1998 Chrysler Neon Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1998 Chrysler Neon from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth neon

Summary:

Not good

Faults:

My daytime running lights would not go out and had to replace the module. It cost me 250.00 dollars and would like to know if there is a lifetime warranty on this part? I know of a person that has a ford vehicle and the module has a lifetime warranty as it is a safety hazard. If any one has had this problem please let me know.? Is there a warranty on this part or can it be unplugged and drive without them?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2004

1998 Chrysler Neon LX 2.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance100300 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Inexpensive Luxury

Faults:

My car would stall for no reason.

General Comments:

I have had the car for and it runs very nicely.

I drove the car long distances and it did extremely well with gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2004

1998 Chrysler Neon LE 2.0 16v SOHC from Puerto Rico

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

A cool compact car

Faults:

Transmission leaks from shift link seal.

Front brakes lock very easy (maybe faulty proportioning valve)

Pads all around need replacing.

Blown rear left hand side shock.

General Comments:

This car has some faults such as skittishness in the rain and stiff ride, but it is a great car.

Engine makes a lot of power, but only above 4500 rpm.

Looks great, drives fast, handles good, I love it.

Great gas mileage if you keep your lead foot in check.

Lots of space once you manage to get in, even in the trunk.

Non-adjustable steering wheel is something to get used to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2004

16th Jun 2005, 14:11

Nothing cool about that.

1998 Chrysler Neon 2L 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2L 16v Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance13500 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Grand Voyager

Summary:

As God is my witness, I will never buy another Chrysler product!

Faults:

Vehicle drives itself at 20km, even up hill without my foot on the accelerator. I complained to dealer who said it was normal.

Brakes, rotors and CV joints had to be replaced within first 12 months.

Brakes and rotors replaced again within 36 months.

Now at 44 months brakes and rotors need to be replaced.

Windshield sealant failed and had to be repaired at 12 months.

Head gasket failed and was replaced at 24 months. But the repair was faulty (they'd left an oil hose disconnected, and I didn't get very far, especially with smoke pouring out of the engine.

At 44 months the right engine mounting bolt sheared off while driving. THE STEEL IN THIS BOLT IS DEFECTIVELY MANUFACTURED. Steel bolt is filled with air bubbles.

I advised Chrysler.

General Comments:

Regarding the steel engine mounting bolt passenger side: after a 65 km tow, and two days in the shop, the dealer told me Chrysler would pay for the repairs if I surrendered the bolt.

He also charged me three times the quoted repair price.

When I went to drive home, there was such a loud clunking I stopped immediately.

Repair manager said he thought it always sounded like that.

Car now shudders, bangs like it has a dropped rod, especially when going uphill, and smells like burning oil.

I suspect a damaged hydraulic lifter.

Extended warranty does not cover defective engine bolts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

20th Jun 2005, 15:01

I TOTALLY AGREE- Worst car I've ever had, a money sucking pit from day one.

1998 Chrysler Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carChrysler Neon

Summary:

Fun, inexpensive, beware the 60,000 mile mark

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 62,000 miles.

General Comments:

Until recently, I have been very satisfied with this car. It has been economical, reliable, and a lot of fun to drive.

Furthermore, this is the second Neon I've owned. The first, a 1995 Neon, had 20,000 miles on it when I bought it, and almost 80,000 when I sold it. My experience with this brand has been very positive.

Unfortunately, the head gasket on my current Neon blew at about 62,000 miles. I now understand this is a common problem with the make and model. However, the dealer has denied knowledge of this problem. I don't know yet whether it's going to be worth it to try and fix it, or if I should just dump it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2003

21st May 2003, 13:35

DO NOT BUY ANY YEAR CHRYSLER PRODUCT. Hit this company's bank account hard like they have to thousands of their customers in poor quality and customer service.

16th May 2004, 05:08

What on earth are you on about? There is no reason for any 4-cylinder engine to give up at 60,000 miles unless it has *never* been serviced.

23rd Oct 2004, 14:27

I agree with the previous post. No 4cyl. engine gaskets should just blow up. I currently own a 14 year old Honda Accord with 210,000 miles and the head gaskets have never just blown. I did replace the original clutch at 205,000 miles, but that is just considered wear and tear. The Neon has a defective engine and consumers shouldn't just accept things the way they are, but instead say enough is enough!

2nd Jun 2005, 21:46

To the 'mechanic' who thinks all 4cyl cars should blow head gaskets at 60k miles you must be crazy. I will never take my 4cyl car with 90k on it to you or it may come back with a blown head gasket!

From your review you cannot be a mechanic with such an incorrect view. crazy man.

28th Nov 2006, 15:26

No v6's have head gasket problems, eh? Then what about the 3.8 Essex v6 in 1988-1995 Taurus's, 1983-90's Mustang and Thunderbird, and Mid-to-Late 90's Windstars?? Those had major head gasket problems. Aluminum heads, people. Just like the 70's Chevy Vega and the 4.1L 80's Cadillacs. After more than 30 years wouldn't you think GM/Ford would wake up and smell the coffee/realize the problem? Nope. Not so far.

Thanks for your time.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 17 reviews