2000 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Reviews

2000 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI 2.5 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.5 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28500 miles
Most recent distance66500 miles
Previous carChrysler Grand Voyager

Summary:

I love it, A1+

Faults:

Overall, I love the looks of my 2000 JXI convertible gold, blk. rag.!

I get compliments everywhere I go most of the time. I keep it looking as good as possible, and service everything ahead of time too.

I changed the tires about 4-5 years ago to Michelin's high performance, and they were expensive, but when you find a car like this with only 28,500 on it for about 11,000.00, it's a great find, almost like getting a new car for 1/3 of the price!

So I spare no expense on anything I do to keep it the way it is, simply love this car!!

The only problem I have, was there when I purchased it; I didn't put 2 and 2 together. It was the driver's seat had some nasty wear in 1/3 of the bottom of the driver's seat, due to a minor leak in the window where it closes to the rag top, right at the seam in the rubber gasket.

I had a guy try to change the part, and it got worse! Then he caulked it with some black stuff. I was disappointed with the results, and next week I'm having the bottom of that seat redone with vinyl to match the leather; can't afford the leather right now. Awww.

This is the best car I've ever owned in my 41 years of driving. I wish I'd had it new, but this one is just as good.

My battery just went after 5 years, but they say that's about right, so I'm not complaining here.

A1 car.

General Comments:

Best car I've ever owned, beautiful. Sometimes I stand there and stare at it, when it's all detailed up. What a car. A1+

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2011

2000 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

This was a better car than my '97 Convertible Camaro

Faults:

Stalling out, but the sensor is common to replace.

Seats are wearing, but for this mileage, it's still in good condition.

General Comments:

It has no issues handling in wet weather.

The V6 has enough power to show it's a sports car.

I bought used, and was offered 3 times in 3 months to sell for a substantial profit, however I'm keeping it.

This car gets noticed with the nice rims and top down. My girlfriend loves it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2010

10th May 2012, 17:19

As a very satisfied Sebring owner, I'm in agreement with you that the Chrysler Sebring Convertible is a fine automobile, and is both a comfortable & fun car, but let there be no mistake about it - the Sebring is not a "sports car".

The Sebring is roomy, well laid out, has adequate power, gets very good gas mileage, and handles well for a vehicle of its size, but it is again by no means a sports car.

In fact with the amount of passenger & trunk space, it works well as a nice family car for me. But there is nothing like driving it with the top down.

Miata - Sports Car

Sebring - Mid-size Convertible

2000 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Limited 2.5L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5L Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great used car for the money

Faults:

OK, this is a used car, but I would have to say a really nice one.

Blower resister needed replace - nominal expense.

Rear defrost does not work, fuse or loose connection.

Bottom of convertible rear window came loose, fixed with 3M weatherstripping adhesive. $4.

Replaced trunk lid struts - $35, no biggie.

Like on all of these models, it was stalling - it is a crankshaft sensor - before you panic - $160 installed.

Great car overall.

General Comments:

Comfort!

Handles well.

Great engine sound.

Some pep, but not too much.

Reliable.

Solid.

Nice style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2010

19th Jan 2011, 07:26

Your and mine are identical twins, sounds like!

19th Jan 2011, 21:34

If I ever bought a convertible, it would be a sporty car. The Sebring is the antithesis of sporty. I don't know why anyone would want one.

12th May 2012, 19:15

To the commentor who said "The Sebring is the antithesis of sporty. I don't know why anyone would want one."

Well it is obvious you haven't spent much if any time behind the wheel of a Sebring convertible, because IMO you know not what you speak of.

I owned a 2003 Saab 9-3 Turbo Convertible for 5 years, sold it last summer and bought a used 2001 Sebring LXi Convertible. To my surprise the Sebring is a more enjoyable car in every way. It is so much more structurally sound, there is no cowl shake at all, where the Saab quivered and shook down all but the smoothest of smooth roads. The Sebring has a much more comfortable ride, is roomier (you can actually comfortably fit adults in the back seat of the Sebring, in the Saab it's a squeeze for kids). The Sebring also has a far superior stereo system, handles as well as the Saab, has nearly as much power, and gets better mileage than the 9-3 as well.

Go ahead and laugh if you wish, I prefer my Sebring with 95,000 miles to my former Saab with 36,000. I would have never believed it myself until I actually owned both cars. Oh, and by the way, when new, the Saab stickered at nearly $43,000, and the Sebring was under $30,000.

I really wonder how many people on this site actually drive the cars they are commenting on, let alone owned them - too many people just read things and take it as fact.

Go out and compare for yourself, you might just be as surprised as I was.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews