2000 Chrysler Intrepid Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2000 Chrysler Intrepid Base 2.7 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

All around Excellent Vehicle

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent ride, better than my 2006 Grand Prix. Engine is very smooth and the quietest of any car owned. Extremely reliable, never any problems. Good performance for a 2.7 engine. Wish I would`ve bought another one over the new Grand Prix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2007

2000 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Pontiac Sunbird.

Summary:

Has been good to me. Still going

Faults:

Front wheel bearings have needed replacing.

In the past couple of years following about 2 tanks of gas an oil top up is needed. Not showing a bad emsissions test though, so it must have a slow leak out when driving.

Trunk key chamber has seized twice and needed replacing.

General Comments:

It is still running well. I bought at one year old in 2001 with 25,000 KM on the engine. No problems with the engine or transmission as yet at 230,000 km. I have heard the 2.7 L can be trouble, but no problems here. I must be lucky. Body is holding up OK for a car that is almost 8 years old. Just a few minor rust spots. Windows ice shut easily in the winter on this car, and can be annoying if you do drive through coffee first thing in the morning and you live in Canada. Huge interior and trunk space has been a great plus. I am pleased with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2007

23rd Mar 2010, 17:02

To the above commentor. With 321,000 km's on a car (let alone a Chrysler) what did you expect!? Of course it is going to have problems. Just be thankful it is still running!

8th Aug 2010, 16:07

To both of above commenters and original poster: my 2000 Intrepid 2.7 now has 330,000 kms on it and it still runs like new. It all depends on how you drive/maintain it. Synthetic oil and reasonable driving habits will make these cars last as long as you want. I am expecting to get another couple of hundred thousand kms out of this car. It still has the original exhaust, shocks, and everything else.

13th Apr 2011, 06:07

As a mechanic I must mention a warning about the 2.7 engine.

Although the other comments state the 2.7 engine in these cars have gone to relatively high KMs for them... 90% of the 2.7 DO NOT get past 115,000kms without severe engine damage internally, without warning.

You would be smart NOT TO BUY a vehicle with one.

Replacement used engines cannot be found as they are basically all bad (90%).

16th Apr 2011, 14:43

Don't be cheap, people! A few extra bucks for synthetic oil will keep these engines running like new forever.

Mine now has 350,000 km on it, and has not required any repairs. I change the oil every 15000 km (sometimes more) and I still don't have to top up the oil between changes. As for the extra cost of synthetic oil, is is mostly offset by the fact that you don't have to change it as often. Like the mechanic on an old TV commercial for Fram oil filters used to say about the higher cost of their filters: You can pay me now, (for the filter) or you can pay me later (for the repairs).

2000 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7 litre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Cordoba

Summary:

2.7 litre engine lasts so far till 140,000 km

Faults:

Can you believe it? We own a 2000 Chrysler Intrepid with the ever famous 2.7 litre engine and it is 2007 and we didn't have any trouble with it!! We bought the car in 2005 with 127,000 km on it. I am surprised that it has lasted this long after hearing reviews from other Intrepid owners.

General Comments:

It is a nice big roomy car and it handles very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2007

23rd Jul 2007, 16:31

I'm so glad to hear this I just bought one with 71000km's on it.

4th Jun 2009, 09:17

I bought my Intrepid 3 years ago, 2000 year model, and I'm very happy with it. No problems whatsoever these years. Really a good car.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews