2000 Chrysler Intrepid Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2000 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired264000 kilometres
Most recent distance264345 kilometres
Previous carChrysler BMW

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

I purchased this car from a private person, and within blocks of driving the engine light came on. I stopped at a service station and the guy there said, oh its probably nothing because it sounds good. 2 weeks later, and a new oxygen sensor, and it has to go to the shop today, I came on line and see that my car/lemon suffers the same problem listed many times here. Engine light on, oil light flickers on, and more money down the drain, and I am making a bank payment on this. Pretty sad that this company allows this mediocrity and then complains people don't buy their product. I would like to know if there is any way for me to make the company accountable, any suggestions/ for me or my mechanic? Thanks, please contact me at dardem90@hotmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2007

8th Aug 2010, 16:10

You bought this car at 264000 kms and expect no problems? Why did you think the person was selling it?

2000 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

The car is a lemon

Faults:

Engine is full of sludge, can't be repaired. Would appreciate information on Class Action Law Suit. Anyone with information, please email me at

denny626@sbcglobal.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2007

2000 Chrysler Intrepid from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

You must be rich if you buy this car

Faults:

Engine locked up at 62,000 miles. With regular oil changes.

Seats worn early.

General Comments:

Forced to put in rebuilt manufactured engine costing me $6,000! I've paid over $8,000 on this vehicle and still owe for the next 6 years!

Never had so many problems with a vehicle in my life. Do not recommend the 2.7 engine. There should be a claim made and consumers should be given their money back. I had to call 4 different places to even get a mechanic to work on a 2.7 engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2007

2000 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Great in every way except reliability, repairs now eating us up

Faults:

Rear door seals keep falling off.

Transmission repair of $1400. @ 56000 m.

Most of A/C system had to be replaced at 63000 m.

Body control module - $900. repair @ 67000 m.

Now engine is basically lunched at 69000 m. even when always had oil changes on standard schedule.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2006

2000 Chrysler Intrepid ES 6 cylinder. from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

This model year was the worst product Chrysler created in decades

Faults:

The engine in this vehicle has had to be replaced TWICE.

The electrical system is intermittent in some areas and non-functioning in others.

The door mouldings in the rear are droopy and ill-fitting.

The steering rack was a problem within the first year.

The front struts have needed to be replaced twice, so far.

General Comments:

This is, without a doubt, the worst vehicle I have ever owned - and I have owned many. I thought it would be as durable as the models preceding 2000, however my Intrepid has had more engines than tires! It has been a huge disappointment and my dealer has done nothing to ease my agony. Surely, a car manufacturer the size of Chrysler would see the good business sense in standing behind their products, even the "Edsels" they produce.

I have finally bought a REAL car. A BMW...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2006

2000 Chrysler Intrepid from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance131000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

This model year is a lemon

Faults:

Had to replace the engine at 90,000 Km's. When I contacted local Chrysler dealer was quoted between $6800 and $8300 to fix - big difference...

Had a rebuilt installed privately for $4500

Problems with sensors, seat bolts, shifter cable.

Previously owned a '96 Intrepid with larger engine and loved it... the 2000 looks nice and drives great, but way too many problems...

Nursed it along, but am in processing of getting rid of it and buying a Honda.

Would not recommend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th June, 2006

2000 Chrysler Intrepid ES 2.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Faults:

I had that problem with the interior lights keep flashing like crazy. Now that the battery sign keeps showing up, and whenever I use the signals or turn the radio on, the car would automatically shut off the engine (on the highway or in town driving, almost get me and my wife in an accident), so I went to the dealership to have it checked, they told me that the computer is the problem, needs a new one for $1000. I just got the car not even for 6 months. I will never get Chrysler again.

General Comments:

The car is good, I like it, but it's dangerous that Chrysler try to save a few bucks and put a defective computer in the car, that kills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2006

5th May 2006, 14:16

Very similar thing happened with my folks' 1993 Dodge Grand Caravan: The computer that controls the dashboard instruments and lights went out. Items affected: No windshield wipers. No lights at night. No lights on instrument panel. The instruments (odometer, speedometer, fuel gauge, ect.) don't work at all. Chrysler's charge for the computer module? $400.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews