2000 Chrysler Intrepid Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2000 Chrysler Intrepid Base 2.7 liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Nice highway car, bad engine

Faults:

The alarm system is very annoying, it engages its self after the key is out of the ignition for about a minute.

It is starting to blow blue and is using about one liter of oil every 1200 kilometers. I inherited the car from my father in-law and I know he was very prompt on getting the car serviced regularly by the dealer.

The sight lines from inside the car are not great. It has small mirrors and a fairly large blind spot over the drivers left shoulder. The extreme slope of the rear window makes it difficult to see out of.

General Comments:

The car rides very nice and handles extremely well. It also looks good, but without a reliable engine its not worth owning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

30th Sep 2005, 15:22

The best advice I can give you is to unload that heap before the motor seizes up. Trade it in right now before it's completely worthless. I'd bet money your motor is filled up with sludge.. I've talked too many other Intrepid owners with the 2.7.. please believe me when I tell you it's days are numbered.

30th Sep 2005, 15:28

I am a former Intrepid victim myself. You should sell that car before it's too late.. Don't drive it anymore. Clean it up, wax it, make it look nice. Then put an ad in the paper, or park it on the corner, or trade it in, whatever it takes. I strongly suggest selling it while it still runs, that way you'll get a lot more for it.

29th Mar 2006, 11:23

I have owned 2000 Chrysler Intrepid for almost 6 years - Just paid it off and had to get rid of it. I had no problems with the car until now - not a sludge problem, but the car started to lose pressure (67,800 miles) on the pistons - the oil light was coming on even when I pulled the oil stick was showing full - especially when I came off the highway. I took it to mechanic and he told me to put thicker oil and traded it in for a different car - which I did for Toyota Rav4 - and I am certain that I won't have any engine problems.

2000 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Very disappointed in the vehicle.

Faults:

Early problems with the car include:

Interior lights intermittently coming on as they please.

Both front electric windows making awful noises as they go up or down.

Excessive front tire wear, at 1000 miles. The worst of all is the current problem, which I find out is all down to current oil sludge, which causes timing chain problems and engine failure. Chrysler knows about the problem, just doesn't address it. There are hundreds of people out there facing engine replacements at a cost of $6000.00. In my case an engine replacement of $6000.00, for a vehicle now worth $4000.00.

General Comments:

Anyone looking at purchasing a Dodge/Chrysler vehicle with a 2.7 engine (Concorde, Sebring, Intrepid or PT Cruiser) better do some research first.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2005

2000 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

I love my car!

Faults:

My timing chain tensioner went at 125000 kilometers, I took it in and had it replaced, that lasted about a month and it went again, so I took it back to the dealer and they replaced it again under warranty and it is still working great. My dash lights blink at night when the headlights are on, I can live with that, they cannot find the problem anyway.

General Comments:

I really like my Intrepid. I get great gas mileage, it works out to be 30 miles to the gallon in the summer and about 25 miles to the gallon in the winter. It is roomy for long trips, the seats are very comfortable. There is lots of pick up and go when you want to pass, but it is great for just cruising down the highway, It handles like a charm, and is just big enough to make me feel safe on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

17th May 2005, 21:35

I read your review when I was researching a replacement for my 2000 Intrepid which the insurance company may consider totaled. I loved that car.

Anyway, I experienced the blinking lights in two different ways. First, the park, reverse, neutral, drive gave us quite a light show. That turned out to be the instrument cluster not seated properly. I pulled it and reinstalled it and it was fixed. The other problem was only at night, due to the dash light dimmer. Pull the connector and reconnect it 3 or 4 times to clean the pins. Then put dielectric grease on the pins to keep the from corroding. The other time this happens is when then dimmer is just near the interior lights on setting. I found turning it down helps. Please feel free to email me if you have a question at bcc@powerplusmktg.com.

I hope this helps.

21st Jun 2005, 20:50

I am not happy at all with my 1999 Intrepid 2.7 L engine. I spent more than $3800.00 on this car, now, I have entered into real problem, the engine blew up. Mechanic told me that, it will cost me $4600.00. To spend this kind of money on this, so call "Daimler Chrysler" the North American worst car. I will never ever buy this car, please if you have one, don't drive them; try to get rid of this car. We must file lawsuit against this manufacturer, they are misleading the consumers. Our government should do something about it, but they don't care about the people who works hard and pay taxes to this government. The govermnet still want to support these auto manufacturer like Daimler Chrysler.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews