1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Reviews - Page 4 of 17

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXi 2.5 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance297800 miles
Previous carAMC Pacer

Summary:

Fantastic - wish it had a V-8

Faults:

Fuel pump at 1200 miles.

Transmission at 68000 miles.

Radiator replaced at 125000 miles.

Alternator at 225000 miles.

Infinity amp due to water at 185000, 297000 miles.

Replaced top after 13 years and almost 300,000 miles!!

Hydraulic line for convertible top 297,800 miles.

General Comments:

Bought this car for my wife as a Valentine's present in 1997, just two months before the birth of our first child. She loves the car and won't think of getting rid of it! Now our daughter is excited about the possibility of having it as her first car when she starts driving. The car is fantastic, and still looks great and runs like it did when first bought.

I think we have almost gotten our money's worth out of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2010

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible 2.5 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carSebring MX

Summary:

Grrrrrrreat!!!

Faults:

Nothing; it is all original, only normal maintenance. Very happy with car, and will not sell it till I can't fix it any more.

General Comments:

Never lets me down, and gas mileage is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2010

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JX from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Just general maintenance stuff.

Brakes have always been squeaky.

General Comments:

I love my Sebring. It looks good inside - which I see the most. It's a nice sporty shape outside.

The leather seats are comfortable, even long distance.

I haven't had any problems. Except now I banged it twice and suddenly this year (12 yrs old) a few small things; stereo knobs falling off, door panel loose, and truck spring.

It seems that by its used value, that it's not worth fixing.

It's a pity; I had hoped to keep the car a few more years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2009

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JX 6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

Would not buy this convertible

Faults:

Oxygen sensor went at 100,000 miles.

Changed speed sensor on transmission at 98,000 miles.

Passenger flooding after rain. Drilled holes over rear driver side panel; cured problem.

Car stalling, cleaned fuel injectors, still stalling. Going to change idle control assembly. Runs fine over 1000rpms. Recent problem at 102,000 miles.

General Comments:

Like the car, but is having too many problems with 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2009

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

I like this car, and would purchase another if I wanted a convertible

Faults:

Leaking in body - but only after 80,000 miles.

Replaced a lot of brake pads - but have had it a long time.

Leather seats ripped at 185,000 miles - but it did sit outside in all kinds of weather.

Top ripped a little just recently at 195,000 miles - as stated above this car sat outside in the midwest.

Transmission replaced at 198,000 miles - not too bad!!

Problem with fuses blowing, but again after many miles.

General Comments:

Drives well.

Very dependable.

Good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2009

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance119450 miles
Previous carSebring Cadillac

Summary:

The worst I ever had!

Faults:

I had to put a new radiator, coolant refill.

Neck, thermostat, brakes all the way around, motor mounts.

Front and back, several batteries and battery cables.

And valve cover gaskets, plugs, wires and distributor.

General Comments:

I can't say many good things about this car so I'll make it brief. I will never buy another one as long as I live. I've had all kinds of cars from Fords to Cadillacs, and by far this one caused me the most trouble. What's really funny about this is I travel in and out of state for work, and so the car sat for months at a time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd November, 2009

4th Nov 2009, 12:38

I hear that the Sebring will be discontinued - they probably should've discontinued them before they ever went into production.

Can you imagine that Chrysler thought that these could compete with the likes of Camry, Accord or even the Fusion?

Well at least yours is a convertible, so it must be fun in the nice weather, anyway.

5th Nov 2009, 18:14

I hear that even the 2010 Sebring is among the WORST (most problematic) new cars you can buy, this comes from Consumer Reports. Personally, I rented a 2009 Sebring Convertible and was appalled at the build quality. If you gotta buy a Chrysler, buy one before 1990.. preferably with a Slant 6, 318, or 360. After the 90's models came out they couldn't even get the paint to stay on their cars! I loved my '76 Dart, '78 Aspen, '88 Ramcharger, and '88 Omni. The older ones are golden. I still own a '78 Dodge Sportsman chassis Class C Motorhome with the 360 and that's been amazingly reliable as well.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 54 reviews