2000 Chrysler Intrepid Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2000 Chrysler Intrepid from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

A nice roomy car, but with some problems

Faults:

Well when we got the car it wasn't in bad shape, but the two front power windows were making this awful grinding noise when rolled up or down. Now the back two windows are starting to do this too. Also, when we got it there was no manual book for the car and it only had one set of keys. Then one day I went to start it up and the key wouldn't turn so I just wiggled he steering wheel and it went and then we noticed the check engine light came on. That was all the problems we had with the car. Yeah we heard stuff like the 2.7 litre engine on 2000 Intrepid blow up, but ours hasn't. Yet.

General Comments:

I really like all the room inside. Very comfy. We also like the big roomy trunk too and them Intrepid have lots of power when taking off and it rides so smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2006

23rd Aug 2006, 13:17

How many miles do you have on it? If not yet at 120,000 miles---BEWARE!!!

2000 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

Paid a lot of money for it compared to prices now, but we're still happy with it

Faults:

Occasional dash cluster lights dim. difficult to view traffic beside and behind

General Comments:

Spacious interior, quiet and smooth. Lots of juice when you need it. I like power. Very comfortable and the whole family likes it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

3rd Jan 2006, 11:54

Wait till the sludge maker extraordinare engine gets some more miles on it and blows itself up. Also beware the sludger auto transmission made and happily designed by Chrysler for their customer's driving pleasure.

3rd Jan 2006, 20:55

Yeah, I'd rather swap out that 2.7 L engine and replace it with a 3.2 L engine, those are actually pretty reliable (I should know, my dad's old '99 Concorde had one and it ran great for more than 50,000 miles). Trust me, you'll spare yourself the headache later on.

2000 Chrysler Intrepid ES 2.7 LITER from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 LITER Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48648 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

NO COMMENT

Faults:

Alternator idler pulleys, water pump, oil gasket pan leak, electrical windows stuck. alternator and starter. this all started after I had the car for six months.

General Comments:

This car is the worst car I have ever had

I've put more money into this car. and I had a 1984 plymouth that had 200000 miles and never replaced the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2005

2000 Chrysler Intrepid ES 2.7 Liter 24 valve DOHC from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Liter 24 valve DOHC Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 kilometres
Most recent distance133000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Beautiful looking and very comfortable

Faults:

My 2000 Intrepid is a beauty. I've had to put a few minor repairs into it including a ball joint & control arm, driver's side link kit etc.. which is normal wear & tear on a vehicle that is almost 6 yrs. old. But now, I'm getting an annoying ticking coming from what I think is a lifter problem. Have had the car into numerous Chrysler dealerships and they all tell me the same, to expensive of a job to replace a lifter so I'm just gonna have to put up with this ticking or spend about $800 on repairing it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2005

27th Sep 2006, 19:49

Watch out! She's gonna blow!

I bought one of these with the 2.7L engine in July 2006. Five weeks later it wouldn't start. A mechanic at a local service company tells me that there is history with these engines and typically they are not repairable. He suspects the timing chain has broken and that with the design of the engine, it is very likely that there is further damage and not likely worth the cost to investigate. Used engines are in excess of $2,000 and there is no guarantee the problem won't repeat itself!

The local Chrysler dealer tells me that the replacement engine would be almost $6,000. More than I paid for the car from a small reseller.

From what I've seen and read in other postings, I believe that Chrysler should bear some of the responsibility for repair. Fat chance!

I've owned a couple of Caravans with good luck, but after reading their transmission horror stories and experiencing this engine with the Intrepid, I doubt that I will ever own another Chrysler and will definitely not recommend them to anyone else.

3rd Nov 2006, 10:07

1999 chrysler intrepid SE. I've had the car 6 years and came away with mixed opinions. As a family vehicle it's right up there in comfort and good value. The problems I experienced was mostly from that infamous 2.7 engine, it burns more oil than your average home furnace. what it lacks in overall engine design it makes up in overall pleasure of driving. I recommend this vehicle without the 2.7 engine.

1st Jan 2007, 11:35

2.7 liter engine will survive indefinitely if synthetic oil is used. If not, it will die. (Just passed 200,000 kilometers and it still runs like new.)

13th Feb 2008, 22:32

I bought my 99 Chrysler Intrepid in 2002, it had at the time 110000 kms, ever since the moment I bought it I had to spend between 300 and 600 dls every 3 months. Don't ever buy an intrepid, they are horrible cheap built cars, even when you take good care of them they are a very unreliable vehicle. Power windows broke in different occasions as well as the locking system, the heating systems broke down, and the engine started to leak and burn oil at 130000 kms, I had to put a bottle of oil in the car every week so that I could keep it running. I would never ever buy another intrepid and I don't recommend it to my worst enemy.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews