1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LX 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carBuick Skyhawk

Summary:

Overall, a pretty good vehicle

Faults:

Replaced brakes at 27000 miles. They seem to have a 30 to 40000 limit.

Replaced battery twice in 4 years, the second after warranty expired.

Blew a tire at about 46000 miles, which was worn.

Doesn't want to start in cold weather.

Car handles very badly in snow or icy conditions, in part because of low front end.

General Comments:

This car generally is very good. Handles well in dry or wet conditions.

Very comfortable car to drive or ride in.

No serious problems as of yet. Problems are nagging and small.

Worth the money paid for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2002

15th Jun 2006, 17:54

We had winter tires and rims put on ours last winter, for the first time. What a difference it made! We are no longer apprehensive about long winter drives.

15th Jun 2006, 18:25

I forgot to mention in my previous comment that the winter rims and tires I had put on were 16" as opposed to the factory 17". The tires were less expensive than the 17" would have been and they seemed to have made a difference when handling in the winter.

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Overpriced unsafe vehicle

Faults:

*Brakes.

*Transmission.

*Axel.

*Alignment.

*I got in an accident (totaling the vehicle) and the air bags did not deploy. I was wearing my seatbelt, but as a result of the shape of the vehicle, I banged my head pretty hard on the windshield. I ended up going to the hospital with a diagnosis of whiplash. The accident occurred while traveling at about 25 mph and hitting a Dodge Caravan in front. The one accident totalled the whole vehicle. The hood was bent in a v-shape, very poorly crafted vehicle.

*dented easily.

*scratched easily.

*interior trims consistently fell off.

General Comments:

This car appears to be very sporty, however even with a V-6 engine acceleration was very slow.

The handling was horrible. U-turns were impossible with the turning radius.

The Sebring looks like an Eclipse, but handled like a huge van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2002

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

It's a reliable high performance machine

Faults:

I had to replace the brakes after a year.

I had to replace all four tires because they were bald, and one of the rims was bent.

The battery died a year to the day after I bought the car.

The torsion bar is out of line in the trunk, so the trunk doesn't pop open, but slams shut.

The interior light doesn't go on when the driver's side door opens, but it goes on when the passenger door opens.

I can't count the times that the front end has hit the ground from driveways, parking lot stanchions, and road construction. The front end is just too low.

The compact disc player is picky and only works when it's warm outside. It doesn't want to play in cold weather.

General Comments:

It's comfortable.

This car is quick and handles really well.

The front end is long and would be good in a front end crash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2002

20th Apr 2003, 17:25

The front end isn't too good in accidents. I rear ended someone going 15 mph (because my brakes decided they didn't want to work), and my hood ended up in my wind shield, along with my a/c, grille and head lights. With all that damage, you would think the air bags would have come out, but I guess they were taking the day off too.

16th Jun 2009, 16:27

These thing had a 5 star crash rating, is that not good?

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Lxi V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Piece of JUNK

Faults:

CD Player doesn't work, Transmission blew at 40,000 miles. Engine had to be Rebuilt at 65,000 miles. Front Ball joints and arms have broken off. Front Bumper badly damaged and had to be replaced. Rims bend to easily. Front speakers had to be replaced. Brakes have to constantly be fixed as well as the replacement of struts.

General Comments:

This car is a like a bad joke from day one. The car was built not-to-last. The transmission was rebuilt, even after careful maintenance and oil checks the engine had several leaks. The Chrysler dealer who was servicing my car told me that this car was no good and that I should get rid of it ASAP. This made me extremely upset because chrylser is the one who sold me the car.

While driving to work one Sunday the Ball Joints broke & the day after I received a recall in the mail.

The side of the door is coming off.

You actually spend more fixing the car then what it is worth. NEVER BUY A CHRYSLER!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2002

9th Mar 2003, 11:11

Before this person buys another car they might want to review all aspects of the car they are buying. Yes, american cars have problems, but so does every other auto maker, with so many moving parts something is bound to go wrong. If they ever find a car that never needs repair work please let me know what type of vehicle it is because I haven't found one yet that doesn't. You might look at a Honda, oh I'm sorry they have maintenance issues also, not many, but enough to make you believe my previous statement. Or maybe a German auto, but who wants to pay 50k for a car, not to mention if anything does happen to it get ready to pay and arm and a leg. GOOD LUCK!!!

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Good looking, fun, and reliable

Faults:

Brakes: I have replaced the brake pads twice within a year.

Rotors: I had the rotors cut within 3 months of purchasing the car. Then again about 4 months later. I eventually had to have them replaced. They are beginning to feel like they need to be cut again.

CD player: I had to replace my CD player after 1 year of ownership because it would only work every once in a while.

Spark plug wires: Replaced around 65,000 miles.

General Comments:

I really like the car, but when it comes to service, I refuse to take it in to the dealership anymore. I took it in to have the idle checked because it was really rough. They replaced my spark plugs (which had been replaced about a month prior), spark plug wires, and cleaned the throttle body. When I came to pick up the car, it ran as poorly as it did when I dropped it off. I ended up having my father replace a valve and now it runs like a dream!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

1997 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LX 2.5 v6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 v6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance62777 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Very nice looking car. Worried about the brakes and hard starts

Faults:

Very difficult to start at 62700 miles.

Have had front rotors turned about 45 days ago. Need turned again or replaced.

General Comments:

The car has been flawless upto this point with the hard start. No idea what the problem is yet. Any ideas anyone?

Looking for after market parts also. Like headlight covers, spoiler for the trunk (like the LXI). Also, anyone know what size wheels. Want ones like the LXI.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2001

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 24 reviews