2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS 4.2 - I 6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.2 - I 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Love my trailblazer

Faults:

Nothing, its new.

General Comments:

This is not my first 4x4. I have had 3 Jeep cj's, a Grand Wagoneer, a K5 Blazer, a Nissan 4x4 pick up, a Cherokee, and most recently a Grand Cherokee, so when it comes to trucks, not soccer mom suv's, I know what I am talking about. This is the most comfortable and powerful (yea even has the K 5 beat) 4x4 I have ever had. Although I was sad when I traded the GC, I have no regrets. the trailblazer is a refined, sensible sized 4 wheeler. It probably won't be as nimble off road and aggressive in the deep snow as a Jeep, but the trade off for civility and comfort is worth it. It's new and pretty, and I am still in awe of it. I test drove the big Suburbans, who needs a tank like that. The mileage is getting better as I drive, averaging 18 mpg mixed city / hwy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 16:20

The OE tires on this vehicle hinder its on and off road performance, I swapped out the Goodyear ST s for a better set of All Terrain tires, the vehicle came to life. Pleasant surprise.

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT vortec straight 6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission vortec straight 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

It's like a dream compared to my piece of junk Toyota

Faults:

The material on one of the leather seats in back came loose, a very minor fix.

General Comments:

This vehicle is soooo nice.

It is such a joy to drive. It's so luxurious I'd rather have it than a luxury car.

Six cylinder has more power than many V-8s.

Haven't owned for long but I can't help but totally love it already.

The smooth power, handling, and design are as good or better than anything else out there yet it cost less than most for complete luxury including heated leather memory all way power seats, radio controls on steering wheel, xm radio, luxury package with sunroof.

Completely everything w/Onstar all for $28K. Try and buy a comparable Japanese SUV for that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2005

14th Nov 2005, 14:20

In my lifetime I have owned both ToyotaS and ChevroletS. All were brand new from the dealer. Chevrolets have been much better based upon the number of repairs for the number of miles. I cannot understand the obvious over rating of Toyota. I have never owned one I could honestly say was a good car so I will never purchase one again. The dealer does not even know how to properly repair them. Mine sits with a starter system that needs re-engineering to make it right because Toyota wouldn't do it to start with. Chevrolet (and just about everyone else) has enough sense to use a solenoid switch, but not Toyoooooota! Owe what a feeling : (

I can understand how Infiniti would have great ratings because they make great cars. It is no wonder why the Toyota Indy race car says "Toyota Powered" but has an Infiniti engine in it. Even Toyota knows they make junk. None of their engines have ever had a decent cylinder head that will last more than 100K. They recall the 6 cylinder, but the four - they ignore! (Mine 22RE needed rebuilding twice before 200K which it never made it to) Way Too many problems with Toyota to mention. I KNOW - believe me! I have gone back to Chevrolet and will never look back. I'm no dealer, but most of the reviews for Toyota are obviously written by them.

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS Vortec 4.2 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Vortec 4.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance100 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I should have bought one before now

Faults:

Brand new vehicle. No problems at this point.

General Comments:

The Trailblazer promptly responds to the demands of the accelerator pedal, and has more than enough power.

Out of all the mid-size SUVs that I test drove, the Trailblazer offered the best ride-comfy seats and little to no road noise can be heard, making for a quiet trip.

The Trailblazer has plenty of room for either a single person, or the budding family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2005

7th Feb 2007, 15:04

I purchased a new 2004 TB EXT V8 (North Face Edition) for $9,000 under the $42,000 list price (including $5,000 rebate). After 50,000 miles I have had just a few minor problems that were promptly fixed by the dealer. I remain amazed at the versatility of this vehicle. I am not aware of another SUV that will hold a 4x8 sheet of plywood (or anything else) entirely within the vehicle!

If there is any fault to be assiged, it is GM's tendency to rush a small, underpowered model into production (thereby garnering a poor reputation) before upsizing it with more power and fixing the early production problems. An earlier example of this was the Astro minivan (does anyone remember the Vega?). My advice is to look for a 2004 or newer TB EXT with the V8 engine.

7th Feb 2007, 17:27

I love my new Trailblazer with Onstar. I am not a big fan of extended models, but love it as an SS. I would go to a Suburban if I wanted a bigger model. I drove mine to work today turned on the AWD and ran fine on the ice and snow. I also have a new Silverado SS. A really sharp pair and I have a tough time choosing what to drive to work each day.

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS EXT L-6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission L-6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance4100 miles
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

The problem with the seat is a terrible, cheap design flaw

Faults:

The plastic seat moldings on the driver and passenger seats had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The seat moldings are located on the side of the seats facing the doors. This is where the levers for adjusting seat positions are located. The plastic moldings are attached to the metal seat frame with one screw which passes through a three inch plastic arm. Getting in and out of the vehicle causes the plastic molding to shift up and down with the weight of the person. Over a short amount of time, the plastic arm cracks in two. Replacement of the entire molding is the only solution.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th March, 2005

19th Mar 2005, 18:58

The reason that you will not buy another car from this manufacturer is because of the seats??

Bad excuse..

19th Mar 2005, 20:29

What a complete review... if all you were interested in is information about the seat moldings!

12th Apr 2005, 11:02

We have owned this vehicle for 10 months now. Longest trip was from Ohio to North Carolina and back. Absolutely incredible car. Not one glitch or problem since we bought new (2004). Best SUV for the money, in our opinion. We have the 4.2L six, which gives great performance and decent mileage.

This car is an LT and is equipped with leather, onstar and XM Radio.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 11 reviews