1999 Chrysler LHS Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1999 Chrysler LHS 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

I prefer My LHS to my wifes' Cadillac Sedan De Ville

Faults:

Electric cooling fan failed at 125,000 miles.

Water pump failed at 75,000 miles. Replacement cost was limited to the pump itself because I had told the repair agency to replace the water pump when they replaced the timing belt (60,000) They did not replace the pump because they said that it looked good. When the pump failed, they honored their error.

General Comments:

This is the finest car that I have owned.

The car handles very well, accelerates well, and has been extremely trouble-free.

I can drive 600 miles and stop only for gasoline, and arrive without a back ache.

22.5 mpg overall, and 27 on the highway.

I keep a logbook where every penny is recorded. Very inexpensive to operate this vehicle.

I am 6'1" and keep the seat almost all the way back. I can then get into the back seat and have ample room. Amazing.

Huge trunk space, I can lay a large garment bag down flat without folding it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

25th Feb 2004, 03:02

I was a UK tourist to CA in 1998 and had a Chrysler LHS from Alomo for 2 weeks as a rental car. I too was very pleased with the car. Carefully driven on the motorway it delivered 31 m.p.g!

One thing did concern me however and this occurred in the tremendous heat of the Joshua Tree National Park. After parking the car for a while I returned only to find that although the car engine and auto. transmission worked nothing else did! We had no electrics. It was quite frightening and amusing at the same time as we drove pushing the doors open for air. There was no mention of this in the handbook either! We arrived at a garage where the attendant told us to park the car in the shade and kindly sprayed the car with cold water. Half an hour later hey presto! Don't ask me hat happened, but I just thought you and your readers should know.

Carl Rawson - Derby - UK.

1999 Chrysler LHS 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carChrysler Voyager

Summary:

A good driving, yet unreliable, car

Faults:

One of the window motors has been replaced twice and currently needs to be replaced again.

Needed to replace entire door panel due to the door sagging.

Transmission went out at 55,000 miles.

Have had to replace 3 of the coils.

General Comments:

Very spacious interior.

Drives very nice.

Good on long trips.

This car has quick acceleration for its size and has decent handling.

It has a good sounding stereo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2003

1st Apr 2004, 08:29

You said it isn't reliable, yet the only thing major that has gone wrong with yours is the transmission, which would have it in the shop for 2 weeks at the most, other than that, your window motors? Yeah, my back left one doesn't work anymore, that has NOTHING to do with reliability.

1999 Chrysler LHS from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Faults:

Replaced 5 window motors in 5 years.

Blew 2 woofer speakers in 4 years.

Electronic transmission shifting problem at high acceleration that dealer service center can't fix.

General Comments:

High performance luxury vehicle with poor reliability and poor rearview visibilty.

Great rear seat and trunk space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2003

21st Sep 2004, 08:39

I notice transmission doesn't shift out well anytime I have had to accelerate more quickly than normal. When you speed up quickly, transmission has a "racing sound" like you really stomped the gas although you didn't.

29th Mar 2006, 21:04

I purchased my 1999 Chrysler LHS new, in Nov. of '99. Within the three year factory warranty, I have replaced 1 power window motor, and the master switch on the drivers door (which I think was the whole problem), 1 fouled spark plug, caused the motor to shake terribly, 1 sensor on the transmission which told it when to shift. All that was under warranty. Since then, I've had no problem with anything. My car has 9050 miles, covered in the garage during the winter, and very much pampered, except when I decide to open it upon the road (clean road that is). It's size, power, handling, and style still take my breath away! For that reason, I'll probably never sell it.

1999 Chrysler LHS from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carChrysler LHS

Summary:

Love the way it hugs the road

Faults:

Our car has had to have the evaporator for the A/C replace twice.

Now we need new glass on the headlights.

General Comments:

I love my LHS. It has a very big trunk and a lot of room in the back seat. We travel a lot and love the way it handles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2003

27th Apr 2011, 16:27

I too have a 1999 LHS, and had problems with the headlight lens turning yellowish, but a friend solved this by using a propane torch, ie: the one you use to weld a copper fitting at home, and constantly warmed the lens on a back and fro motion, and voila, it turned crystal clear. Beware, do not stay at same place with propane torch or you will see headlight lens starting to melt.

Other problems with LHS are the fan control knob stuck on high speed (they told me it's a potentiometer gone wrong, and 500$ to change the complete unit... no thanks, it's on high speed since.

Problems with trunk cylinders; they lack force to hold the trunk open in winter, but in summer it's OK. Clear finish on roof is starting to peel off.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews