1995 Chrysler Concorde 3.5 liter V6 from North America


I've had transmission problems ever since we got this car. I took back to dealer to fix. Fixes it then a year later it starts slipping again. I have put a lot of money in. It's a nice looking car and comfortable. Only problem is the transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2002

1995 Chrysler Concorde 3.5 liter V6 from North America


Best looking, worst running car on the market


The first of many problems started with the wheel bearing needing to be replaced.

Shortly after that came the transmission problems. It started out slipping, and ended up needing replaced at the tune of $1800.00.

Just when the car was running good again, for some reason unknown to me or the mechanic, the car overheated and blew the engine. That was another $1,800.00 shop bill. We replaced it with a used engine we purchased, with around 48,000 miles on it. Needless to say, that engine only lasted about three months before the same thing happened.

Now we have a beautiful car with a new transmission, that by the way has also started slipping, that is in need of more engine repair, or replacement.

General Comments:

In general the car is an aw some looking, driving, and riding car, if we could only keep it running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2002

25th Jul 2007, 21:33

Having owned a 1995 Concorde myself, and knowing several people that owned the first generation Dodge Intrepid with little/no issues with them, I would say that if you mechanic is charging you that amount of money then the parts are failing, I would be looking into the business dealings of that mechanic, or the place you are purchasing parts from. Where I live a legitimate mechanic would begin to question the frequency of those issues.

1995 Chrysler Concorde 3.3 from North America


One of the most reliable and economical cars I have owned


All I have done is change oil every 5000kms and one set of new tires.

General Comments:

I have no qualms about filling it up with gas and heading out on a trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2002

13th Dec 2003, 19:01

I drive one of these too, with a 3.3 and it provides surprising gas mileage for a big 3600 lb car.

24th Apr 2010, 08:45

Hi, I have owned my Concorde since approx 2002. The car is a 95 and has been a God send. It has taking me safely from Thunder Bay Ont to Vancouver Island for close to 8 years. I do my best to keep her in good condition, and plan on running her for another 8 years safely. (only problem is the Ontario RUST) is beginning to pop out in some areas :(

She is a good quality car, great on fuel... Keeps me happy.

Happy defensive driving out there women... some men like taking up all the road... time to take out the Harley for a while... :)

Keep safe...

1995 Chrysler Concorde LXi 3.5 V-6 from North America


The best automotive move I have ever made


When I bought the car the thermostat was bad, but it was immediately replaced by the dealer. I had the car back in well under an hour.

General Comments:

This car's performance, reliability, and comfort surprised me from the very beginning and continues to do so fairly frequently, even 110,095 miles later.

Despite numerous ominous reports from friends and family, I have found this car to be the best that I have ever owned. With normal maintenance it has aged far better than even the Toyota Camry which I owned previously.

I honestly plan to drive this car into the ground. I like it that much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2001

18th Mar 2004, 16:39

I aggree with you, it is one of the best chrysler sedans.

1995 Chrysler Concorde from North America


It's a nice car when it's not in the shop


The air conditioning has had a problem every year. Most recently I had to repair a transducer switch for $232.00 just this week.

This was after replacing a blown engine ($5000) just last month. No explanation from Chrysler why this happened.

The transmission continues to "slip".

The front end parts had to be replaced, including struts, tie rods, stabilizer bar.

There have been many other repairs that I can't even recall.

General Comments:

The car rides nicely. However, every year since we have owned this car it has gone in for repairs. Especially for the air conditioning.

I would love for Consumer Reports to take a look at the repair record on this vehicle. Calling it a lemon is an understatement.

There is no way I would EVER buy another Chrysler. I am not alone on this. I have 4 other people that I work with that have Chrysler products that have the same problems. Two of them have the high end mini-vans. One is having the transmission replaced for the second time and he only has 55,000 miles on it. The other just traded his in with only 44,000 miles because he was tired of the repairs. He bought an Oldsmobile. The other traded in his Concorde because of all the air conditioning problems. He bought a Buick.

We just bought my daughter a car, no Chryslers, we bought a Ford Escape.

My previous car was a wonderful Toyota Celica that was put to rest after 212,000 miles with only 1 major repair.

I replaced the clutch at 112,000 miles.

Every time I call Chrysler customer service I tell them that I hope that they are recording my comments. You don't get any satisfaction from them and once some 20 year old on the other end of the phone tells you that they won't do anything, then you have no further recourse. I will admit that they covered some of the costs associated with the air conditioning because it was a known problem. But the inconvience of dealing with it every single year is so annoying. But when the engine went.. forget it, they wouldn't even discuss it. I take this car in every 3,000 to 4,000 miles for oil changes so I knew it wasn't that. They never could tell me what was wrong so I can only assume that it was somehow a faulty part. Bad enough that it had to happen over 200 miles from home and we had to have it towed.

No, never a Chrysler, never again. I would have bought a new car when the engine blew, but we had just bought the car for my daughter. Besides, my husband said we shouldn't have any problems now with the new engine. Of course, that was before the transducer switch on the air conditioning went.

What will be next.. who knows?

Thanks for letting me vent.

As a woman with a 1995 Concorde next to me at the gas station replied when I asked her how she liked her car "It's a nice car when it's not in the shop". My feelings exactly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

8th Oct 2002, 14:50

You know if you maintained your car and not go from reverse to drive without stopping, your car would not be in the condition it is in!

I own a 1995 Concorde. It has 134,000 miles on it. I have never had a problem with the motor or transmission. The ONLY thing I've had to replace on it the four years I have owned it was the EGR valve, which was fixed before I took it home from the car lot, and the thermostat. A well- maintained car will be a great running car!