1989 Chrysler LeBaron Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1989 Chrysler LeBaron 2.5 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Lemon, lemon, lemon!!

Faults:

Smokes really bad.

O2 sensors burn out every 4-6 months.

Rear view window, radio, cruise control, and headlight covers do not work.

No pep for go power.

General Comments:

Well, my dad got for me as a graduation gift, but it has been nothing, but trouble since we got it. We bought it as a junker to be fixed up. Got a rebuilt engine for it, a new top, the trunk still leaks. Well, it started out that the power steering wsa finally fixed and then it started smoking really badly and burned the O2 sensors out about every 4-6 months. The radio totally quit working as well as the headlight covers and one rear view window adjuster. It smokes really bad out the back and idles when you come to a stop like it's about to quit altogether. It has been in the shop for the past six months and the diagnostics the mechanics used on it could not pick anything up and still has problems. They think now one of the computers in it needs to be replaced altogether. If anyone gets one of these cars do not get a junker! That would be a first mistake. I haven't had any experience with other Chrysler products like Dodge or Plymouth, but my husband's family has been burned by many of their vehicles and my family has had their share of them and they all seem to break down easily. So if you buy a Chrysler, buyer beware!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th November, 2006

18th Nov 2006, 03:04

Smoking engine could be damaging O2 sensors.

18th Nov 2006, 11:39

Well I'm not sure that you can call a 12 year old car with 144,000 miles on it a lemon. I'm pretty sure at that point you shouldn't blame the manufacturer.

19th Nov 2006, 16:30

"I am outraged that a fuse burned out on my 16-year-old car!"

Oh, get real!

18th Mar 2007, 11:55

I'm sorry to hear your Lebaron has been so problematic and you don't like it. But like others are saying, it is an old car with high-ish miles. Especially if it was a junker that needed all kinds of work done, it shouldn't be too shocking that it has all these issues. Just be glad it's an old Chrysler your Dad bought you to fix up, since parts for these cars are VERY cheap, relatively speaking to most cars.

29th May 2008, 13:42

Mine is like that too!

I've had it parked 5 years and need to get rid of it.

It would overheat, shake, and stop all over town.

Nobody knew what was wrong with it. the shocks blew, the tranny was rebuilt, the rack and pinion replaced (still was leaking power steering fluid)

My mom's stink little dog spent the night inside it by accident and peed the rug. The small windows are stuck and rain got inside. Yes, it is a mess.

I was stopped all over town. I was thinking about fixing it up, because the engine is more efficiant than my current V6 gas guzzler, but in the end know I need to bestow this car to someone who wants to tinker with it. Anybody interested, post!

1989 Chrysler LeBaron Covertible 4-Cylinder from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4-Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Super

Faults:

Headlight covers no longer work, I hear their engine running, but I think they must be off track or something.

General Comments:

Great deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2006

1989 Chrysler LeBaron Coupe 2.5 turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Rice rocket slayer. Go America!!

Faults:

The oil pressure regulator died shortly after I bought it. 101,500 miles.

The radiator cracked and took a number of engine components with it. 102,000 miles. My fault, I should have looked at the radiator before I took it on the long drive.

The transmission is pretty shot. These 3 spd autos weren't meant for much more mileage than this. I plan on replacing it with a standard transmission.

The reverse lights don't work anymore. 103K ish.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

I paid $900 for this car, and I feel like it was very worth it. I love the way the car accommodates people because of how comfy it is inside. It's also pretty.

The paint on this car is wearing off pretty bad. 17 years old, I don't blame it.

The car is dang quick, especially for an automatic! (Stage 1 slightly modified. Less than $100 of parts) It's a total Honda killer. I've raced a bunch of guys with Integras and Civics, and leave them in the dust. Yeah, only 170 hp, but 220 ft/lbs of torque!! I love their expressions when we make it to the next light.

The transmission isn't geared right for racing, but it still gets to 60 around the 7 sec area. The more impressive part is how fast it picks up when your trolling along at 10 mph.

0-60 was about 7.1 sec, but 10-60 was right around 5 sec. Once the turbo has spooled up and the rpms are right, this thing rockets away.

Chrysler may have a bad name for these little cars, but truth is, I'm not going back to Honda now that I've owned a Chrysler. I've owned 3 Hondas, and my next car is going to be a Dodge.

The last thing I want to add, is how easy this car is to work on. The engine compartment looks like it could house a 350 just fine, so with all that space, and such a relatively little engine, maintenance is so easy. Even replacing the head gasket is pretty easy, compared to my Civic. I love my baby!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2006

18th Jul 2006, 18:27

Did it ever occur to you that you raced an old beat up Honda that had 250,000miles or that they were not racing you...

19th Jul 2006, 00:11

The very day I posted this review, the water pump quit on me and left me with another bad engine. The pump is so hard to change, at least for a limited tool mechanic like myself. I'm starting not to like this car so much. Maybe it's time for that STI or EVO 8 that I've always wanted.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 24 reviews