1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI standard 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission standard 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance85500 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A maintenance nightmare

Faults:

The transmission went out at 57,000 miles and was replaced for $1900.

Intake became clogged and leaking in which that repair also included a new EGR valve due to build up at 65,000 miles at a cost of $320. 90% of all this work was covered by the extended warranty, thankfully.

Front dash speakers blew and *nobody* makes a 2.5 inch full range speaker replacement. These were custom made by Infinity for Mitsubishi and are non existent except through Chrysler or Mitsubishi if you want to pay almost $100 a piece! The problem is the 2 inch speakers cone suspension breaks down due to the direct sunlight. And the 6.5 inch door speakers didn't last any longer.

General Comments:

This car has no power whatsoever. 163 horsepower is not enough to make this even average for a car of this size.

Very expensive maintenance and the 50,000 mile transmission problem seems to be common.

Drivers seat does no have enough leg room for a 6' driver to extend their legs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

14th Jan 2008, 12:10

I have a 98 Sebring LXi and have had no tranny problems. I am @ 128k miles, I'm 6'4" and have plenty of leg room, and with an ECU chip, intake, exhaust, the car has plenty of Civic, Focus and Neon blow away power. The car rocks engine wise, but the suspension (tie rods) and brakes (rotors) need to be upgraded off OEM.

4th Aug 2009, 22:14

I actually think handling is where these cars shine... at least if they are in top mechanical shape (if the car still has its original suspension, and if it's tired, of course it's not going to handle like it did back in the day). Mine is all original, and it sticks around the curves better than a lot of the sportier stuff out today. I have the top of the line LXi with the 17s and the handling package though.

25th Sep 2010, 22:49

I agree, great handling cars, and very safe. Mine corners better than a lot of newer cars, including my brother's 2009 Mustang.

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carChrysler Voyager

Summary:

Very disappointing and costly

Faults:

Paint peeled on front fender. Had to get Chrysler to repaint.

Transmission blew at 54000 miles.

General Comments:

I loved this car when I bought it. However, very disappointed that the transmission has blown, and I am being quoted 2500.00 to repair it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance126539 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

A really great buy!

Faults:

When I was looking to buy the car, my father who is a mechanic saw that the underside of the car was covered in oil. When then got the car for $2,800 less. The problem was the oil dip stick was leaking. After he put some O-Rings in it stop and no more oil leaks.

I've had to replace the brakes, but I know I'm a power braker (driving fast then slam on brakes).

I've had some problems with the CD player, but all you have to do to reset it is disconnect the battery. It now works great. It plays CD's that my old car's player wouldn't.

General Comments:

I love my car. It has great power. The day I bought it I very easily passed a 2002 Grand Prix. I really took pride in it.

I love the way it corners. I feel like I could race with NASCAR.

I also love the moon roof. I never had a problem with leaking or any unnecessary noises.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres

Summary:

A fast and sleek looking V6 dream

Faults:

Car horn stopped working after 100,000km. Defect is caused by positioning of horn which rusts when driven in wet weather. Avoid by reversing horn position. Reduces horn sound, but it won't rust.

17 inch Rims bend easily, and are expensive to replace. Avoid potholes at all costs.

Warning light for engine was on and off for first 60,000 km, then turned off and hasn't come back.

Electrical problems with lighting behind climate control consistent and doesn't go away.

Interior light above drivers seat stopped working at 128,000 km.

Factory tires are poor and wear quickly. Replaced with better low profile hard rubber tires, no problems since.

General Comments:

No major problems with a car that looks incredibly hot and handles amazingly.

I've spun out on the highway at very high speeds, and have to say the low profile and aggressive stance saved my life. This car simply doesn't flip.

The cars engine is built by Mitsubishi not Chrysler.

This is a car you'll fall in love with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

31st Jul 2004, 20:59

I own a LXI myself, my first car. Love it, but already replaced 2 rims on pothole and 2 tires at $200 each! That's $400 since I got it in Dec!Besides that no problems, but engine light going on and off. Awesome sound system, but bad speakers. Juli.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 24 reviews