2002 Chrysler Neon Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2002 Chrysler Neon R/T 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Stylish, Fast, Reliable and Value For Money

Faults:

Front wishbone (suspension) rubber bushes replaced at 35,000 miles.

General Comments:

Alternatively styled for the UK market, my Neon R/T has done the brand proud it is totally reliable.

The handling is very good, but the suspension is a little harder than the 'normal' Neon models. It corners frighteningly well!

All the gadgets (ABS/TRAC/AC, etc) work well and reliably. It is good value for money.

Leather seats are nice, the seats have 5 3-point seatbelts and the car seems strong enough to protect your family if it all goes badly wrong.

The steering isn't 'alive' like on some cars, but is very sure - the car feels firmly planted on the road and sticks like glue around the corners.

My R/T gives me 30 to 35mpg on a mixed run - I'm very happy with it and won't be selling it yet. (Why would I sell it, it is great value for money and gives me a comfortable car, will tow up to 1 tonne, take 5 people, has gadgets, goodies, leather, AC and goes well. To replace it with most other brands of car would cost a fortune!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2006

11th Mar 2010, 10:44

I agree with comment reviews on the Neon R/T. It is great value for money car. When new this car would have cost £14,500. I paid half this for mine 5 yrs ago as a second owner. It had only 14,000 miles on the clock, and was in great condition. I have had very little go wrong, and have had the car serviced every 12 months. It still only has 37,000 miles on the clock, and still gives me good service, and still looks good!

As already mentioned, the standard of the build of the car is excellent. And all the fittings include ABS/A/C/ 6 Airbags, Leather seats, Radio/Tape/CD with 5 Disc Store Changer, Electric Windows, Electric Mirrors, Alloy Wheels, & more. If you can pick one up in good condition, I recommend you buy one.

25th Mar 2011, 03:54

What's the mileage per litre/gallon you are getting for this Neon model.

2002 Chrysler Neon CNL 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Do Not Buy a 2002 Neon!

Faults:

Just wondering if anyone is having the same problems as I am. I bought a new 2002 Chrysler Neon CL in 2002. Engine started making a knocking noise at 5,000km or first oil change. Since then I have gone through 4 motors including the original, and the problems is still not fixed.

I complained frequently to the local dealership that I bought the car from; December 5th 2002, December 10th 2002 and again on February 18th 2003. Each time I was told that was the way the engine ran. Needless to say, I decided to change dealerships.

Upon doing so, the short block on the engine was replaced on February 11th 2005 at 83,693km. Again on January 17th 2006 with only 117,308km. Unfortunately once again on January 25th, 2006. Well it's May 31st, 2006 and to no surprise the problem is still not fixed.

Now, Chrysler has decided to wipe their hands clean and refuse to acknowledge that there is still a problem and refuses to fix a problem "That is not there".

I am very discouraged with Chrysler Canada. My late husband worked there and therefore I have always been a loyal customer and always bought Chrysler vehicles'. I am about to retire shortly and cannot afford to buy another car when I have a fairly new Lemon sitting in the driveway.

I am starting arbitration very shortly and I am wondering if anyone has encountered the same problems as myself. If so, could you please contact me as soon as possible with any personal experiences or any relevant information to include in my research before I continue with arbitration.

Thank You very much for you time and would appreciate any help I can get.

Rose W.

Please email me at : dwarner4@cogeco.ca.

General Comments:

Had problems from day one...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2006

1st Feb 2013, 21:08

I have also had many issues with my 2002 Chrysler Neon. The biggest one being the tie rods snapped on me twice. This was very dangerous. I was told that this was due to the fact that when the company made the car, there were no grease nipples and therefore rust took over. The first time my tire literally snapped off, I had just gotten off of the highway and was making a left had turn. The second one I was on Sheppard Ave. Of course the second one happened because the replacement part also came from Chrysler, and it was built the same way.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews