1992 Chrysler LeBaron LX 3.0 V6 from Lebanon


Fun Drop-top reliable ride for a great value


Soft Top and top latches wore off and were replaced when bought at 30k miles.

Rear quarter window motors lagged, replaced at around 50K miles.

Gasket blew, fixed and Transmission started slipping at around 60K miles, had it rebuilt. On a side note, I do drive rough.

General Comments:

I bought this car for $6500 with very low mileage and had an all-around wonderful experience with it, which gladly surprised me at that price range. Aside from some minor repairs and a tune up at 60K miles, I found this car to be VERY reliable.

The 3.0 V6 Engine yields a powerful responsive acceleration and the soft suspension makes for a luxuriously smooth ride on those long trips.

The lower points are handling quality and body shake during those turns and bumps which is typical of early 90's convertibles. Otherwise it drives pretty well on snow thanks to the FWD.

If you're on a limited budget and are looking for a fun convertible and reliable car, don't look elsewhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2004

27th Nov 2005, 20:00

I have a 92 Chrysler Le baron convertible, it was given to me. A friend, of mine, was using it for a parts car and had taken out the radiator and AC compressor. He was moving and was just going to send it to the junk yard. He said, that he had driven it 2 years ago and had parked it. I put on a fuel pump and the radiator that was needed and then I took the car to the mechanic to have it checked out. He said it needed brakes. Also, the speedometer doesn't work and the mechanic is searching for parts. I can't wait to get it home. I hope, that I don't have any trouble with it. I have already spent $700 for tires, battery, etc, all before getting the mechanic's bill. I really like the styling-especially the top.

1992 Chrysler LeBaron LX Convertible 3.0L V6 from North America


A very comfy and reliable car on a long trip!


When first purchased, the car had a number of small problems, which I promptly corrected.

Trans leak at the diff cover and pan.

Coolant leak at the by-pass hose.

Inoperable speedo, which was corrected with a vehicle speed sensor.

Both rear windows inoperable due to defective motors (seems like a common problem).

Brought all overdue maintenance up to date: tune up, cap rotor & wires, air & fuel filters, PCV, O2 sensor, serpentine belt & tensioner, trans svc, 2 Ft struts & lower control/ball joint assemblies, complete exhaust system with a "Flowmaster" in place of the stock muffler and an oil change.

I changed the instrumentation from basic with "idiot light" and NO tach to a full gauge with tach instrument cluster. Replaced 1 AC gasket and charged the system. 4 new tires and 15" white spoke rims that came off my daughter's 90 GT coupe when we sold it.

Last thing, a new convertible top. This black top looks good on a white car, instead of the original white top.

General Comments:

This is one of the smoothest driving/riding cars I have ever owned.

Being fortunate enough to own 2 LeBaron "rag tops", I have noticed that both cars feel like 2 different models. The other is an 88 turbo automatic with a sport suspension. Both cars are as different as night and day. The 92 has a smooth luxury car ride, and the 88 feels more like a sports car (due to the handling suspension package). Part and full throttle response are similar, but it ends there. The 88 feels more like my 88 Daytona, with the 92 feeling like a new Chrysler Sebring "rag top".

With the differences in ride, it's hard to believe that both cars are the same model. Another big difference is fuel usage. The 88 = 26 mpg on the high way / the 92 = 30 mpg (most likely due to the 92's overdrive trans).

The 92 is my wife's, while the 88 is mine. She has stated that this is one of her favorites and the quickest cars she has ever owned. We have approx $2800 invested, which is less than the $3400 "Kelly Blue Book" value. I've seen comparable cars on used car lots for as much as $4995, so I feel that we got a good deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

28th Jun 2005, 18:50

As a fortunate owner of one of the harder to find ’92 LeBaron’s and a former mustang owner, I have to say the Lebaron is one of my favorite cars. I purchased my ‘92 GTC for $900.00 about two years ago. In ’92 Chrysler made only 2948 GTC 3.0 V6 automatic convertibles.Mine is one of the few still in road worthy condition. It is white on white and have had the motor rebuilt due to oil burning. It is fully loaded with every option including: C/D, tape, power windows locks top, leather, air bag, trip meter, 16 inch low profile alloy wheels, the list goes on and on. It will be entering its first show in August. I think it was fate that my 85 Mustang GT was hit by a Drunk driver and I used the insurance money to buy this one. I have owned many cars, but always come back to Chrysler's.

1992 Chrysler LeBaron GTC 2.5 turbo from North America


Speed and Style


Nothing besides normal maintenence has had to be done.

General Comments:

For someone looking for a sporty convertible, this is the one to get. The GTC model gives you the monochromatic exterior and a sport suspension. My car has charcoal leather 14 way power drivers seat, power everything, and a reasonable sized back seat (At least compared to my talon). The gas mileage is OK, but not real economical. The stick is really fun, but the clutch is really heavy compared to newer cars. All my friends (especially the girls) love this car. It won't outrun a new mustang GT, but it has a lot more class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2002

1992 Chrysler LeBaron 3.0 V6 from North America


The transmission has been replaced three times.

There have been two different engines in the car.

Heater core replaced twice.

Timing belt replaced.

Convertible top replaced.

This came all under warranty. However since then (2 years) I had to replace the transmission and the head gasket!

General Comments:

Never again will I buy the cheaply made Chrysler and I don't recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

22nd Apr 2001, 18:20

You're wrong about the LeBaron, it's a great car, you don't know what you're talking about.

7th May 2001, 14:55

The Lebaron has a style of its own and when running correctly, they are hard to beat.

However Chrysler needs to step up and take responsibility for their 4 speed "ultra-nightmare" transmission used in many of these cars. Getting thrown toward the windshield when the transmission drops into its "limp" mode (MANY of you know what I mean) is not my idea of fun. Chrysler knows (documented) they made a poorly designed item, but refuse to stand behind it. No amount of "style" is worth that.