1998 Chrysler Neon Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1998 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Under-rated car, but expensive to maintain

Faults:

The fuel pump has been replaced twice (on warranty) due to being excessively noise.

The brakes pads - which I believe are poor considering it has discs all around - have a short shelf life and Chrysler have failed to cure an annoying squeak despite having 4 attempts at it.

Other than that very few things have gone wrong and I've no real grumbles regarding reliability of the vehicle.

General Comments:

The performance of the Neon - lambasted by many - is pretty decent; it's let down though by the fact that you have to work the gearbox. In my mind the gearing ratio is set up for the American market. Put your foot down at 70 in 5th and you need the length of the M6 before the police will book you for speeding! However drop it to 3rd and your away - thirsty but fun.

In the dry the Neon handles very well, gripping the corners with the stiffer-than-the-US suspension holding the bends quite comfortably. This despite a distinct lack of feedback from the steering well. Get the car in the wet though and, on it's small 14" wheels, it's almost dangerously skittish. I've found that running the car on under-pressured tyres improves handling over the winter months.

The curiously raked lights seem become noticeably duller with only a slight film of grime on them and you'd best pray that the bulb doesn't blow! Despite the handbooks words you can't replace a bulb without removing the whole unit!

The running costs are high with service intervals at just 7,500 miles and Chrysler's ridiculously excessive prices for spares. For example the glass on a front fog light smashed, Chrysler quoted £104 for supply only after VAT; I bought the part from a local Hella (fog light manufacturer) dealer for £35. While talking of fog lights - Chrysler wire the front to work at the same time as the rear off a single switch. Now I don't like blinding people behind me and do like using front-fogs, for improved visibility on country lanes, so a home-bodge was required to install another switch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

13th Jan 2002, 14:47

What the hell is wrong with you. Acceleration at 70 in 5th gear??? Where have you learned to drive, on a farm?? I have owned a Neon for 5 years with no trouble at all, it accelerates very well and I think that it is a very fine car.

5th Jun 2002, 12:38

I agree with the original comment above. Neons are a bag of crap. Poor build, Poor driveability, Poor economy, Poor performance, and crap at everything. Cheap and nasty car; buy a Japanese car instead. My Air Con failed at 35k and it is noisy and slow. Above 90mph, it feels dreadful.

8th Dec 2003, 07:00

I currently own 2 chryslers, a Neon and a Grand Voyager..

I can say with experience that the Neon is a great little car... I would rather be seen driving a Neon that a Escort?? The only reason the?Neon is having such a bad time is because these little boy racers are all under 25 and they are not able to afford the insurance on a Neon... I have lived in Canada for 5 years and I owned Chrysler/Dodge cars/truck and a minivan... NO PROBLEMS..I am selling my Neon ONLY because I got my Grand Voyager.. due to having a lot of kids.. otherwise I would still be keeping it.. I have no problems. with it..

1998 Chrysler Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carGeo Tracker

Summary:

Beware this is trash, junk, garbage

Faults:

1) 2 head gaskets.

2) Front brake rotors replaced twice.

3) A/C compressor is junk.

4) Idle has never been right.

5) Check engine light stays on dealer, can't find the problem.

6) Muffler has fallen off 3 times.

General Comments:

This car is a heap of trash! I hate it and I wish I had never bought the thing. You can't trade it in because it has no value whatsoever. Paint is cheap, interior is pathetic, spends more time at Chryslers garage than at my house..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

3rd Apr 2001, 17:38

My brother works for a Dodge Chrysler Plymouth dealer in Northern Pennsylvania, apparently every year the Neon was made they would blow head gaskets all the time. That might not sound like something very big, but the labor would make it about a thousand dollar repair if not more. The best thing to do with a Neon is stay away from them.

1998 Chrysler Neon SE 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres

Summary:

Love how it looks.... but everything else is crappy

Faults:

Both front passenger doors rattle... a common trait of the Neon.

Mechanics have no clue on how to fix any problem and it takes ages (months) to get in a spare part.

It's getting bumpier every day even though I check the air pressure.

Wind coming through the doors..

Radio stick fell off.

Driver's seat is practically flat although I'm only 75kg.

General Comments:

The only reason a person would buy a Neon is due to its looks. Although many have praised its driving performance, I've driven better.

Don't know about the Neon 2000 though.

Its engine, although a 2.0 litre, doesn't have the zip of most 1.6 litre engine cars. Now that's an embarassment. Doesn't change gears when you want it to (auto).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

26th Dec 2003, 23:39

Maybe you need to go to a different mechanic! If they can't figure out the problems your having with it... well that's just not right, isn't that their job? Its also very odd that it takes them months to get spare parts. The Neon is a VERY common car and there are tons of spare parts around.

1998 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Automatic gearbox failed after 10,000 miles, powered steering failed after 30,000 miles.

Both covered by warranty!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 17 reviews