2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS from North America

Summary:

It's a bad vehicle because of all the problems it's giving

Faults:

The fan clutch started making a loud noise, and it started wasting a lot of gas; I use 91 octane, and even so, it's not getting the right gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2010

7th Apr 2010, 12:02

If I had a car for 75k miles, and the most major repair needed was a fan clutch, I would jump for joy!

7th Apr 2010, 18:08

That's not bad at all.

Bad gas mileage? And you even used 91 octane? Uh oh! Another person who thinks cars only need gas to run!

Car's are machines. Machines require regular maintenance. To fix your bad gas mileage, I recommend a good tune-up. Change your spark plugs, air filter, and if possible, your fuel filter (not all cars have a serviceable fuel filter. Your mechanic can tell you whether or not yours does.)

Also, you might wanna try slowing down every now and again. The faster you go, the harder your engine has to work to move your SUV through the air (this is called drag), and the faster you drive, the faster your engine has to run due to the gearing of the transmission.

7th Apr 2010, 19:34

"I use 91 octane, and even so, it's not getting the right gas mileage."

Why do people continually think that more expensive gas will get them better mileage? Your Trailblazer was meant to run on regular unleaded and should get the best possible mileage on that gas. Ours gets 24 mpg on the cheapest gas available. Wasting an extra $.30 per gallon only burns up more money for you. You should only run the manufacturers suggested fuel in your vehicle. They actually advise against higher than 89 octane in the Hemi engine because it can cause problems for the engine. I'm sure the same is true for other engines as well. If you want real increases in hp and performance, try a K&N filter. It makes a real difference and will actually pay for itself over the life of the car, as it is a million mile filter.

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS 4.2 V6 from North America

Summary:

Disappointing

Faults:

I had a water pump go bad around 60k miles. Then around 75k miles I noticed the "jet engine" sound described in other comments.

General Comments:

I guess it is going to be the fan clutch or power steering pump. Looks like its time to spend another $500-$1000. I really wish I has my old 98 Ford Ranger back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2007

20th Aug 2007, 23:15

You might want to look at replacing your fan yourself. It will cost you about a 20th of what the dealer charges, and is a relatively simple job. Same with the power steering.

Most major auto parts stores are very willing to advise and help customers with minor repairs such as these. I never take my cars to a repair shop for anything other than very complex problems requiring special equipment.

On rear-drive vehicles like the Trailblazer, there is plenty of room to access most parts, and if special tools are required you can rent them from parts stores. Even my wife does minor repairs. We save enough to make it worth the effort.

26th Aug 2007, 13:43

We have a 2005 Trailblazer and the problem that we are having is: it will not start. We started having this problem about 25 days ago. Go out to start it and it would start. Drive it for a while and it would cut off. Try to start it and it would not start, shake the gear shift about twenty minutes then finally will start. The Trailblazer has been sitting for two weeks now and will not start. Every thing else seems to work when key is on, but will not start. I read some reviews that was placed on google about other Trailblazers that were a couple of years older, but did not see their resolve, is this something that should be under recall? We have less than 50,000 miles can someone help? email me at will11553@msn.com thanks.

1st Nov 2007, 07:31

1000 miles after the warranty expired, the water pump and fan clutch went out. A $1300 repair. Good timing. This is the second vehicle in a row from Chevy that I have had serious issues with. No more Chevys for me!!!

28th Mar 2009, 14:52

I own a 2005 Trailblazer with 65000 miles as of March of 2009. The only problem that I have had is the water pump started making a noise, and I had it replaced costing about 225.00. I really love my Trailblazer, but wish that it would get better gas mileage, it averages about 17 miles per gallon. I do recommend this vehicle...

29th Jan 2011, 21:29

I have a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer. I've replaced the fan clutch, alternator, and now at 110,000 miles, just replaced the front hub bearing assemblies, and thinking the water pump is getting ready to blow; it makes a gurgling noise.