2005 Chrysler Crossfire Coupe from UK and Ireland - Comments

8th Apr 2007, 18:03

Just came across this and thought I'd inject my 2 cents worth. I love the car, since it started showing up at dealerships and on the road. Mine is Alabaster white with the charcoal and cedar interior. The wide use of plastic is annoying, but I bought it used with a mere 12,000 miles on it. In the 3 days that I have had it, the love affair continues and I don't expect it to change any time soon. I have owned and driven many sports cars in my 61 years on this earth and have found none more agile and responsive. The car is well put together and is a dream to drive. If anyone has serious thoughts about buying one and would like a recomemndation, here it is. I rate this car a 10 out of ten.

10th Aug 2007, 18:06

Paying this much money for a Chrysler and not even ONE cup holder? You must be kidding me.

8th Sep 2007, 14:04

You don't buy a car like this for the cup holders!

5th Oct 2007, 01:33

Paying this much money for a Mercedes engine and driveline? You must be kidding me.

P.s. there's a cup holder on the console.

17th Dec 2008, 10:44

I've put about 35K miles on my 2005 Crossfire, and have few complaints. It's a simple, rugged car with amazing handling at all speeds. The Mercedes drivetrain is smooth and based on its durability in other cars, I would expect no big problems going another 100K miles. Acceleration is brisk when pressed but the transmission sometimes struggles to find the right gear for what I want to do.

A few minor post-warranty problems: 1) the ground clearance in the front is minimal--even short parking blocks will scrape the front spoiler; 2) at about 30K miles the small triangular rubber seal around the driver's window got loose and now makes a little noise at highway speeds; 3) right speaker rattles and may be blown; 4) headliner collapsed and had to be replaced (car is not garaged in the Miami sun) at 38k miles; and 5) headlight lenses have gotten a little cloudy but I haven't yet tried to take them out and clean. One major post-warranty problem--a piece got loose in the ignition lock and prevented the key from turning (car could not start). This was a major annoyance and only because we are very handy could it be fixed. Have no idea what a dealer would have charged--probably would have replaced the whole thing and that would have been very pricey. Keys are over $100 each after programming.

I can't emphasize the grip and handling of this car enough. The ride is stiff, but despite the short wheelbase it tracks as if on rails even over rough highway. Brakes are excellent too. The car is tiny inside, and you have to choose between reclining the seatback and stretching out long legs. People over 6'3" should not own this car (probably not even 6'). People with waist sizes over 38 should not own this car. Trunk has a small opening but holds a surprising amount of stuff (well enough for a golf weekend for 2). Interior quality is good, but as noted in other posts there is a massive amount of plastic. I would recommend this car but keep in mind it's a cool looking and great handling 2-seater, not a lux cruiser.

12th Mar 2009, 11:47

I don't own one, but I have a friend who does, and I can tell you from experience that the car handles the same at 31mph as it does at 131mph. You can weave through traffic on the freeway like no other, and the compact size helps you get through the tight spots. The engine sounds nice when you rev it up, but for city driving it has a quiet purr. Either way, it definitely turns heads as there aren't that many people who have them.

8th Aug 2009, 16:02

My 2005 is a great car. And to pay $35,000.00 it better have a cup holder. However I have talked too many Crossfire owners as well as dealerships and none of their cup holders work properly. They stay in the up position all the time and are generally worthless.

3rd Feb 2010, 17:39

Bought a 2005 Limited convertible with only 8k on it for $18,000.. and consider it a steal when compared to the original price when new (39,000)!

Echoing the other comments.. this thing really handles wonderfully.. and has just enough pep to get you into trouble!

Brake dust is a real bother.. doesn't take long to really look bad... but with the excellent braking I'm not gonna complain too much.

Almost bought a Saturn Sky before finding this.. and boy am I glad I didn't. Don't really think the "wing" is much more than a novelty.

Overall.. if you can find one of these.. buy it! A head turner for sure.. and a nice bang for the buck when compared to similar vehicles.

30th Nov 2010, 14:17

I have a 2005 Crossfire. I can't believe in nearly every review the biggest complaint is the lack of a cup holder. Well there is a cup holder in the console, albeit a nearly useless one.

The Crossfire is a special car to me. Owning many a Mercedes Benz, I'm pleased to have a Mercedes again. The fact that is badged as a Chrysler is only a mild deflation in ownership pride.

My biggest complaint is the very thick wall that divides the rear cargo compartment from the passenger compartment. It could be much thinner, allowing the seats to go back 2 more inches. I'm 6'3", and two more inches would be perfect as my left shin rubs pretty hard on the lower dash pad (which could also be much thinner there).

The legroom could have been made much better. They sure could have taken a look at their design to maximize inner comfort for taller people. I don't want to butcher the interior to do what Chrysler could have done in the final design phase. It is customizable to do this, but would be a chore indeed.

I love the car other than that. My wife adores it. It has future collector car appeal.

Certain road surfaces will really diminish the taut suspension.

The engine is smooth and a proven Mercedes power plant. Most wouldn't mind another 35 hp. But it is what it is.

Underpowered cars generally last longer. It's the torque that gets you moving without having to over rev the engine to get up to speed. The Chrysler Crossfire is just about right.

1st Dec 2010, 08:48

"Underpowered cars generally last longer."

Really? An overworked engine would last longer than an adequately powered one that doesn't labor as much to move the car? How would this be possible?

The Crossfire was a pretty cool car, but needed more sport to be a great car. They also should have offered a manual version. I had a Saab 92X Aero, and I was turning at a light onto a 4 lane road. Well this nice looking blond was in her Crossfire behind me, and she immediately switched to the left lane as she was turning and floored it to "blow me away"... Needless to say, I totally lost her, and she did the lane change of shame to get in behind me and turn right at the next light. She learned just how (not) sporty her Crossfire really was when she got wasted by a compact stationwagon, albeit a turbo AWD one! Too funny.