am sure you could do it, but they are much more durable than a belt ever would be. I'd opt for a timing chain long before getting a car with a timing belt.

3rd Jun 2012, 15:55

All modern multi-valve and/or high compression timing-belt engines are interference, including Toyota, Suzuki. Toyota went to chains in the late 90's. Ford's MZR engines have chains. Even VW's 8V 1.8 (cross-flow head) is now an interference engine that will be damaged when the T-belt snaps.

5th Dec 2013, 18:03

Isuzu Troopers and Rodeos are NOT interference. And the timing belts are ridiculously easy to change.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews