Chrysler Conquest Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1989 Chrysler Conquest TSI 2.6 turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance43500 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Sedan

Summary:

Very unique and sporty

Faults:

There has been absolutely nothing wrong with the car. I have only had it since May of 08 though. I put about 300 miles on it this Summer.

General Comments:

I saw this car 10 years ago when I was 18. I worked on a golf course and a co-worker who was retired drove it into work one day. He had bought it brand new and it still looked like he just drove it home off the lot. I was in love with it right there. I was broke at the time so I called him 10 years later and it still only had 43,000 miles on it. He was reluctant, but sold me the car for $5400 dollars. He has the original sticker off the car showing it had a price of $20890 back when he bought it.

It is in mint condition, still looks brand new. He took exceptional care of it and I plan to do the same.

This car is extremely fun to drive and even better to just look at. I have had a few people offer to buy it off of me, but would never sell it. It wasn't as fast as thought it would be, but handles so well that you can get going pretty well on winding roads.

If you see one for sale, I would buy right away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2008

10th Oct 2008, 09:25

I gave it all I could this last weekend and could only get it up to 130. It seems like I can't get any boost past 8 on the gage though. I'm not sure why!

22nd Jul 2009, 16:46

You should check the turbo and make sure it's spooling right. You should see 12 psi of boost; have it pulled and cleaned, and check all oil lines. Remember the turbo waste gate as well may have road debris and grime in it, so also check and clean that.

Don't forget, let it warm up 2 minutes before driving it, and 2 minutes before shutting down. What this does is make sure that the turbo has plenty of time to be oiled and cooled down. Thanks, call if you wish and still have the car my name is Paul. Hope to hear from you 765 524 7573.

29th Sep 2011, 13:12

I had a 1989 metallic blue Conquest brand new when I was 22... Man, did I love that car.

1987 Chrysler Conquest Rally 2.6L I4 Intercooled turbo from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.6L I4 Intercooled turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87200 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles

Summary:

My favorite sports car by far

Faults:

The only issue that I have had with my Conquest was the transmission going out at about 110,000k.

General Comments:

Incredible performance from a vehicle that is largely unknown to most people out there.

My 87 Conquest was the first car that I ever owned, and after having 12, since, I still own her, and she is by far my favorite car yet. I love the Conquest even more than my 94 Cobra, which I had nearly $7gs invested into.

In fact, I just purchased my second Conquest a month ago: an 86 TSI Rally. I live in Iowa, and drove all the way to Tennessee to check it out, and then hired a transport to bring it back to my place, where restoration is set to begin in August of 2008.

If anyone is thinking of purchasing a Conquest, whether it be for daily driving, or modifying for various sporting events, the Conquest can deliver, and it gets a 10+ from me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2008

1988 Chrysler Conquest TSI 2.6L turbo from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.6L turbo Automatic
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Very quick and a good car to work with

Faults:

The turbo just went in it, but is easily replaceable; I just don't have the time or money now.

The underbody is a little rusted, but I have another half of the car that has no rust on it that can be welded in place of that other half with rust on it.

The seats have a little wear on it, but not too bad.

The one fog light lens is broken, the center link rod I believe has to be replaced, but is still drivable.

General Comments:

The engine has been rebuilt and has roughly 7000 miles on it, so it is almost brand new.

With the turbo working, it is very quick and handles very well.

Overall a nice car that needs a little work and will be very beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2008

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews