1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue from North America


Great luxury car!


Fuel pump went bad.

Carburetor is starting to fail.

Antenna gets stuck and will not go up sometimes.

Pick up is not the greatest.

Car began stalling and dying out at around 91,000 miles.

Air conditioning is broken.

Paint is rusted out and peeling.

General Comments:

Not the greatest acceleration wise, but all in all the car has been good to me.

It runs very good and has a really smooth ride!

The leather interior is one of the most comfortable I have ever driven in.

Despite the looks of the outside of my rusty car, it has been a great first car for me. It has an extremely smooth ride. Sometimes my foot gets carried away on the gas pedal because you don't realize how fast you're going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2004

10th Jun 2006, 20:16

I had an '87 'Fifth with the leather interior too, I was forced to part with it about 4 weeks ago and miss the couch like seats and a higher grade of leather then you'll find in any car made today! RIP 1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 7/87-5/06

Deeply Missed.

1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 318 V8 from North America


I'd rather have a hemi


I changed the gas tank, valve cover gaskets.

I am currently changing the transmission and heater core and hoses.

General Comments:

This car has pretty good acceleration and the handling is pretty good. It gets horrible gas mileage. It is really comfortable and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2002

10th Jun 2006, 20:31

It gets good gas mileage for a V-8!

1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2 liter V8 from North America


I'm cruising in style


I had to replace the oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is so big and comfortable.

It has a great cornering ability for a car of it's size.

The drive train is very smooth.

This car is great on the highway. It is a lot quicker than I would have thought at high speeds.

I think that this car is the best and most classy looking luxury car in it's era.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 318 from North America


This is one damn fine automobile!


The brakes went out one time. I had to replace everything except the booster.

Currently I am having a problem with it stalling once the car is warmed up and can't seem to pinpoint the problem. I have replaced everything in the fuel system except the tank and the fuel lines.

General Comments:

I love this car and would spend 10 times its value to keep it going. My wife thinks I'm nuts but this car has it all, comfort, room to breathe, style, and everything that needs to be fixed is easy to get to.

If I ever do get rid of this car, it's gonna be hard to find one this well put together. I mean, screw ergonomics, I like having to reach for the controls. That just means I've got plenty of room to... oh well, you get my point!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

2nd Oct 2001, 18:47

Stalling problem is the ignition controller mounted on the air cleaner, it gets hot, warps, and creates an intermittent connection on the PCB. Change to a direct connection 5 pin Mopar ignition box, you will not be disappointed with the increased performance.

8th Aug 2002, 00:12

My 89 Fifth Avenue Used to do it all the time. I simply turned the idle up and little higher to keep the engine running a bit.

1988 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 4 door Sedan 318 V-8, heavy duty from North America


Styling and profiling - woo!!!!


The vehicle was last tagged in 1995 before I purchased it. The mileage is actual and the vehicle was garage kept. The car is in excellent condition. There were 2 prior owners.

Due to the sitting up and not being driven, I have done extensive inspection and overall maintenance on the car. After that I have found the car to be a pleasure to own. I am an avid auto buff and have owned approximately 100+ vehicles (no joke), it is a hobby of mine.

General Comments:

A pleasure to own, and owner consideration was taken when it was built by the manufacturer.

Extremely comfortable, very plush, plenty of horsepower for the size and gets a lot of looks for a luxury car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

17th Sep 2004, 15:15

Wanna buy a 1987 fifth avenue 85500 miles 300 $