2002 Chrysler Neon Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 Chrysler Neon LE 2.0 SOHC from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 kilometres
Most recent distance59000 kilometres
Previous carnone none

Summary:

Very sad excuse of a car

Faults:

I purchased this vehicle used and after a month of driving (42000km) and adding only a thousand kilometers on it, the fuel pump ceased to operate.

The air conditioning assembly stopped working at 50000km and was replaced under warranty. This was causing the car to stall and shake violently, most notably while in reverse.

At 56000km both front tie-rod ends needed to be replaced. This was not covered under warranty.

At 57000km the stalling issue started again. Multiple visits to the dealership to correct this problem have not worked and the shaking has come back only 10x worse. The dealership told me this was normal.

The automatic transmission is slow up/down-shifting, often revving out the engine to the red line while it searches for the gear.

The muffler rusted out very quickly and there are now several holes in it.

General Comments:

Buyer beware! I have several friends who own the same year and model as my car, and none of them have had very many problems.

I suggest if you are looking to purchase a Neon take it to an independent shop and have them look it over. Neon's seem to be hit and miss when it comes to reliability and dependability.

The interior is not as bad as most domestic automakers, but still uses too much cheap plastic.

The car does handle great, but it handles even better when you upgrade the tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2005

2nd Sep 2005, 16:42

My Chrysler Neon LE has been a very good car, the only thing to go wrong on it has been the battery.

It has also been very economical to drive.

It is very spacious and comfortable.

I would recommend it any day of the year.

I am very pleased with it.

7th May 2006, 12:07

The air conditioning on my car broke at 50000 miles aswell.

£500 cost.

30th Nov 2006, 14:19

My 2002 LX Neon with Leather and Navigations System has been absolutely beautiful. As beautiful as Rolex, but as reliable as a Casio! Absolutely perfect with no problems whatsoever. Routine maintenance is all she asks for, and it is infinitely more reliable than my 1999 Corolla.

2002 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0L 16v from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16v Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140 kilometres
Most recent distance76000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

This car is CRAP

Faults:

EVERYTHING From Electronics, engine, cooling, ac, head lights, horn not working, paint pealing.

Worst 3 years of car ownership I have ever had.

DO NOT BUY A NEON UNLESS you get a good warranty with it, and if its used, have a third party auto shop look at it.

General Comments:

I have really nothing good to say about the car, other than it looks good.

Nice red paint...

But a Lemon, Finally the bank is buying this car off me for the original selling price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

14th Jan 2007, 07:56

Ever since I bought my neon 2.0L LX in 2002 it has never had any problems, except for the battery that I had to change recently. Just what I expect from a regularly car, I enjoy every journey I take with it - I just love how it handles at high speeds.

2002 Chrysler Neon LE 2.0L Gas from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Gas Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance46500 kilometres
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Good power,nice looking, but think twice

Faults:

The engine when started cold makes a loud knocking sound for about two minutes. (Piston slap?).

When shifting into second gear from first there is often a couple second delay.

Squeaky brakes even though they appear to be just like new.

When driving with the defrost on the car bucks and makes it look like I cannot drive a standard.

Oil leak between engine and transmission.

General Comments:

I like the way the car looks and handles, but I wish that it didn't have so many things wrong with it for being so new, and having so low kms.

My wife and I each bought one at the same time because the price was so good, but now two years later I wish that we spent a little more and bought a toyota or honda instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2005

11th Jun 2005, 09:58

Neon LE.

The comments made by other Neon owners read so true.

Nice looking car, great stereo, but unreliable and costly.

Brand new car was in the shop 5 times in less than 3 months. Two transmission over-hauls in less than one year.

Hesitates, doesn't slip into gear, shutters, stalls. The car was covered under warranty and we still lost thousands in repairs.

I too wish I had bought a Honda or Toyota even though they may not be as pleasing to the eye.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews