1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue V8 from North America

Summary:

This is the real deal!!!

Faults:

Had to change fuel pump and battery.

Paint is coming off the rear panel.

General Comments:

I am 61 years old had about 25 cars in my lifetime, and this is the best; no others come even close.

This car is 21 years old and no rust.

To this date 08/23/09, it's running like a charm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2009

1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 318 from North America

Summary:

Looks nice, runs pretty bad, but to nice to give up on

Faults:

The engine makes strange sounds all the time.

The transmission seems to struggle to get past 26 mph.

The hood is blistered.

General Comments:

I really like my car, however it uses oil.

The transmission is going although I try to hang on to hope.

The engine sound like a washing machine a lot.

Smooth riding on the highway.

Looks real nice, black and majestic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2004

3rd Feb 2005, 11:14

I have a 88 5th Ave. It struggles past 26 mph because it needs a tune up, and the computer needs to be fixed. Same thing happened to me, now it runs great. Mine has 132 k on it and it runs like new. Last 318 put in a car, great engine.

30th Apr 2005, 20:12

Sounds like your car is a lot like mine. all the same problems. Except I have one more!!! Please if you would be able to help.. My fifth ave. wanted to kill me the other day. The gas pedal actually doesn't pop right back, and I feel it pop me in the foot after I take my foot off. it kept going faster and faster even with my foot off. nothing helped ended up putting on the brake as best I could. No one seems to know what to do??? snowflakes_7@hotmail.com Thanks, Nan.

21st Jul 2008, 15:51

Try changing your transmission fluid and the filter. That should help it out a lot. It's pretty cheap; you can get the filter and fluid at any parts store.

3rd May 2014, 06:33

If you are having problems that you could have fixed and haven't, and are complaining about the car, you shouldn't be writing a review.

1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue from North America

Summary:

Great luxury car!

Faults:

Fuel pump went bad.

Carburetor is starting to fail.

Antenna gets stuck and will not go up sometimes.

Pick up is not the greatest.

Car began stalling and dying out at around 91,000 miles.

Air conditioning is broken.

Paint is rusted out and peeling.

General Comments:

Not the greatest acceleration wise, but all in all the car has been good to me.

It runs very good and has a really smooth ride!

The leather interior is one of the most comfortable I have ever driven in.

Despite the looks of the outside of my rusty car, it has been a great first car for me. It has an extremely smooth ride. Sometimes my foot gets carried away on the gas pedal because you don't realize how fast you're going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2004

10th Jun 2006, 20:16

I had an '87 'Fifth with the leather interior too, I was forced to part with it about 4 weeks ago and miss the couch like seats and a higher grade of leather then you'll find in any car made today! RIP 1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 7/87-5/06

Deeply Missed.

1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 318 V8 from North America

Summary:

I'd rather have a hemi

Faults:

I changed the gas tank, valve cover gaskets.

I am currently changing the transmission and heater core and hoses.

General Comments:

This car has pretty good acceleration and the handling is pretty good. It gets horrible gas mileage. It is really comfortable and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2002

10th Jun 2006, 20:31

It gets good gas mileage for a V-8!

1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2 liter V8 from North America

Summary:

I'm cruising in style

Faults:

I had to replace the oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is so big and comfortable.

It has a great cornering ability for a car of it's size.

The drive train is very smooth.

This car is great on the highway. It is a lot quicker than I would have thought at high speeds.

I think that this car is the best and most classy looking luxury car in it's era.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2001