Chrysler Crossfire Reviews

2005 Chrysler Crossfire 3.2 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance61600 miles
Previous carPeugeot 307

Summary:

This is a fast and smooth car, with bags of style and exclusivity!

Faults:

Headlight filled with water due to a crack in the rear of the unit.

Alternator bearings went, A/C compressor unit died.

Rear suspension bush needed replacing.

General Comments:

The car drives superbly; a great mix of comfort cruising and real fast performance.

Generally speaking, a very underrated sports car. Available for under 4k now.

I had a few expensive parts that needed updating, but once done, it was perfect.

Beautiful car to own, very happy I purchased it.

One thing to mention is the chassis seemed too rigid to me, and consequently did creak on the odd sharp turn.

Also check out that it's had a major service at 60k, as the car does need this.

Overall, a great way to own a sports car, that's fast, fun and comparatively cheap to purchase.

Only thing I would have changed is to purchase a year warranty from the companies out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th November, 2012

22nd Mar 2013, 14:59

What sort of major work?

2005 Chrysler Crossfire Base Convertible 3.2L SOHC V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.2L SOHC V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance49500 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Very cool little car

Faults:

- Steering stabilizer faulty.

- Engine makes a valve ticking noise.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable. However, I don't drive it too often because I can barely see out the windshield, because I'm too tall for the car. With the convertible top up, you might as well get used to using your side mirrors, because the tiny window in the rear is useless.

I've been rear ended in the car while sitting at a light. It also got vandalized twice. Afterward, the car wash door came down and dented my hood. Then, a computer monitor got dropped on the driver's fender. The interior is Mercedes-Benz like, but without leather in the base package.

The "Limited" model comes with leather, heated seats, and a larger stereo system. However, I prefer the base package, since it has the 6-speed manual transmission and cloth seats. I don't have the cup holder option, so I don't expect to have a can of soda in the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2012

2007 Chrysler Crossfire Base 3.2L V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Overall a great sports car for the money, if you love the looks

Faults:

Paint on windshield surround trim started to discolor. Had to replace it under warranty.

Rear hatch rattling. Fix was simple, wrapping the rear hatch latch with a bit of rubber tape. Now, it's dead solid and quiet.

General Comments:

This car's power is on the order of an RX8, Audi TT, original 350z, or Z4.

I've taken it road-racing at Brainerd International Raceway. It took turns very well (90mph on a flat constant right-hander aka "Turn 2" on street tires) - braking was very good with very little to no fade. The car ran great through about 4 hours of track time. 8.5 qts of engine oil keeps the car cool.

Comfort is fairly good. It's bigger on the inside than a Miata or an S2000, about the same size as a 350Z. Seats are firm, "short" shifter is in the right place. The ride is very smooth and quiet, but you will feel any ripples in the road due to the massive tires and big wheels.

AFAIK, this car is very reliable, nothing has gone wrong with it mechanically (then again I haven't driven it that often.) It's my weekend car.

Quite beautiful to look at. Fun little popup spoiler. Good to drive 300+ miles in a single sitting. The miles just melt away.

Weaknesses: The stereo is pretty weak and the front speakers should probably be replaced if you're an audiophile. Also, this car is a cop-magnet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2009

25th Aug 2009, 09:04

I really like the car, but it does eat tires. I will only get about 15000 miles on my rear tires; Goodyear Eagle tires at 450 dollars per set. This is my only complaint.

24th Sep 2009, 11:15

Regarding tires - I only have 6700 miles on it in the 2 years I've owned it, so thanks for the heads up :)

22nd Dec 2010, 23:09

My reasoning for buying a Crossfire was the important components such as the drive train were mercedes manufactured. I was sorry to hear that the body maker Karmann went under with the hard economic times.

The unique body styling mated with the Mercedes under pan really is a big selling point. I expect years of happy driving, and nobody will make another sports car that looks like the Crossfire.

The timing for such a car wasn't the greatest. I feel very lucky to own one. So many for sale now with a very reasonable asking price. Really a very good bang for the buck. I get 27 mpg, and if you put your foot down, it has more than enough punch. A claimed 150 mph top speed is nothing to sneeze at.

A true classic to be. I love just staring at it, as does my wife. His and hers Crossfires are in the future. We are looking at a roadster next to complement the coupe.

Owning many Mercedes sedans over the years, how could we say no to a rare car made during the Daimler Chrysler era. We recommend these sweet cars to anyone who wants something unique and very trouble free.

23rd Dec 2010, 09:45

"A claimed 150 mph top speed is nothing to sneeze at."

Top speed is useless in the U.S. where 65 is tops for most states. These cars are mediocre at off the line performance, which is more of a useful thing in sports cars.

12th May 2012, 00:08

Off the line performance doesn't work for sports cars, and that's not what they're geared for anyway. How many sports cars you ever see at a drag strip? Not very many, for obvious reasons.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews