1998 Chrysler Concorde LXi 3.2 V6 from North America


The best deal on a beautiful luxury car


Shifter cable, power steering rack and pump were all replaced right before I bought the car.

It will probably need some axle parts soon. (My guess is around 300$)

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable and powerful car. I especially enjoy the fact that it is larger (and roomy, too) than 90% of the cars out there.

The exterior is remarkably beautiful.

It has some maintenance issues, but they are few and trivial compared to 1996 Chrysler Concorde that I also own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2004

1998 Chrysler Concorde LXi from North America


A very nice car to drive


Speed sensor broke at 120,000

Shifter cable seized and was replaced at 123,000

Front rotors warp; need replacement.

General Comments:

Generally, a very comfortable and reliable car.

3.6 engine is quiet and powerful; clunking noise at cold starts for a few seconds, though.

Changed oil every 5,000 Km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2003

1998 Chrysler Concorde LXI 3.2L from North America


Great looks, low maintenance until about 100K and body /paint still perfect


Front rotors were turned at 40,000.

Brakes were replaced at 114,000.

Belts were replaced at 105,000.

Rarely, but in the last two summers, hot weather only, the interior lights do not go off or come on while driving.

Hydraulic lifts on trunk no longer work.

General Comments:

This is, as Edmund's put it "the best looking sedan on the planet."

The car weighs well over 4,000 pounds, but has such a low drag coefficient that it gets 30 mpg highway.

After 114,000 miles, leather driver's seat still in great condition.

Car rides very smoothly, is steady in snow, first set of tires lasted 75,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2003

1998 Chrysler Concorde Lxi 3.2 V6 from North America


A very good affordable sport sedan


Regular maintenance on vehicle IE (brake pads{previous owner apparently didn't believe in replacing them},oil changes, and alignment) thou it still pulls to the left.

General Comments:

This car looked good on the car lot. It had some chipping from the 60000 miles it had on it. A hail storm made the insurance fix all that for me. Love the Infinity sound system put a JL sub in the cavernous trunk to supplement the quality. The interior is plush for a Chrysler it isn't a Cadillac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

1998 Chrysler Concorde LX from North America


Low performance


I spend more time trying to fix all my car problems that with my wife. I bought my 1998 Concorde with 98,000 miles. During the first 2 weeks the two back window motors stop working I had to replace them $300. At 107,000 miles I had to replace the left catalyst converter $700. At 108,000 miles I had to replace the brake pads, the boots were leaking, the positive and negative cables from the battery were corroded $600. At 109,000 miles the Tension pulley fell off, replacement $150. At 110,000 the one-radiator fans stop working leading to the compressor to overheat and stop working $300. At 112,000 miles had leaking oil pan gasket, seal replacement $120. At 114,000 the crankshaft pulley broke, replacement $80. At 115, 000 the Crankshaft and camshaft sensors stopped working, replacement $200. At 116,000 miles I was told there was oil buildup inside the motor, the oil pump was gone, replacement $700. Know the Trunk pistons will not keep trunk open, I have not replace this piston, replacement $60. More than a few times has it stalled on me and the check engine comes on periodically, I just got so tired of taking the car to the dealer so know I just disconnect the negative from the battery to reset the problem. I have taking the vehicle to the dealer to reprogram the PCM $150. The vehicle has left me in the road three times and the latest problem I cannot fix. After ride the car for 30 minutes and the motor is HOT I leave it for 15-20 minutes and the car stats to stall the pistons start misfiring. No one know what it is and I just learn to live with it. please E-mail me at gabher@excite.com.

General Comments:

It's like having a pretty girlfriend very High maintenance and low performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2003

11th Apr 2005, 22:06

I was reading this review, I got to say it sounds like my car exactly. I'd say that within 100miles of every problem you had, I had the same one. Only mine started to stall and misfire when it got hot at 108,000. I found that if I keep the Gas tank Above 1/2 and run fuel treatment every other tank I don't have it happen near as often. I've taken it to the dealership, shops, even tinkered with it myself... no luck. No one can tell me whats wrong. I've replaced the timeing belt, plugs, injectors, rings, valves, fuel pump. I mean I don't know what else to try. Still owe 2x what its worth so I don't want to give up and sell it at a huge loss, but I'm running outta options. As long as it runs, its great... but that's getting to be rare.

26th Apr 2010, 22:41

Try your cam sensor, and (change both) your crank sensor, and change your fuel filter... jbadgettsr@hotmail.com

27th Apr 2010, 14:06

I don't know why any one has complaints. We have a Concorde with 275,000 miles. Never had a problem, and it is so comfortable you can ride all day and not get sore. We have always used Chryslers and they have always been great vehicles.