Chrysler Cordoba Reviews

1983 Chrysler Cordoba 5.2 318 cid from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.2 318 cid Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance66700 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

It gives any T-Bird I had and a Lincoln a run for their money

Faults:

Other than exhaust replacement and odds and ends things, my Cordoba is one of the best cars I ever owned. It rides as nice as any Thunderbird I owned, maybe a little better. It's a very comfortable car.

General Comments:

My Cordoba is a very comfortable riding and quiet car. The seats are like recliners, and it just cruises down the highway. It's an enjoyable and comfortable car, and it's something that car companies have forgotten.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2009

2nd Sep 2012, 20:39

Is your exhaust high performance? If so, where did you find it? Did you need to custom order it?

1976 Chrysler Cordoba 360 from North America

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1988
Engine and transmission 360 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Pinto

Summary:

Troublesome, comfortable and fast

Faults:

Most everything except the internal engine parts and rear end at one time or another.

Carburetor (more than once).

Transmission.

Ball joints (more than once).

Tie rod ends.

K frame sagged making a proper alignment near the end difficult to impossible.

Air conditioning evaporator core.

General Comments:

I bought this car when I was young and dumb, spent large piles of money on repairs, totaled it while in the USN, re-built the car and drove it for several more years until it was totaled for a second and last time (last time was not my fault).

On the plus side the car was very fast (note the young and dumb comment above); while I was in the service in my late teens to early 20's I drove this car all over the country and rarely below 100 MPH, this car handled and rode at 100 MPH like most cars do at 60. Car also got amazingly good gas mileage at high speeds, 18 MPG was common on trips up to 750 miles at a stretch.

I did put a high performance front sway bar on the car soon after I bought it, which helped stability considerably. The car came from the factory with a rear sway bar.

Overall a very troublesome and expensive car to own, but very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2009

5th Jul 2009, 06:10

Odd that you had so much trouble with replacing suspension components. We still have a 1975 Dodge Charger SE with all the original parts (bought new and now has 99,000 original miles) and it still rides like a dream. I suppose driving yours constantly at +100 mph might have worn a few things out more quickly.

6th Jul 2009, 20:37

That is what my mechanic told me for the second set of ball joints I went through on the Cordoba; the car was simply not built to be driven at sustained speeds of 100 MPH+.

And I must admit that the three Chrysler New Yorkers I owned after the Cordoba, which under the sheet metal were the same car, did not suffer suspension failures in over 200,000+ miles. One difference was I did not drive the New Yorkers anywhere nearly as fast as the Cordoba, so the evidence points at operator abuse.

Lane.

1979 Chrysler Cordoba 360 and 318 from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 360 and 318 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles

Summary:

Best vehicles I have ever owned in both looks and performance!

Faults:

In all of the years that I have had these two cars, I have had to do very little maintenance on them. Mostly wear and tear for being so old, but overall they have been more than fantastic!

I drove the 360 from Washington State to Minnesota, then from Minnesota to Texas, just to drive it all the way from Texas back to Minnesota, and I didn't have one problem the whole way! This was in the last two years it went all those miles.

Both of these vehicles are 1979's, and for the two of them I have spent less than 1,000 in parts and maintenance for BOTH since I bought them.

Great vehicles; would drive them forever if they can keep up!

I bought them both originally for $400.00 and would never give them up. Sorry guys, not even to save the world!

I will say that I did have a timing belt stretch in both of them, which is a common problem for these vehicles, but if you have a mechanical background, nearly everything besides an engine or transmission on these cars can be done for less than $100.00. CHEAP PARTS!

Best cars I have ever owned hands down! Chrysler deserves a cookie for making these luxurious beauties.

General Comments:

Best vehicle I have ever owned. If you can find one you are one lucky soul. I was fortunate enough to get two of them, and would travel across the country if I knew someone was selling for cheap. I love to restore vehicles that deserve it :D.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2008

15th Apr 2008, 11:12

No reason to be so sarcastic about the "timing belt" faux pas, the rest of his review was totally valid. My family still has the 1975 Charger (nameplate alternate of the Cordoba) that my dad bought new, and it's still one of the quietest, smoothest cars on the road. The 318 has a good chance of running practically forever.

19th Nov 2009, 23:42

I wouldn't say Cordoba's aren't memorable. When I mention my Cordoba to people they always recall the styling and the commercials. At the time Chrysler needed a high selling car and the Cordoba was it.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews