Chrysler Dynasty Reviews

1991 Chrysler Dynasty 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance169000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Comfortable, dependable

Faults:

Absolutely nothing...

General Comments:

Great car. Very dependable, no problems.

Was very comfortable, very smooth and quiet. Lots of nice options.

Huge trunk, tons of leg room.

Body on the car was in great shape. Not a mark on it (besides for a ding made after purchase). Interior was nicely complimented, very plush.

3.3 V6 had plenty of power and was smooth, car was very solid overall.

Front wheel drive made it handle fairly well in snow.

A great car overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2007

1992 Chrysler Dynasty 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Most recent distance188000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

Very quick, reliable and sexy

Faults:

Transmission.

Fuel pump.

Serpentine belt and tensioner.

General Comments:

The 3.3L V6 is a very powerful and reliable engine.

The car accelerates like a dream and loves to squeal the tires (even when I'm not trying to).

The car is very fast.

The interior is very comfortable, roomy, luxurious and the exterior is very "macho".

The car handles and rides well.

My car is in mint shape for it's age and runs like a dream. I have had no major problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2006

18th Apr 2006, 18:46

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I used to own a 1990 Chevy Corsica LTZ and I thought it was the sexiest thing since Heidi Klum.

21st Mar 2007, 20:23

Tough? yes...Sexy? umm, well, compared to what's on the road today, not really. Maybe in its own "Mr.Rogers" kind of way. Transmissions were a little on the "if-y" side, but other than that, these cars were and still are tanks. They're like a plush, full size k-car. Boxy, tough, dependable, yet comfortable. Say what you want about Chrysler all you haters, but when you put 500kms on a car, and treat it like the child you never loved, that's a car. Ran these things until everything, but the wheels were knocked off (or broke, or fell off due to neglect) and did it all while hauling a small trailer no less, and it still asked for more. Chrysler made some cars that were so tough, it was almost disturbing. Luv them.

19th Dec 2009, 22:47

I love this car!!! I bought mine with 101000kms in 2007 and now it has 417000kms on it. Nothing major has gone on it. It still runs the way I bought it.

This car is a tank, have hit a deer with it, and only knocked out the drivers corner light and cracked the bumper!!! It's also a mountain goat in the winter, it hasn't gotten stuck in even the worst of road conditions.

I will not buy another car until this one completely calls it quits, but it doesn't seem like it going to happen anytime soon!

1991 Chrysler Dynasty 3.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired222000 kilometres
Most recent distance232000 kilometres
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Good, reliable car

Faults:

Muffler rusted out.

Battery cable clamps replaced.

Rocker panels, rear wheel arches, lower rear quarter panels,replaced, rear axle, front floors, and door skins needed to be patched.

Rear bumper rebar was rotted out and was replaced

Changed the engine oil, filter, plugs and wires.

Lines on fuel pump rotted off.

Left front strut was shot.

A/C not working (typical for MOPARs)

New front tires.

General Comments:

I bought this car almost 2 years ago and have been driving it for 14 months now. I paid $150 and put another $700 into it to get it on the road. So far it has been very reliable and I am not afraid to take it anywhere. It's a real sleeper and is quick when you need it to be. I wish I would take better care of it because I knew if I did it would last another 5 years. I still see a lot of Dynastys still on the road today (2006) because they are excellent cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

17th Feb 2006, 19:30

If you ever have any work done on the transmission, and I'm willing to bet you will someday, make absolutely sure the mechanic uses nothing but fluid rated Chrysler ATF+3. Use of any other fluid, including those labeled multi-vehicle, will cause rough shifting and other transmission problems and will eventually lead to transmission failure.

11th Oct 2007, 16:20

Transmission problems are common with Dynasty's, factory defect.

The only problem with ours is it has compression issues with the engine.

29th Mar 2010, 03:52

In response to a comment made about using the correct transmission fluid specifically designed for Chrysler vehicles. I'd like to just say that I was having issue's with my transmission until after I put in a bottle of Trans Medic into it over a month ago. And so far it has been running just fine. It seems like the power it had is just about back to where it should be. It shifts just fine, and overall it seemed to do the trick.

However, before applying a bottle of Trans Medic to the transmission fluid, it was not shifting properly, nor would it run right. So my thought on that is that yes, most definitely, when having work done on the transmission, the fluid in the transmission will have to be drained out, and yes, that is when it's most important to use the proper fluid. But until then, I would highly recommend trying a bottle or two of Trans Medic first; that is when you're having transmission troubles. Like they recommend on the bottle, you should use up two bottles, and if that doesn't help to solve the problem, then it's time to see your local mechanic.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 10 reviews