1989 Chrysler LeBaron Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1989 Chrysler LeBaron Convertible 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

Stylish, but costly to maintain

Faults:

Head gasket blew.

I had to replace the engine.

Piston rod broke on second engine.

Replaced timing belt.

Cable to the rear left window snapped.

General Comments:

The fact that it was a convertible made the car. That's about the only thing I really liked about it.

The back seat is cramped.

It handled well in the snow.

Not really a lot of trunk space.

Extremely fun to cruise around in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th April, 2002

21st Nov 2005, 10:04

This review is a little off. Chrysler never made a 2.0 automatic for the Le Baron. The 2.0 was developed for the Neon. The Chrysler 4's were only 2.2 or 2.5 for Le Barons and other K derivatives and they are extraordinarily reliable if routine maintenance is done routinely (change the oil, replace plugs). If any engine is not maintained it will not last. There are many 2.2s and 2.5s with over 200,000 miles. I own one and it's a Le Baron convertible with a turbo. 210,000 miles and no major mechanical difficulties. Do not bash a car if you don't know anything about it and never took care of it.

1989 Chrysler LeBaron LX from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles

Summary:

A decent deal for the cheap price I got it at

Faults:

An oil rod got backed up which caused major problems with the engine. Had to rebuild the engine.

Headlights are permanently stuck in the "on" position.

Paint is peeling badly all over the top of the car.

Odometer is stuck at 85015 miles.

Speedometer gets stuck in hot weather.

Air conditioning hose burst and all of the freon leaked out.

Tape player buttons pop out. It sometimes only plays out of one speaker.

General Comments:

Even with all of the little problems listed above, the car still drives very well.

During the first couple years of ownership, I couldn't have asked for a better car.

Great car to give a new driver if you want to teach them the value of taking care of an older car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2001

18th May 2003, 17:11

The speedomoter is a leakage on a speed sensor and when the car warms up the oil gets in and messes with contacts. Mine does the same thing.

18th Mar 2007, 12:00

I too have had lots of little stupid and annoying issues with my '89 Lebaron convertible (sticking odometer, broken seatback locking mechanisms, failed wiper linkage, etc), but it's hard not to love the car anyway. Especially since I'm a fan of the late 80's/early '90's generation of Chryslers. It's a very very inexpensive car to buy, comparably speaking, is very cheap to keep up, and has a very dependable engine and transmission. It's even got some style, sport, and luxury to it. Hard to beat. Not as problem free as other Chryslers of this era that I've owned though. More style than the others, but a little less substance.

1989 Chrysler LeBaron GTC 2.5 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88200 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

It's a Chrysler, think it over

Faults:

Transmission has been replaced.

Fuel pump.

Timing belt.

Radiator.

General Comments:

This car is ridiculously fast for what it is, word to the wise, unplug the wastegate.

The car looks really nice, but Chrysler and the word "lemon" are synonomous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

1989 Chrysler LeBaron 2.5 non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 non-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

Good first car - fixer upper!

Faults:

Timing belt.

Brakes.

Windshield washer fluid leak.

Anti-freeze leak.

Shocks blew out.

Oxygen sensor went (causing it to fail an emissions test).

General Comments:

Good first car, needed a lot of work, worth what I paid for it, but I wouldn't go out of your way to pick one of these up again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st April, 2001

6th Sep 2001, 13:30

All Chrysler 2.2's and 2.5's are one of the most reliable 4-cylinder engines ever produced. If you get one and have those kinda problems with it, it is simply because it hasn't been taken care of. Any other brand of car would be in the same shape.

1989 Chrysler LeBaron 2.5 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

Leaky radiator had to be replaced.

Engine knock.

Air conditioning leaks Freon.

Idles incredibly high at times (sometimes as high as 2000 rpm) which wears down the brakes.

2 back windows and power mechanism had to be replaced (300 bucks a piece retail!!!!)

General Comments:

Great overall car, and was probably a dream in its day. Car will probably only like 1-2 more years, American cars just aren't built well enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th August, 2000

4th Sep 2007, 16:55

It's not that it's an American car; I had a Saturn that was well up to 246,000 miles with an original engine (no major work done) before I got in an accident that totaled my car, and the car was easily going to last another year or so.

1989 Chrysler LeBaron Fin Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

GREAT!!!!

Faults:

My clutch went out.

CV boot replaced.

New brakes.

Power steering leak.

General Comments:

I love my car not just because it's mine, but to me having a older car is fun to play with, you can rebuild things on it and repaint it.

Overall I couldn't ask for a better car

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 24 reviews